Sunny Afternoon Reviews - Harold Pinter Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Harold Pinter Theatre

Harold Pinter Theatre
6 Panton Street
London
London
SW1Y 4DN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Coventry Street up to Oxendon Road; the theatre is 100 metres along on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 30th September 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th October 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for 12+ due to strong language.  Children under 5 years and babes in arms will strictly not be admitted.
Important Info: Audio Described Performance on 28 July evening
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 60 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Left at halftime! We could not stand the noise and many around us were equally upset by the level..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 28th Aug 2016 by Wendy

Left at halftime! We could not stand the noise and many around us were equally upset by the level of decibels! Why? Why so loud?

Totally ruined it for us, love the Kinks and their music always did and always will so disappointing!

    Wednesday, 24th Aug 2016 by Janey

Absolutely fantastic show, moving and funny at the same time. The whole cast are absolutely fantastic....an absolute must see

    Wednesday, 22nd Jun 2016 by Morgane

This was one of the best shows I ever saw, it was really really great, funny and touching at the same time. The actors are just amazing: they play instruments, they act, they sing, they dance... and the music is awesome too (but I already knew that!!) My boyfriend, who had preconceived ideas about what a musical is, loved it too (or is a very good actor himself).

I would definitely recommend it.

    Thursday, 9th Jun 2016 by Barbara Brooks

Sunny Afternoon is a very energetic and enjoyable musical. The singers, musicians and actors were truly very talented people and I enjoyed so much of this performance. I suppose because The Kinks were a group of the 60's it reflected in the matinee audience. My disappointment was the decibels that the production team felt were necessary to get their message across. Big mistake...the noise was unbearable. People nearer me were desperate to move away from the speakers and looked as though they were in discomfort as they tried to stop the noise penetrating their ear drums. For me it was the same, I tried to block the noise out by squashing the palms of my hands over my ears. Why did they feel the need to pump up the volume with some songs. It only added to frustration and dread of when the next onslaught was going to happen. Shame as I thought it was really really good.

    Tuesday, 31st May 2016 by Jo-Jo

This is not this first show that I've seen where strong singers and their lyrics have been obliterated by the horrendous volume of the music. The loudness of the music was truly painful and my friends took to putting wine gums in their ears to lessen the noise.

That said, the show itself was cheap and shabby. The sets were uninspired and the acting was pathetic. "Dave" became parted from his microphone at one point. The story line was depressing and went on way too long. Definitely no Wow factor!

The only bit that moved me to tears was that I had bought four tickets at £94.00 each.

    Friday, 27th May 2016 by Iain,Jackie,Nigel and Angela

Absolutely fantastic show the cast were brilliant one of the best shows we have seen well worth going it's one not to be missed if your a fan of the 60's

    Monday, 9th May 2016 by Nozzy

Seen this twice now and never fails to entertain, excellent singing and acting, first time we were even joined by Ray Davis himself, sat in a box 5 feet away. He even signed our programme. Do yourself a favour and if you only see one show, make sure it's SUNNY AFTERNOON

    Saturday, 7th May 2016 by Will

Very good and very loud! Really entertaining and if you know the

Kinks back catalogue, so much the better.

    Saturday, 7th May 2016 by Terrispicer

Brilliant show would highly recommend..

    Sunday, 1st May 2016 by Colette & Chris

Absolutely brilliant. We saw the show yesterday and I want to take my dad to see it again. Nostalgic, funny, sad and very entertaining. The theatre and its staff were fantastic. Can't sing the praises enough.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 1)