The Commitments Reviews - Palace Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
109-113 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 5AY

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Charing Cross Road until you reach the crossroads with Shaftesbury Avenue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 31st October 2015
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st November 2015
Important Info: Please note that the front row of the Grand Circle have restricted leg room
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Didn't enjoy this much. Couldn't understand the dialogue, lots of shouting and jumping around, th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 19th May 2015 by Julia

Saw the show on May 9th, enjoyed the music ( in answer to the other reviewer, the band was under the stage) but left disappointed. I agree I would have expected musicians actually on the stage. It is about a band after all! Also guy running around miming with an alto sax whilst a baritone sax was being played elsewhere - not good. The lead singer had a good voice but was not a soul singer and we found the dialogue difficult to follow. Loved the film, loved the humour, the music and the singers, but felt the story did not translate well on to the stage.

    Saturday, 25th Apr 2015 by Alex

This all white cast did not come close to recreating the spirit of Motown. It was bland, the dialogue was confusing and the sound was badly mixed.

The biggest crime of all was that there was NO LIVE MUSIC! In a musical about a BAND! there was NO LIVE MUSIC! The singing was live but the rest was pre-recorded apart from the odd line from a trumpet or saxophone.

If you like Motown don't waste your money, go and buy a record player and a copy of Marvin Gaye - What's Going On? instead. On a positive note, the set design was clever and effective - 2nd star for the set design!

    Monday, 13th Apr 2015 by Mark & Carole

Really enjoyed the show from start to finish :-)) The energy of the whole company is amazing and the lead singer was madly sensational - loved it. Its a must GO SEE !!

    Friday, 27th Mar 2015 by Peg & Jim

Very disappointed, dialogue difficult to follow,songs half finished and the singers had no " soul" , the lead singer jumped about like a lunatic - why?. The music lacked something also but I could not put my finger on it. Totally underwhelmed

    Saturday, 14th Mar 2015 by Dan

We went to see the show on 12th march.

We were a little bit worried that the show could be a little bit boring. We were wrong. We are a really great time. It was very entertaining. I will recommend anyone to go and see it and we go and see it again ourselve for a second if we could.

    Sunday, 8th Feb 2015 by margaret

Went on 5 Feb with two friends had a great night a good laugh was suitably for all ages loved the show

    Friday, 6th Feb 2015 by Tracy King

Very good singers. Shame the show was not more about the songs in the film, which is what we went for. More of a soul night, than commitment night. Good first half, deflated after the second half. Waited for encore to play the hits.

    Thursday, 15th Jan 2015 by Sallie

Amazing show, great atmosphere 14 of us went and had great seats and loved all the Dancing at the end. Well done.

    Monday, 12th Jan 2015 by pauline james

Absolutely fantastic don't know where they get their energy from, went Sunday 11th January brilliant show the lead singer very good singer,even my brother in law got up clapping something he never does really enjoyed it

    Sunday, 11th Jan 2015 by Margrit Bode

Phantastic show. I loved it. Did not have so much fun for a long time.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 1)