The Bodyguard Reviews - Adelphi Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information

Adelphi Theatre
409-412 Strand
London
London
WC2R 0NS

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross the street where possible and go right (approx. 150 metres). The theatre is on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 16th April 2014
Booking Until: Saturday, 23rd August 2014
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 12+
Important Info: Beverley Knight is NOT scheduled to perform at Wednesday or Saturday matinees including any revised matinee performances or at any performances after 31 May 2014. She is currently scheduled to appear at all evening performances until 31 May 2014 excluding 9 April - 14 April 2014 inclusive, and 19 May 2014. NB: ALEXANDRA BURKE takes over the role of Rachel Marron from 2 June 2014. Alexandra Burke is NOT scheduled to perform at Wednesdayor Saturday matinees including any revised matinee performances, or at any performances before 2 June 2014. She is currently scheduled to appear at all evening performances from 2 June - 30 August 2014 excluding 16 - 17 June 2014. Tristan Gemmill is scheduled to appear at all performances. The producers of The Bodyguard cannot guarantee the appearance of any particular artist, which is always subject to illness and holidays. Access performances: Audio Described 11 June at 3.00pm, Captioned 16 June at 7.30pm, Signed 21 June at 3.00pm.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 3pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 101 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "what a show fantastic, "not a musical fan" but this was something special ! the hole cast were gr..."

ReviewsSort by
    Sunday, 6th Apr 2014 by euge

what a show fantastic, "not a musical fan" but this was something special ! the hole cast were great but as you can imagine Beverly Knight was absolutely fantastic, her vocals were incredible, the hole theater were on there feet and we came away with a great feeling, could have sat and watched for another couple of hours.congrats to everyone involved.

    Thursday, 3rd Apr 2014 by ApostleTarranceAustinSr

Outstanding ! ! ! !

    Thursday, 3rd Apr 2014 by Bee

Overall, the show is okay, but when you are looking forward to see the named lead lady, Beverley Knight, on a Saturday evening show on 29th March, it just was not satisfactory, when you paid £120 per ticket and to celebrate one' s birthday.

I would not pay such a premium if I knew it was not Beverley Knight.

We were not informed at all, just when the show was about to start, the lady next to informed me. To put it bluntly, I was Not HAPPY AT ALL!!

    Wednesday, 2nd Apr 2014 by Jayne w

An ok performance. As mentioned in early reviews disappointed that Beverley Knight not performing however standin had amazing voice. The set was v good and had obviously been extremely well planned. The acting, however, was pretty dire,almost like watching puppets!

Good for the music if a Witney ran, but don't expect amazing acting to match!!

    Sunday, 30th Mar 2014 by Linzi pooler

I was absolutely gutted that bev knight was not in the show as being being a life long fan fot 15 years as she was ill.Which I know can't be helped but my friend came a month ago and she was ill then. Well enough me moaning the other girl that played Rachel waa amazing and did herself proud..I had an amazing time we'll worth going see .

    Tuesday, 25th Mar 2014 by Elaine & Cathy. Edinburgh

Singing, dancing phenominal, acting a bit iffy,but well worth seeing.

    Monday, 24th Mar 2014 by Taffy

Saw the show Fri evening and thought it was amazing! I've seen many musicals but this one certainly ticked all the boxes for me. Captivating, funny and outstanding singing by both Beverly Knight & Carole Stennett, also not forgetting little Fletcher who was such a star!. Beverly Knight gave 110% and put her heart and soul into the performance, I was left with goosebumps after many of the songs, a thoroughly enjoyable evening!

    Sunday, 23rd Mar 2014 by mark

Disappointing. singing fantastic from all. acting very wooden which let down show. overall OK

    Saturday, 22nd Mar 2014 by Rita&John

Don't be put off by negative reviews. This afternoons matinee was amazing, Joelle Moses gave a brilliant performance as Rachel and was supported by a great cast .An unforgettable experience not to be missed. The audience reaction said it all .

    Saturday, 22nd Mar 2014 by Murciamiss

Went to see the show last night and was left underwhelmed, to be honest. Thought the music and singing were great, Beverly Knight can certainly belt 'em out, but the acting was poor with very stilted dialogue, and the costumes looked cheap. Wouldn't particularly recommend it especially at the ticket prices, and wouldn't go again.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 8)