The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street
London
London
WC2E 7RQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 1st December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 3rd June 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted. Children over 3 will be admitted, but they must be able to sit in their own seat quietly throughout the performance. If they become restless, they may be asked to leave the auditorium.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 100 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Show was brilliant and would like to say a big thank you to all staff who looked after me when I ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 11th Jan 2012 by Adam Downey

I thought that every actor on that stage gave 110% really enjoyed it. The costumes were suberb! being able to do all the actions and move around with spectacular jaw dropping masks was incredible.  The lyceum theatre never fails to impress.

    Sunday, 8th Jan 2012 by caron bryant

Going to see this for 4th time this Friday take grandkids separatley so I can spoil them never bored could watch this show everyday the voices are amazing as is the little surprises you get "he lives in you" has me in tears everytime great show great performance from everyone involved absoloutly fanastic.

    Saturday, 24th Dec 2011 by Sarah

Amazing, I was hooked to it the whole time, amazing dancers and costumes. Loved it. It is one of the best musicals I have seen this year. 

    Monday, 19th Dec 2011 by Jo

If I never see another show it will not worry me. Absolutely fantastic totally blew me away. Loved every second! The acting, costumes and staging not to mention the puppetry is just amazing.

Saving up to go again!

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2011 by Maisie mabbatt.

It was great fun and amazing when all the animals came walking down the sides at the start.

    Saturday, 15th Oct 2011 by Adrian

What a fantistic show I will go again but I must thank the staff for all the help with the disabled person that was in our party if it was not for there helpfullness she would not have been able to get to her seat many thanks.

    Saturday, 1st Oct 2011 by Michael Barreteau

Saw it on my 13th birthday. It was excellent and I enjoyed it. I would recommend it to friends and Family.  

    Thursday, 15th Sep 2011 by Fred

Everyone in our group thought this was one of the best shows we had seen. We are adults of mixed ages. Awesome is a good word to discribe the show. I would like to return sometime.

    Saturday, 6th Aug 2011 by Ulina Chorley

Awesome!!!

    Monday, 30th May 2011 by Boxoffice Review

When a movie, either live action or animation, is transferred from the big screen to the stage, there has to be a valid artistic reason for doing so.  What does the stage version do that the film does not?  Why should an audience pay more to see a live stage version rather than  buying or renting the movie on DVD or Blue-Ray?  The Lion King delivers answers to those questions right from its breathtaking beginning to its rousing conclusion.  Even though it has been running for well over a decade now, the show feels incredibly fresh and vibrant.  It is so immersive that it is experienced as much as it is watched by an audience.   

A young lion cub named Simba is to be the next King of the Jungle.  The show opens with a spectacular ceremony to welcome the cub into the world.  It features amazing scenery as well as life sized puppets of African elephants, Rhino’s and Giraffe’s.  The story moves on as Simba’s father King Mufasa, is angered by his brother Scar’s absence at the ceremony.  Scar’s jealousy is poisonous as he harbors ambitions of ruling the Kingdom in his own way (and is willing to consort with unlikely and underhanded allies in order to get what he wants).  Simba is young, cocky and impatient.  He is foolhardiness gets him into trouble and when tragedy strikes he needs the help of some unlikely friends to remind him of who he is if he is to take his place in the great circle of life. 

There are few family musicals that will better than The Lion King.  The story is timeless and the wonderful staging, puppetry, scenery and choreography are as good as anything in the West End.  This was the piece that Director Julie Taymor really made her commercial name (perhaps she would do well to return to pieces with such a strong narrative and concept given the recent disaster that is Spiderman: Turn off the Dark).  It also features Elton John and Tim Rice’s Oscar winning score (with a few welcome additions) it is great to hear songs such as Circle of Life, Hakuna Matata and Can You Feel The Love Tonight being performed with a live orchestra and African chorus.

This piece will be going strong for a long time to come.  I can’t recommend it more.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 4)