The Bodyguard Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road
London
London
W1T 7AQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 6th December 2016
Booking Until: Friday, 6th January 2017
Age Restriction: Suitable for 12+
Important Info: Beverley Knight is currently scheduled to appear Tuesday - Friday evening performances and both performances on Saturday, subject to illness and holidays.  In addition, Beverley Knight is NOT scheduled to appear on the following days: Saturday 12, Tuesday 15 and Tuesday 22 November; Saturday 17, Friday 30 and Saturday 31 December.  The appearance of any particular artist cannot be guaranteed. 
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 3pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 123 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I have been to few musicals and felt very disappointed with this story and the script in general...."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 14th Jul 2014 by Shirley

I have now seen this show THREE TIMES!!!! 1st as a matinee then two evening shows with Alexandra Burke. I enjoyed every one, especially with Alexandra who's stage presence, acting and fabulous singing voice making it one of the best musicals I have seen. She was totally enjoying the experience and her rendition of the Whitney Houston hits was awesome. I would recommend this show to anyone who is looking for a lively, beautiful vocal & fun night out. I'm now booking as a surprise for a relatives birthday treat. Only negative was that I found Tristan Gemmill very wooden, his American accent a bit strained and on my last visit on Saturday 12th the understudy was in his place & was much better. Great show though :)

    Wednesday, 2nd Jul 2014 by Andrew

No depth at all or emotion. Acting was wooden. Although the singing is good, it was too loud and distorted, and rather spoilt by the fact it appeared to be mimed throughout. There was aboslutely zero emotion due to the miming. I left at interval. Worst show I have seen in 15 years. The set was quite good. Overall, hugely disappointing to see an X facor winner demeaned in this way.

    Sunday, 29th Jun 2014 by Trevor

Alexandra Burke was simply outstanding in her role as Rachel Marron when I went to see "The Bodyguard" at the Adelphi last evening. She brought her own indelible mark to the character and to the superb vocals of all the hit Whitney songs, and her onstage chemistry with Tristan Gemmill was natural and very convincing indeed. I thought that Alexandra performed the songs extremely well and she totally nailed it during the final three songs of the show where the sheer power of her vocals truly came through. I also had the wonderful opportunity to meet Alexandra herself backstage after it was all over too, and she was really lovely, approachable, openly down-to-earth and happy to meet her fans.

Fabulous musical with a fantastic leading star in Alexandra - well worth every penny. Brilliant!

    Wednesday, 25th Jun 2014 by Joyrydr

Alexandra Burke carried the show...Overall a minor league production. Tristan Gemmill as Frank Farmer acted, moved and spoke like a mannequin - horrible! Special effects were impressive.

    Sunday, 22nd Jun 2014 by stacy

Alexandra Burke was very good. Singing was amazing done a great performance throughout the whole show. The end was amazing very emotional.

    Monday, 2nd Jun 2014 by paula h

I took my partner as a belated birthday prezzie. we are not musical lovers but went as we are fans of bev all i can say it was her last performance on the 31st and she blew us away truly amazing night her voice was exceptional she was worth every penny.

    Saturday, 31st May 2014 by Joe Hinton

Absolutely dreadful. Singing just average but the script and acting were like something Jerry Anderson (Thunderbirds) would have produced.

Expected to see Beverley Knight but found out on arrival she doesn't do matinees.

The worst west end production since David Essex's 'All the fun of the fair'

    Sunday, 11th May 2014 by Nicki

Music good but not impressed that Beverley knight doesn't do matinees think there should be a reduction in ticket price.

    Wednesday, 7th May 2014 by Jean Atkinson

Wow what a voice. I have seen so many good musicals over the years but this beats them all because of Beverly Knights voice and performance. Great Great show.

    Sunday, 4th May 2014 by maddy

Saw for the third time on thursday night and it was fantastic !!!!!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 6)