The Commitments Reviews - Palace Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
109-113 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 5AY

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Charing Cross Road until you reach the crossroads with Shaftesbury Avenue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 31st October 2015
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st November 2015
Important Info: Please note that the front row of the Grand Circle have restricted leg room
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Didn't enjoy this much. Couldn't understand the dialogue, lots of shouting and jumping around, th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 29th Dec 2014 by carole

not very impressed was comparing it to the film which was so good it was very noisy and could not understand what they were saying so if it was supposed to be funny it was lost on me suggest watching the film also the songs were not the same in the stage production

    Monday, 8th Dec 2014 by Emma

This was an absolutely brilliant show, I cant recommend it enough, I laughed from start to finish. The set and cast were fab and Deco had the most amazing voice too. Everybody was up dancing to all the brilliant songs and they made the audience feel very involved. Reading the below comments saying its vile is a shock as there was nothing vile about it unless your offended by the word 'feck' which I would class as a swear word. I just want to go and see it again, top marks from me.

    Sunday, 2nd Nov 2014 by Theatre Fan

If I could give it a 6 I would. My husband and I came to see the show on Sat 01/11 and it was by far one of the best shows that we've seen. We were aching from laughing and the finale was incredible. A fantastically talented cast who we will most certainly look out for in years to come.

    Thursday, 23rd Oct 2014 by gemma

Very loud , did not enjoy , very disappointed

    Sunday, 12th Oct 2014 by THE MORRIGAN

Absolute trash. Vile. Offensive. Not all working class people treat women with the contempt portrayed in this debacle

    Tuesday, 16th Sep 2014 by wendy

The show was fantastic. I want to see it again

    Saturday, 13th Sep 2014 by Róisín

Excellent show. Loved it!

    Friday, 29th Aug 2014 by Lorraine Powell

Brillant, i get the humour, I loved the music and they made you part of the show, loved it.

    Tuesday, 26th Aug 2014 by Breeze

Sit in the stalls for an interactive experience as the cast come out and dance in the aisles just before the interval and again at the encore.

Have seen the film and the script is good. Was worried about the language in case my guest should be offended but is not bad AT ALL -no c words and feck instead of f**** is as bad as it gets. A bit disappointed with the casting of deco - tall skinny dark haired lad versus large long haired blonde lad in the film? Nevertheless the casting of the other characters is good and the music is really amazing - the second half doesn't stop delivering and they insist everyone is up dancing. A great show.

Ps Its a small theatre so you can purchase the cheaper seats and get a good viewing. Try and get cheap tickets where you can though its definitely not worth the full price of a top seat.

    Monday, 11th Aug 2014 by Graham

Sunday 10th Aug 2014

Yes ok Sally the script is thin but that is normal for a musical. However the standard of the music was amazing both singing and playing and i am into heavy rock not motown. The whole audience in the matinee were loving it and the energy generated by the cast radiated into the audience. Highly recommended go for the music and the vibes.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 5)