The Lion King - Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 15th January 2014
Booking Until: Thursday, 16th January 2014
Running Time: 2 Hours 30 Minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 20 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Appalling.My partner and I were really looking forward to The Lion King but what an unbeli..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 6th Nov 2013 by Gerard Henderson

my wife and myself go to quite a few musicals and we normally love them but on Friday we went to see the lion king and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. We couldn't understand the words of the songs or what the cast were saying and we thought the costumes were poor. To me this was more like an amateur production, i know the majority of reviews are raving about the lion king but i'm sorry it's a one out of ten from us.

    Wednesday, 6th Nov 2013 by Den

Sound levels really bad. Hard to make out words most of the way through. Sound engineers - remember YOU know the words but the audience may not - drop the music volume so we can hear the lyrics. Also unlike previous reviewers, we found the theatre was freezing - had to have coats and scarves on! Also why the awful attempt at Scottish accent/jokes - we found them patronising, condescending, sterotypical, unoriginal and above all, unfunny. Disappointing.

    Saturday, 2nd Nov 2013 by john Mckinlay

Sadly, the performance was spoiled because you could not hear all of the words of the songs. Friends attending other performances had the same problem. Some sound testing required Playhouse!

    Saturday, 2nd Nov 2013 by Lorraine Emerson

Loved the show such a thrill seeing those animals waking down the isles i had tight shoes on.

    Sunday, 20th Oct 2013 by Bob

Excellent show. Costumes and scenery was amazing. A bit hot and stuffy in playhouse but whole show was amazing for all ages. Would pay to see it again.

    Saturday, 19th Oct 2013 by Sandra Halley

Fantastic show, I took 2 of my children along (7&5) with my husband and none of us were dissapointed, can highly recommend it to anyone, great stage show. My only complaint was the heat of the theatre, would dread to think what it's like in the heat of summer!

    Saturday, 19th Oct 2013 by Donnamarie

What a night !! What a show !! Absolutely loved this performance and would go back to see it in a heartbeat !!!

    Thursday, 17th Oct 2013 by Pam

Wonderful performance, loved it. Minor criticism way too quiet!! Turn the volume up.

    Monday, 14th Oct 2013 by Margaret Moffet

What a great show. Saw this on Friday evening and would go back again to see. Well done to all of the cast. Fantastic!!!

    Saturday, 12th Oct 2013 by anne forbes

I love the music from the show,saw the film,hope to see the stage show in Edinburgh

Thanks

Mrs Anne Forbes

Dundee.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 8)