The Lion King - Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 15th January 2014
Booking Until: Thursday, 16th January 2014
Running Time: 2 Hours 30 Minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 20 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Appalling.My partner and I were really looking forward to The Lion King but what an unbeli..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 15th Jan 2014 by Fraser

Appalling.

My partner and I were really looking forward to The Lion King but what an unbelievable disappointment it was. At best it was an armature production with a hefty price tag. The speech and singing was muffled and the overall choreography and togetherness of the show was shocking. We even contemplated leaving at the interval because it was so poor but suffered through to the end, and that is no lie, we really did suffer! The singing was out of key and for a production which comes from the West End, it truly was shocking. Overall it was an unbelievable disappointment at a very expensive price. Not pleased at all.

    Sunday, 12th Jan 2014 by ian sharp

The seats were so uncomfortable and close spoiled the whole experience .toilet facilities totally inadequate for the number of people .theartre grubby. Sound Quality poor, overpriced.

do not waste your money. mad i wasted money on the playhouse is a broken down shabby theatre

    Friday, 3rd Jan 2014 by Stevie

I thought the show was amazing , real good mixture of young /adult actors , some off the scenes were breathtaking with colour accompanied by brilliant African music too.

Thought the part with the lights was tremendous and very powerful too.

I struggled to get tickets for this show which I can understand but so glad I experienced the lion king on stage .

    Saturday, 14th Dec 2013 by StuMac

I agree with some of the above reviews that the show was disappointing. We did not come out with that tingle. Quality of singing was poor. We could not make out the words. The temperature in the cheap (£40!) seats in the circle was verging on the unbearable.

    Sunday, 8th Dec 2013 by Megan

Can't find the right words to describe this show, it's beyond breath taking. All the people involved in making this happen have well & truly outdone themselves. The whole thing from beginning to end & everything included in it is just so good! Too good, feel as tho I've dreamt it.

Such an amazing show so glad I got to see it, would go again & again & again!

    Monday, 25th Nov 2013 by Edinburgh Girl

The costumes are fantastic and the first 5 mins is hugely impressive, sadly it goes downhill from there. I agree with most of the other comments you couldn't make out the words on the majority of the songs and through some of the speaking parts. The 'theatrical' pauses at some points made us wonder if they had in fact forgot the words. The Scottish references and 'jokes' were appalling and were more akin to panto than a high class musical. Was looking forward to this but it was disappointing and really not worth the £65 per ticket. All of our party who love the theatre thought the same. And please Playhouse sort out the heating, the temperature was unbearable towards the end, the queues outside 'Taste of Italy' cafe at the end of the show for bottled water said it all!!

    Sunday, 17th Nov 2013 by Sally

I thought the sound system was very good. Especially loved the African drummers/percussionists being on view.

Fantastic show. Please don't be put off by any negative reviews. Just find your inner child and enjoy!

    Friday, 15th Nov 2013 by J Thomson

The costumes and make-up of the animals were fantastic. However, I was disappointed at not being able to make out the lyrics of the songs. The sound system obviously needs to be reviewed as this detracted from the enjoyment of the show.

    Saturday, 9th Nov 2013 by Brianmc

Very disappointing show. I was really looking forward to this, but from the start it was clear that the choreography was far from perfect . It was hard to make the words of the songs and the principals were screechy and occasionally off key. It relied heavily on visual effects which were somewhat muted from the back of the circle in the cheap seats (£50). Very poor value.

    Saturday, 9th Nov 2013 by K Ford

Simply wonderful. Thanks for making our day out special.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 9)