Sunny Afternoon Reviews - Harold Pinter Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Harold Pinter Theatre

Harold Pinter Theatre
6 Panton Street
London
London
SW1Y 4DN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Coventry Street up to Oxendon Road; the theatre is 100 metres along on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 28th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th October 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for 12+ due to strong language.  Children under 5 years and babes in arms will strictly not be admitted.
Important Info: Audio Described Performance on 28 July evening
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 64 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Fabulously LOUD, one of the most enjoyable shows I've seen!..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 25th Oct 2016 by Sue

Fabulously LOUD, one of the most enjoyable shows I've seen!

    Thursday, 20th Oct 2016 by Seamus

A real gem of a musical capturing the essence and excitement of 4 London Lads with the world at their feet. The lyrics of Ray Davies truly reflect the stories of ordinary people struggling through ordinary lives. I grew up listening to the kinks but its only in middle age that I now fully understand the meaning of those songs and how much they represent the songbook of my life. Listening to "days" again and thinking about the wife I lost 3 years ago to cancer was like curling up on the sofa & wrapping a warm blanket around me. The cast are outstanding, particularly George Maguire as Dave Davies, the story is great the music ......... well! Words cant do the Kinks justice. Thank you Ray, Dave, Pete & Mick for such a wonderful ride!

    Saturday, 15th Oct 2016 by Kim and Dave

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Great show, thoroughly enjoyed it.

What a talented bunch of actors and musicians. Loved it when the band played the Kinks music, loved it loud, loud ,loud, made it authentic.

I think the negative reviews from some people about the loud music reflects that age group, maybe keep to come dancing!

    Tuesday, 4th Oct 2016 by Mark N

Not the best show I've seen to be honest musicians were great only enjoyed it when they took to the stage as the band as the acting was pretty hammy.It reminded me of being at school and watching the school drama group performing. I wouldn't pay to watch it for a second time !

    Sunday, 28th Aug 2016 by Wendy

Left at halftime! We could not stand the noise and many around us were equally upset by the level of decibels! Why? Why so loud?

Totally ruined it for us, love the Kinks and their music always did and always will so disappointing!

    Wednesday, 24th Aug 2016 by Janey

Absolutely fantastic show, moving and funny at the same time. The whole cast are absolutely fantastic....an absolute must see

    Wednesday, 22nd Jun 2016 by Morgane

This was one of the best shows I ever saw, it was really really great, funny and touching at the same time. The actors are just amazing: they play instruments, they act, they sing, they dance... and the music is awesome too (but I already knew that!!) My boyfriend, who had preconceived ideas about what a musical is, loved it too (or is a very good actor himself).

I would definitely recommend it.

    Thursday, 9th Jun 2016 by Barbara Brooks

Sunny Afternoon is a very energetic and enjoyable musical. The singers, musicians and actors were truly very talented people and I enjoyed so much of this performance. I suppose because The Kinks were a group of the 60's it reflected in the matinee audience. My disappointment was the decibels that the production team felt were necessary to get their message across. Big mistake...the noise was unbearable. People nearer me were desperate to move away from the speakers and looked as though they were in discomfort as they tried to stop the noise penetrating their ear drums. For me it was the same, I tried to block the noise out by squashing the palms of my hands over my ears. Why did they feel the need to pump up the volume with some songs. It only added to frustration and dread of when the next onslaught was going to happen. Shame as I thought it was really really good.

    Tuesday, 31st May 2016 by Jo-Jo

This is not this first show that I've seen where strong singers and their lyrics have been obliterated by the horrendous volume of the music. The loudness of the music was truly painful and my friends took to putting wine gums in their ears to lessen the noise.

That said, the show itself was cheap and shabby. The sets were uninspired and the acting was pathetic. "Dave" became parted from his microphone at one point. The story line was depressing and went on way too long. Definitely no Wow factor!

The only bit that moved me to tears was that I had bought four tickets at £94.00 each.

    Friday, 27th May 2016 by Iain,Jackie,Nigel and Angela

Absolutely fantastic show the cast were brilliant one of the best shows we have seen well worth going it's one not to be missed if your a fan of the 60's

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 8)