The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street
London
London
WC2E 7RQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 1st December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 3rd June 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted. Children over 3 will be admitted, but they must be able to sit in their own seat quietly throughout the performance. If they become restless, they may be asked to leave the auditorium.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 100 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Show was brilliant and would like to say a big thank you to all staff who looked after me when I ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 17th Jun 2014 by Sharon

This wasn't really my thing although I also took my daughter for her 21st birthday and she loved it. The young stars were good at the acting but couldn't sing very well. The costumes were ok.

Top marks to the theatre though. I have difficultly walking and they arranged the lift up and down for me as we had booked tickets in the top circle. Also someone was trying to take photos and they were warned twice about it. Just wished the show have lived up to the rest of the experience. Also we went on quite a warm day, and it was unbearable hot in the theatre.

    Sunday, 1st Jun 2014 by Lin Avery

Absolutely a fantastic show. This is the fourth time I have seen it and would go back again and again.

    Thursday, 29th May 2014 by Gary Pettit

Every time the West End is mentioned my Wife drools about her favourite show, "The Lion King". Having seen it in London and New York she still maintains it is the best show ever and we have been to many performances over the years.

It is our 29th wedding anniversary on Sunday 1 June and I simply could not think of a better surprise for Paula than to take her back and watch the best show around

    Saturday, 19th Apr 2014 by Thomas Benton

What an absolutely amazing show. I've been a massive fan of the Lion King films and this Toped the list of all time favourite theatre shows. The show does include actors, that use the Boxes in the air to make the show feel more alive. This does restrict viewing when you are sat right at the back on or under the royal stands. The songs are fantastic as always and the actors were superb! All the music was magnificent, all live of course.

10/10 would see again!

    Saturday, 12th Apr 2014 by Griffiths

Saw the show on 30/3/2014 with my family for my 50th. Music, cast, costumes fantastic. We'll done to everyone involved. I would probably go to an evening show next time as we had an annoying fidgeting little kid bumping the backs of our chairs. Could I also point out that given the price we paid (£65 each with no reduction for 12&15 yr old) I didn't expect to see massive tubs of popcorn everywhere. We had gone to the theatre not Showcase Cinema, rubbish left everywhere by ignorant people who can't do without stuffing their faces for a couple of hours. Come on Lyceum ditch the popcorn and return to a theatre experience.

    Monday, 24th Mar 2014 by Jim Jam

What a totally amazing show. The costumes were fab, the dancing was brill and my favourite part was the animals walking down the aisle - what an amazing start to the show.

The only reason im giving the show a 4 and not a 5 is because of the irresponsible family that abandoned their four children next to us and sat somewhere else. They were disruptive throughout the entire show, talking, swinging on their chairs and squeezing plastic water bottles so could not enjoy the show as much as we would have liked.

    Sunday, 23rd Mar 2014 by Sheron

I took my daughter for her 11th birthday and she thought it was amazing. The music and cast are all truly spectacular and I can honestly say it was worth every penny. Not only to see the look on my daughters face, but it's clear to see the amount of work that goes into the costumes that does it for me. The songs are beautiful and moving, the cast put in so much effort and the stage comes alive so much so that you see far beyond the stage and it really did capture our imagination. Loved it.

    Thursday, 6th Feb 2014 by Olivia saw it with her school

The lion king was the most amazing production i have ever seen the singing was brill the dancing was ace and the acting was just amazing in would really recommend to go and see it with your family! really amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Saturday, 11th Jan 2014 by caron bryant

on 15th January 2014 I will be taking my grandson to this show it will be my 5th time as I like to take one of my 11 grandchildren at a time so I can spoil them a little I have 6 more visits to go and pray this show is still running when they are old enough. The children already know the storey so its easy for them to follow and the singing makes my hairs stand on end its fantastic. Its amazing how you end up looking at the stage and see just animals not people I go to a lot of west end musicals and this has to be the most spectacular of them all

    Wednesday, 20th Nov 2013 by Cliff and Pam

Our kids bought us tickets to this show for our 20th Anniversary and what a show it was. We were blown away by the costumes, the effects, the superb music and watching most of the cast walk past us to enter the stage. The story is true to the Disney film and the hard working cast wore some fabulous costumes so if you only visit London once to see one show, make it this one.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 8)