The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street
London
London
WC2E 7RQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 18th July 2017
Booking Until: Sunday, 4th February 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. 
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 104 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I HAVE WAITED 20 YEARS TO SEE THIS SHOW,IT WAS THE BEST THING I I HAVE EVER SEEN & DONE.
Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 20th Nov 2015 by Belinda David

Can't believe having seen the Lion King at the end of November it will be 11 times, I have never written a review 😘 The musical is outstanding, and shows just why it has a long standing history at the Lyceum Theatre.

From the first time of seeing it, I was blown away, I am a mature adult, and have gone on to bring all of my family and granchildren too 😄

Wherever you sit within the theatre is magical, from beginning to end, I will never get tired of singing hakuna matata!

Hope you love it as much as I do 😄

    Thursday, 18th Jun 2015 by Norma Brown

Brilliant show in every way, cannot fault the performers.

BUT the air quality in the theater was appalling. It was a

capacity crowd which is good news for the theater but for the

audience most unpleasant. I did not dare get out of my seat in

the interval for fear of fainting. A friend with me asked for the

air conditioning to be increased, which it seems fell on deaf ears.

An otherwise great outing spoiled by what I think is a health hazzard.

    Saturday, 23rd May 2015 by LyndaP

Went to see the show today with my daughter and we both really enjoyed it again- this was our second visit. The music, staging and the animals coming down through the audience are magical - especially the birds. Wonderful children actors. Brilliant!

    Sunday, 3rd May 2015 by Leza whitfield

Emotional, out of this world, now going to take my grand daughter to see it. Best play Iv ever seen. Well done.

    Thursday, 23rd Apr 2015 by Laila

I am wondering if all the people who wrote these wonderful reviews of "The Lion King" saw the same musical we did. Because, I couldn't wait until the show was over! I enjoyed two "songs" but the rest of it was mostly screaming from the stage! And, the dancers needed a lot more practice. I cannot recommend this show; it was absolutely not worth the expensive stall seats. In addition, I agree, it was like going to a cinema not a London theatre experience. I brought my grand daughter and we had dressed for the theatre, but to our surprise, everyone else were dressed in jeans, sweaters and parkas. So, if you insist on seeing this show, don't bother to dress or waste your money on the expensive tickets.

    Thursday, 23rd Apr 2015 by rose haines Fairclose Day Centre

I brought 23 elderly ladies & gents to see this show and they would all come again it was so good. The costumes were amazing.

    Monday, 30th Mar 2015 by Jo

The music was wonderful and what we could see of the show was spectacular but considering the tickets were over £70 each, the view was extremely disappointing. Our two children couldn't see at all and had to sit on our knees (despite the addition of the booster seats which were an additional cost - being financially penalised for being a child when paying the same as an adult for a seat is appalling customer service). We had to strain to see around the people in front throughout the entire performance and still had a restricted view due to the position of people sitting in front. The problem is due to the tiering of the seating - it's just not steep enough. Ushers running up and down the aisle, letting in latecomers and signalling to the technician at the back of the stalls was also extremely distracting and took away some of the enjoyment

    Sunday, 22nd Mar 2015 by colin smith

Omg this show is the best I am going to come and see it on my 27 bday with my mate and my brother and sister I can not wait to see this show again

    Sunday, 22nd Mar 2015 by Mr Carl Bradwell

I really enjoyed the show but for me it was spoilt by the low volume on the actors microphones. I was sat half way back in the stalls but struggled to hear some of the actors clearly, even without the music playing.

    Monday, 16th Mar 2015 by Kathryn

Saw the Lion King yesterday and disappointed. It was average, not spectacular. Paid £93 per tickets in the stall and where seats positioned not good view as stalls area not tiered enough. Also why on earth do theatres sell huge tubs of pop corn for kids and adults to munch through - felt like being in a cinema, not a theatre. Also people being let into the stalls 40 minutes after the production started which is very distracting. Must be for the actors too!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 8)