The Commitments Reviews - Palace Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
109-113 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(5mins) Take Charing Cross Road until you reach the crossroads with Shaftesbury Avenue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 31st October 2015
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st November 2015
Important Info: Please note that the front row of the Grand Circle have restricted leg room
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)


Latest Review: "Didn't enjoy this much. Couldn't understand the dialogue, lots of shouting and jumping around, th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 31st Oct 2013 by Chris

This has been my most thrilling theatre experience , if yo u love the film , you will love this , the music , the cast , the experience . You gotta have soul after this , truly fantastic.

    Sunday, 27th Oct 2013 by chris west

I had personally been involved in the original Commitments, interviewing Andrew Strong and spending a couple of hours with his Dad Rob Strong, who was also in the film. The Commitments Musical is outstanding, great cast and excellent stage set. This show is a must to go and see, so much so I am looking forward to seeing it again. Best Musical currently on in London.

    Wednesday, 16th Oct 2013 by Adrian Appley

I saw "The Commitments" recently and walked out in disgust. It was the most foul mouthed show I have ever seen or want to see. The cast used the "f" word every few seconds. Is that really necessary ? This is fine for equally foul mouthed slobs to see but decent, respectable folks should avoid it like the plague. Yuck. Adverts for "Barking In Essex" do at least warn us about the foul language.

    Tuesday, 15th Oct 2013 by Jo

I was so looking forward to seeing this musical because I absolutely loved the film and I must say I was not disappointed. From the moment it started I was hooked and usually with most other shows it takes a good 15 minutes to get into them. Extremely funny and the music was just fantastic especially Mustang Sally!! I have never seen an audience get to their feet to join in so willingly!! Welldone to everyone involved...

    Tuesday, 15th Oct 2013 by David Southgate

Brilliant, vibrant, young talented actor-musicians who make this show totally engaging from start to finish! This show puts a smile on your face, and music which develops into rich, warm soul harmonies as the band builds in confidence as it rehearses and performs. Attention to detail very impressive, just look at the set, costumes and 1980's detail. Jamie Lloyd and Roddy Doyle have produced a refreshing show which is based on their own interpretation and originality. Well done for being different, and if you are offended by a few expletives, and seek a highly intellectual deep and meaningful evenings entertainment, then you will have missed the point of this superb production. Go and see it, have a laugh, a great night out and enjoy some outstanding music. Isn't that what West End shows are all about?

    Monday, 14th Oct 2013 by Hugh

After reading the reviews I was concerned that our tickets would turn out to be a waste of money. However, after seeing the show yesterday it shows that reviewers aren't always right! Brilliant energy and the lead vocalist has an incredible voice. Will definitely be going back!

    Sunday, 13th Oct 2013 by Brenda

We saw this show yesterday it was fantastic, the set was outstanding lots of detail. The singing amazing, the energy of the cast was amazing. It certainly made the audience get to their feet. We could have watched it again. Wishing the cast a long run.

    Sunday, 13th Oct 2013 by Annie

Have seen this twice now and loved it both times. Impossible not to get up and boogie at the end and the whole show was brilliantly put together. The cast are amazing, Killian's voice is incredible, the Commitments sexy and slightly seedy, and I would definitely definitely go again - in fact already have tickets!!! Ignore the critics, they who know the price of everything and the value of nothing, and get down to the Palace Theatre NOW!!!

    Sunday, 13th Oct 2013 by Lucy

Bringing soul music to the working class

This is not a story through the medium of typical musical theatre but the telling of a story about a soul band.

Do not compare to the film, do not expect the songs of the film.

It is based on the book (based on, not a direct transposition of).

Fantastic energy, humour, poignant truthes and spectacular soul perfomed with energy, grit and exceptional talent.

Do you like good music? Sweet soul music? Then go and see this and you will not be disappointed.

    Wednesday, 9th Oct 2013 by Sam

Saw the show Saturday night very entertaining and upbeat. Don t listen to the critics a great show.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)