Sunny Afternoon Reviews - Harold Pinter Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Harold Pinter Theatre

Harold Pinter Theatre
6 Panton Street
London
London
SW1Y 4DN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Coventry Street up to Oxendon Road; the theatre is 100 metres along on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 24th September 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th October 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for 12+ due to strong language.  Children under 5 years and babes in arms will strictly not be admitted.
Important Info: Audio Described Performance on 28 July evening
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 60 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Left at halftime! We could not stand the noise and many around us were equally upset by the level..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 26th Mar 2015 by Chris Hughes

Written by Ray Davies. Oh dear. Imagine a Beatles jukebox musical written by John Lennon. The story is dull. Do we really care about the bad time they had in the USA?. And all that overblown whingeing, accompanied by many dull songs I'd never heard. The Kinks had many amazing songs, but, ridiculously, the musical isn't t really about them. The fabulous Stop Your Sobbing was ruined. The highlight was a beautiful accapello Thank You For The Days. Ray Davies, like many geniuses, seems to have mental health problems. Someone else should have written the Kinks story. And after all the tedious moaning, and a dreadful dirge about not wanting to live in a rock and roll fantasy, the upbeat Madison Square ending, complete with awkward dad dancing from the aged audience (including me) seemed out of place.

    Saturday, 21st Feb 2015 by Sharon

The very best stage show I have ever seen! the fun the laughs and the very talented cast, I left with tears in my eyes, the whole evening was the very best transported back to the sixties like nothing else! Danced, boogied and sang along! A REAL MUST SEE SHOW

    Friday, 20th Feb 2015 by Paul Taylor

Brilliant uplifting show.

    Sunday, 15th Feb 2015 by Barbara

Wonderful, brilliant, amazing, a real feel good show. I laughed, I cried, I danced, I sang. It was the highlight of our trip to London. If I get the chance I will see it again. Congratulations to all the cast, a special mention for Luke Baker an excellent understudy for Ray.

    Thursday, 5th Feb 2015 by jenny

WOW !!!! ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !!!

WHAT A TALENTED GROUP OF PERFORMERS !! Fabulous voices !

loved Ray and Dave especially. Gorgeous ! stage settings quickly changed, all such a fast pace, High Energy !! Incredible !!

loved it loved it xxxxxxxxxxxx !!!!! AND DANCING !! YOU JUST HAVE TO GET UP OFF YOUR SEAT !

HEH PEOPLE !! Don't MISS IT !!!!

    Monday, 26th Jan 2015 by Sheila Bell

First class show with very talented cast.

One complaint- our seats were in Row E in the balcony. Because of the extended stage, we were unable to see any of the action that took place on this extension!!!!

    Thursday, 22nd Jan 2015 by david Mac

A great evocation of that time and place . Wonderful energy , stunning performances , superb music , great sound system . Loved the ways the songs of the Kinks fed the plot. Thanks you for the Days was just beautiful. Waterloo Sunset brought tears to my eyes......and the boogaloo at the end was the icing on the cake !! We'll be back fro more !! Keep this show going !!

ps. don't refer to these shows as juke box musicals ...its demeaning !!

    Monday, 19th Jan 2015 by Scott

Saw the show while in London over Christmas. It was great grew up listening to the Kinks. When the cast played I thought I was listening to the KINKS! You Really Got Me and Lola were done brilliantly! Luke Davis was superb as Ray! The audience was right into it sing along with the cast. This is a MUST SEE! Thanks for a great Sunny Afternoon.

    Friday, 9th Jan 2015 by Alan (North Wales)

Show: Absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!!

Theatre: small but wonderful setting

Cast: Incredible

Dancers: Amazing

Experience; Indescribable!

I will definitely see this show again!

    Thursday, 8th Jan 2015 by Val

I have been a Kinks fan since the late 1960s, when I heard their music in Tehran; I loved the music and the sexy and witty lyrics. While visiting London over Christmas and waiting for a friend at Euston Station I saw a poster for the musical and immediately bought a ticket. If I could I would see the musical again - the cast are fantastic and the story line fun but also touching; this was the best thing I've done in London this Christmas. At the end I was on my feet with everyone else, clapping and grooving to the music. GO SEE IT!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 6)