The Commitments Reviews - Palace Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
109-113 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 5AY

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Charing Cross Road until you reach the crossroads with Shaftesbury Avenue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 31st October 2015
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st November 2015
Important Info: Please note that the front row of the Grand Circle have restricted leg room
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Didn't enjoy this much. Couldn't understand the dialogue, lots of shouting and jumping around, th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 9th Mar 2014 by Anita

Went to see this show on Sunday 2 March with 3 friends and it was brilliant. The lead singer Killian Donnelly made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck! What a voice. Everyone in the audience are up on their feet singing and dancing at the end of the show - fantastic feel good show. The previous comments saying the swearing and Irish accents were dated and not funny, how ridiculous, the show is from a book and film about the Irish working class based in the 1980's!!

    Sunday, 2nd Mar 2014 by mary

My 35 year old daughter who 'suffered'through my Commitments phase as a youngster,bought the tickets as a birthday treat for me.( I had said that I would like to see The Jersey Boys).Apart from being slightly disappointed at not hearing a couple of my favourite tracks from the movie,it was a fantastic evening.The scenery was incredibly clever,the cast made us feel as though their aim in life was to please us...congratulations.When I saw the main singer playing Deco,I said'no way' but he had an amazing voice ,and much nicer to look at!!A really enjoyable evening,ending up dancing in the aisles,my daughter and her friend into it even more than me!If you haven't read the book or seen the movie then

    Sunday, 2nd Feb 2014 by Ren

My husband and I ,both 60 ish, really enjoyed the show, it had us clapping, dancing and singing. The main singer is ace, really soulful voice and great stage presence. We remember the 1980s well, so we enjoyed the music and comedy and pathos of the show. Fab singing, dancing and a really high energy and fun show. Highly recommend it.

    Saturday, 1st Feb 2014 by Elaine

Just got back from seeing the show and wow it was brilliant!! A must see for anyone, i left the theatre feeling so up beat, certainly gives you the feel good factor! The cast were amazing and i must say that Killian Donnelly who plays Deco was simply amazing....he put so much energy in to the performance.....i would certainly go and see it again!

    Saturday, 25th Jan 2014 by Paula

The day started off bad very nearly gave the show a miss

But how sorry I would of been

The show was amazing and I enjoyed every minute

Would love to see it again

    Sunday, 19th Jan 2014 by Soozy Woo

What a fabulous, fun evening. I've read the book (big fan of Roddy Doyle) seen the film and now the stage show which lived up and complimented the other two really well.

A great, enthusiastic, young cast who are extremely talented. Loved Killian Donelly's voice and interpretation.

All the cast looked as if they were enjoying it and having the time of their lives and that was truly infectious. Impossible not to get on your feet at the end of the show. Great fun, great entertainment.

People who are moaning that it is dated and littered with bad language have missed the point. It is based on the book - that's just how the book is!

    Saturday, 11th Jan 2014 by martina

see the film then go to the show, then the audience will understand the show. I thought it was brilliant. and would say it's a must see. the cast did a great job, the singing ,acting, the irish accents. just a great show. pleased I got two tickets for a Christmas present.

    Monday, 6th Jan 2014 by Linda

What an energetic feel good show to start the new year with! The voices and performances of all were just pitch perfect and I loved the audience participation at the end joining in, dancing and generally having a great day out. I left feeling exhausted but exhilerated!! Money well spent indeed :-)

    Saturday, 4th Jan 2014 by Dawn

Went for a Birthday treat. Couldn't have asked for a better time. Absollutley Brilliant, Loved the lead Singer's Voice and all the acting was great. Extremly funny would recommend for any one wanting a good laugh, good show, good night out. I will definatlley be going to see this again

    Saturday, 4th Jan 2014 by Rebecca1

Slightly disappointed after the Sunday Times rave review. It's my kind of music but the sheer volume of it combined with the cast shouting at each other in occasionally impenetrable Irish accents was just too much. I'm not troubled by swearing but I don't find it hilarious (apparently unlike much of the rest of the audience) when someone says "shite" or the tediously repeated "fecking". The language was all a bit dated and not at all funny. But th show took off in the second half with those glorious standards and the ensemble seemed to be really enjoying themselves and at last connecting with this member of the audience..

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 4)