Sunny Afternoon Reviews - Harold Pinter Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Harold Pinter Theatre

Harold Pinter Theatre
6 Panton Street
London
London
SW1Y 4DN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Coventry Street up to Oxendon Road; the theatre is 100 metres along on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 28th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th October 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for 12+ due to strong language.  Children under 5 years and babes in arms will strictly not be admitted.
Important Info: Audio Described Performance on 28 July evening
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 64 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Fabulously LOUD, one of the most enjoyable shows I've seen!..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 20th Apr 2015 by Steve Holloway

Travelled down from Tyneside to see this and not disappointed. Absolutely brilliant. Want to see it again, I hope it travels to the regions. Great cast, sat at the front & felt like we were in the show with the cast coming down & dancing around. I'm not a big theatre type but loved it. I urge anyone to go & see it, it'll cheer you up no end.

    Monday, 20th Apr 2015 by Peter Edwards

I was fortunate enough to be at the Olivier Awards and met Ray Davies, Joe Penhall, George Maguire and others from the cast. My underlying emotion was to thank them all for putting on stage the best story/ musical I have ever seen. 'You Really Got Me' was the very first single I ever bought and I can't wait for my fourth visit to the Harold Pinter theatre later this week.

    Saturday, 28th Mar 2015 by John Bruton

Certainly the best pop group story I have ever had the priveledge to see live on stage, including Queen and Jersey Boys. Great fun and very moving. Thoroughly recommended.

    Friday, 27th Mar 2015 by Lyn

The Kinks, hold a unique place in British music. From Dave's heavy metal riffs to his brother Ray's poetic lyrics. This show is a wonderful night out, the music, the fun, the colour the magic of a decade that changed popular music forever. The West End comes alive.

    Thursday, 26th Mar 2015 by Chris Hughes

Written by Ray Davies. Oh dear. Imagine a Beatles jukebox musical written by John Lennon. The story is dull. Do we really care about the bad time they had in the USA?. And all that overblown whingeing, accompanied by many dull songs I'd never heard. The Kinks had many amazing songs, but, ridiculously, the musical isn't t really about them. The fabulous Stop Your Sobbing was ruined. The highlight was a beautiful accapello Thank You For The Days. Ray Davies, like many geniuses, seems to have mental health problems. Someone else should have written the Kinks story. And after all the tedious moaning, and a dreadful dirge about not wanting to live in a rock and roll fantasy, the upbeat Madison Square ending, complete with awkward dad dancing from the aged audience (including me) seemed out of place.

    Saturday, 21st Feb 2015 by Sharon

The very best stage show I have ever seen! the fun the laughs and the very talented cast, I left with tears in my eyes, the whole evening was the very best transported back to the sixties like nothing else! Danced, boogied and sang along! A REAL MUST SEE SHOW

    Friday, 20th Feb 2015 by Paul Taylor

Brilliant uplifting show.

    Sunday, 15th Feb 2015 by Barbara

Wonderful, brilliant, amazing, a real feel good show. I laughed, I cried, I danced, I sang. It was the highlight of our trip to London. If I get the chance I will see it again. Congratulations to all the cast, a special mention for Luke Baker an excellent understudy for Ray.

    Thursday, 5th Feb 2015 by jenny

WOW !!!! ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !!!

WHAT A TALENTED GROUP OF PERFORMERS !! Fabulous voices !

loved Ray and Dave especially. Gorgeous ! stage settings quickly changed, all such a fast pace, High Energy !! Incredible !!

loved it loved it xxxxxxxxxxxx !!!!! AND DANCING !! YOU JUST HAVE TO GET UP OFF YOUR SEAT !

HEH PEOPLE !! Don't MISS IT !!!!

    Monday, 26th Jan 2015 by Sheila Bell

First class show with very talented cast.

One complaint- our seats were in Row E in the balcony. Because of the extended stage, we were unable to see any of the action that took place on this extension!!!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 9)