The Commitments Reviews - Palace Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
109-113 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 5AY

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Charing Cross Road until you reach the crossroads with Shaftesbury Avenue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 31st October 2015
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st November 2015
Important Info: Please note that the front row of the Grand Circle have restricted leg room
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Didn't enjoy this much. Couldn't understand the dialogue, lots of shouting and jumping around, th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 14th Oct 2015 by Rob

Didn't enjoy this much. Couldn't understand the dialogue, lots of shouting and jumping around, they never sang a complete song until the end. Singing wasn't great, instruments on stage were not played - we had poor seats up in the balcony so couldn't get into this at all - shame.

    Sunday, 4th Oct 2015 by MacDonald

Saw the show today, was a bit concerned prior to going with some poor reviews and how it was like a school play....

The show was great, fast set changes, slick story - not as far from the film story line as I was told, the cast worked their sock off to deliver a fantastic production with so much energy passion and vigor.

I have never left a review before but felt compelled to as this was such a good show and felt personally some of the other reviews gave such a disservice to the production and cast

One of the best show I have ever seen.

    Thursday, 10th Sep 2015 by Susan

Thought the show boring and like a school production. We went for the music but until the last 20 minutes there wasn't any! Just kids arguing and shouting. Having said that when they did sing and play music for the last 20 minutes they were very good musicians.

    Monday, 31st Aug 2015 by Julie

Saw this last show last night and thought it was brilliant! Really impressed with the show and found it thoroughly entertaining. The cast were great and the music was fantastic! Was a great night and thank you to the cast for making it an enjoyable night!

    Thursday, 20th Aug 2015 by Mr&Mrs Craig

Well what can we say....What a fantastic show, very entertaining. One of the best shows we have ever seen.

    Monday, 17th Aug 2015 by allan hood

the show was brillant and the cast as well.

i would recommend eveyone to see it,i have told all my frends about how great it is,so you can look forward to them coming.

your thertre staff are also very good,im in a wheelchair and they looked after me very well.

WE WILL BE BACK TO SEE IT AGAIN BEFORE NOVEMBER

best wishes and thank you

    Monday, 17th Aug 2015 by Adina

This was so much fun - absolutly stunning!

    Friday, 31st Jul 2015 by Clara

Absolutely brilliant show! As a Dubliner I was delighted by how well Dublin life was represented, and the music was simply fantastic! I thought the casting was brilliant, other than the lead who unfortunately had one of the worst feigned Irish accents I've ever heard. It actually made me cringe when he said certain things and in general I found his onstage presence awkward.

I believe he is new to the part in the last few weeks so perhaps that has something to do with it.

Anyway, other than him the play was brilliant - full of energy and humour and I left the theatre with the biggest smile on my face.

    Monday, 1st Jun 2015 by Anthony James Harris

What a brilliant show! Great singing, Great songs, and very funny as well. Great fun from start to finish. Be aware this is a theatrical adaptation of the film not an exact copy. I loved the film and I loved this as well.

    Saturday, 30th May 2015 by Barbara J

Really disliked this from the first few mins. Very childish , very distasteful humour. I love the songs and soul/Motown music which is why I went to see it but extremely disappointed with the show, so much so that I went home at the interval. That's the first time I have ever done that during a show

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 3)