Sunny Afternoon Reviews - Harold Pinter Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Harold Pinter Theatre

Harold Pinter Theatre
6 Panton Street

Seating Plan


(3mins) Take Coventry Street up to Oxendon Road; the theatre is 100 metres along on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 26th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th October 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for 12+ due to strong language.  Children under 5 years and babes in arms will strictly not be admitted.
Important Info: Audio Described Performance on 28 July evening
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 62 review(s)


Latest Review: "Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Great show, thoroughly enjoyed it.What a talented bunch o..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 28th Mar 2015 by John Bruton

Certainly the best pop group story I have ever had the priveledge to see live on stage, including Queen and Jersey Boys. Great fun and very moving. Thoroughly recommended.

    Friday, 27th Mar 2015 by Lyn

The Kinks, hold a unique place in British music. From Dave's heavy metal riffs to his brother Ray's poetic lyrics. This show is a wonderful night out, the music, the fun, the colour the magic of a decade that changed popular music forever. The West End comes alive.

    Thursday, 26th Mar 2015 by Chris Hughes

Written by Ray Davies. Oh dear. Imagine a Beatles jukebox musical written by John Lennon. The story is dull. Do we really care about the bad time they had in the USA?. And all that overblown whingeing, accompanied by many dull songs I'd never heard. The Kinks had many amazing songs, but, ridiculously, the musical isn't t really about them. The fabulous Stop Your Sobbing was ruined. The highlight was a beautiful accapello Thank You For The Days. Ray Davies, like many geniuses, seems to have mental health problems. Someone else should have written the Kinks story. And after all the tedious moaning, and a dreadful dirge about not wanting to live in a rock and roll fantasy, the upbeat Madison Square ending, complete with awkward dad dancing from the aged audience (including me) seemed out of place.

    Saturday, 21st Feb 2015 by Sharon

The very best stage show I have ever seen! the fun the laughs and the very talented cast, I left with tears in my eyes, the whole evening was the very best transported back to the sixties like nothing else! Danced, boogied and sang along! A REAL MUST SEE SHOW

    Friday, 20th Feb 2015 by Paul Taylor

Brilliant uplifting show.

    Sunday, 15th Feb 2015 by Barbara

Wonderful, brilliant, amazing, a real feel good show. I laughed, I cried, I danced, I sang. It was the highlight of our trip to London. If I get the chance I will see it again. Congratulations to all the cast, a special mention for Luke Baker an excellent understudy for Ray.

    Thursday, 5th Feb 2015 by jenny



loved Ray and Dave especially. Gorgeous ! stage settings quickly changed, all such a fast pace, High Energy !! Incredible !!

loved it loved it xxxxxxxxxxxx !!!!! AND DANCING !! YOU JUST HAVE TO GET UP OFF YOUR SEAT !

HEH PEOPLE !! Don't MISS IT !!!!

    Monday, 26th Jan 2015 by Sheila Bell

First class show with very talented cast.

One complaint- our seats were in Row E in the balcony. Because of the extended stage, we were unable to see any of the action that took place on this extension!!!!

    Thursday, 22nd Jan 2015 by david Mac

A great evocation of that time and place . Wonderful energy , stunning performances , superb music , great sound system . Loved the ways the songs of the Kinks fed the plot. Thanks you for the Days was just beautiful. Waterloo Sunset brought tears to my eyes......and the boogaloo at the end was the icing on the cake !! We'll be back fro more !! Keep this show going !!

ps. don't refer to these shows as juke box musicals ...its demeaning !!

    Monday, 19th Jan 2015 by Scott

Saw the show while in London over Christmas. It was great grew up listening to the Kinks. When the cast played I thought I was listening to the KINKS! You Really Got Me and Lola were done brilliantly! Luke Davis was superb as Ray! The audience was right into it sing along with the cast. This is a MUST SEE! Thanks for a great Sunny Afternoon.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 9)