The Bodyguard Reviews - Adelphi Theatre.

Post Review
Venue Information

Adelphi Theatre.
409-412 Strand
London
London
WC2R 0NS

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross the street where possible and go right (approx. 150 metres). The theatre is on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 22nd August 2014
Booking Until: Thursday, 28th August 2014
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 12+
Important Info: Alexandra Burke is NOT scheduled to perform at Wednesday or Saturday matinees including any revised matinee performances, or at any performances before 2 June 2014. She is currently scheduled to appear at all evening performances from 2 June - 30 August 2014 excluding 16 - 17 June 2014. Tristan Gemmill is scheduled to appear at all performances. The producers of The Bodyguard cannot guarantee the appearance of any particular artist, which is always subject to illness and holidays. Access performances: Audio Described 11 June at 3.00pm, Captioned 16 June at 7.30pm, Signed 21 June at 3.00pm.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 118 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Absolutely brilliant show! Alexandra Burke is stunning as Rachel Marron - it's hard to believe th..."

ReviewsSort by
    Thursday, 28th Aug 2014 by Felicity

Absolutely brilliant show! Alexandra Burke is stunning as Rachel Marron - it's hard to believe that this is her West End debut, her acting and american accent are excellent - better than some of her fellow cast members! She handled both comedy and emotion superbly. And of course, we all know she can sing - she more than does Whitney justice, blasting out the tunes in full diva mode. She blew me away.

Tristan Gemmil plays a good Frank Farmer, showing his 'tough guy' and emotional side and Carole Stennet is amazing as Nicky (the Run To You duet is to die for). Chiesa plays an amazing Fletcher - a very talented young boy, definitely one to watch!

The set is well thought out and moves seamlessly from scene to scene. The vocals are, of course, amazing, and everyone is out of their seats for the encore. I challenge anyone to go to this show and not come out dancing.

    Wednesday, 27th Aug 2014 by Beverley

Went to see the musical on 25th August with a friend that was celabrating her 5oth Birthday. Fantastic show from start to end. Alexandra burke was great and all the other cast. I would definitly go and see it again.

    Tuesday, 29th Jul 2014 by Alexandra Burkiola

Great! Some Adult Homour but great. Lovely singing you even get to meet the cast

    Monday, 21st Jul 2014 by ceri

This was my first time watching a musical and I have to say I was more than impressed. The show was fantastic all around. Alexandre burke made the show, her performance was absolutley fantastic. She played the part of Rachel brilliantly and her voice was just out of this world. In all honestly I wasn't too sure about the male lead role who played frank but by the end of the show I absolutely loved him. Their connection on stage really worked well. The other who really stood out for me was the actress who played Rachels sister, she acted brilliantly and had a lovely but strong voice. All in all I would recommend this show. Well impressed.

    Monday, 21st Jul 2014 by Clare R

The show was wonderful and Alexandra Burke was amazing, her voice is stunning and totally blew me away. It was funny, emotional and very entertaining. A great show that I could easily watch again.

    Monday, 14th Jul 2014 by Shirley

I have now seen this show THREE TIMES!!!! 1st as a matinee then two evening shows with Alexandra Burke. I enjoyed every one, especially with Alexandra who's stage presence, acting and fabulous singing voice making it one of the best musicals I have seen. She was totally enjoying the experience and her rendition of the Whitney Houston hits was awesome. I would recommend this show to anyone who is looking for a lively, beautiful vocal & fun night out. I'm now booking as a surprise for a relatives birthday treat. Only negative was that I found Tristan Gemmill very wooden, his American accent a bit strained and on my last visit on Saturday 12th the understudy was in his place & was much better. Great show though :)

    Wednesday, 2nd Jul 2014 by Andrew

No depth at all or emotion. Acting was wooden. Although the singing is good, it was too loud and distorted, and rather spoilt by the fact it appeared to be mimed throughout. There was aboslutely zero emotion due to the miming. I left at interval. Worst show I have seen in 15 years. The set was quite good. Overall, hugely disappointing to see an X facor winner demeaned in this way.

    Sunday, 29th Jun 2014 by Trevor

Alexandra Burke was simply outstanding in her role as Rachel Marron when I went to see "The Bodyguard" at the Adelphi last evening. She brought her own indelible mark to the character and to the superb vocals of all the hit Whitney songs, and her onstage chemistry with Tristan Gemmill was natural and very convincing indeed. I thought that Alexandra performed the songs extremely well and she totally nailed it during the final three songs of the show where the sheer power of her vocals truly came through. I also had the wonderful opportunity to meet Alexandra herself backstage after it was all over too, and she was really lovely, approachable, openly down-to-earth and happy to meet her fans.

Fabulous musical with a fantastic leading star in Alexandra - well worth every penny. Brilliant!

    Wednesday, 25th Jun 2014 by Joyrydr

Alexandra Burke carried the show...Overall a minor league production. Tristan Gemmill as Frank Farmer acted, moved and spoke like a mannequin - horrible! Special effects were impressive.

    Sunday, 22nd Jun 2014 by stacy

Alexandra Burke was very good. Singing was amazing done a great performance throughout the whole show. The end was amazing very emotional.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 4)