The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street
London
London
WC2E 7RQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 19th September 2017
Booking Until: Sunday, 25th March 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. 
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 104 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I HAVE WAITED 20 YEARS TO SEE THIS SHOW,IT WAS THE BEST THING I I HAVE EVER SEEN & DONE.
Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 25th Feb 2013 by Egg

Oh dear, what a let down...singing by the youngsters was appalling, no power from the boy and both of them horribly out of tune. Is the cast now complacent? The 3 hyenas gabbled their way through the dialogue and songs without any care to diction, seeming to be having their own private party.The audience around us looked bored.

I can think of better ways to spend your money.

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by CALIFGIRL

I took my 6 year old son today who is obsessed with the Lion King. He knew the dialogue off by heart and was so engrossed in the show and got upset when it finished. I think the cast were awesome. The person playing Rafikki had a fantastic powerful voice. Would highly recommend the show.

    Saturday, 9th Feb 2013 by Lynn

Was taken by my daughter as a birthday present and had an amaziing time. The show was brilliant. . . would recommend it to anyone . .it was wonderful!! Willl remember it forever-the cast were superb. Enjoyed every minute. Thank you Jade for an amazing day. x x

    Saturday, 2nd Feb 2013 by Thelma

Got the tickets for our 38th anniversary, and loved every moment

    Wednesday, 30th Jan 2013 by Lauren

Absolutely brilliant, ive seen blood brothers, dirty dancing, the wizard of oz and les mis, and nothing compares to the fantastic imagination and creation of the show. It is truely inspirational and has you on the edge of your seat. Even if you think you wont like it, you will! even if you are abit of a boring get!

    Monday, 28th Jan 2013 by jeniren

This was a suprise birthday treat and the spectacle of colour, dancing, music, extraordinary scene changes and the appearance of the spirit of the watchful father of Simba was amazing. The ushers were running around telling those with mobile phone cameras who were trying to capture the scene to switch off. As for the singing of little Simba, well now and again he was singing a little bit under the note but so what? This talented youngster is just starting out, giving it his all. His stage presence was incredible, he absolutely owned the place and took everyone along for a joyous ride. Well done to him and all the cast for a superb afternoon's entertainment.

    Sunday, 27th Jan 2013 by Anne

Absolutely stunning..the sets are amazing,how the stage moves is fantastic . The puppets and the cast are superb..the vocals and the whole 'africaness' of it all made for such an experience I would love to repeat :-) loved the film and this production takes it to another level!

    Wednesday, 23rd Jan 2013 by Leila Jenkins

Overall it was brilliant, but the best scenes were those without much relation to the story line, where the backing dancers and singers could really go to town. The extras really made the show here, they are brilliant. The costume and stage design was fantastic here, with beautiful costumes, i was mesmerised by it all. The women playing Rafiki was AMAZING. Her singing voice was stunning, pitch perfect.

HOWEVER, weren't we all glad when Simba swung in at the 2nd half, as a grown up!! It was like a sigh of relief going around the audience, and you could feel the spirit just rise again. I give credit to the child actor of Simba... for his acting skills. however his singing was apalling. I felt like i was watching a school play with flat singing and children who cant hold notes. for a west end show, this really lets you down, there are plenty of children out there with singing voices.. this boy should be in an acting role and not singing.

so overall, go and watch it, its brilliant, but not for the singing talent, the costumes and staging of it are what you're there for.

    Saturday, 12th Jan 2013 by KEN CLARKE

MY WIFE AND I JUST RETURNED HOME TO BRISTOL AFTER SEEING THE LION KING WHAT A BRILLIANT SHOW CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE CAST AND ALL THE PRODUCTION STAFF AND MUSICIANS.

    Thursday, 10th Jan 2013 by J Morris

We saw the matinee over the weekend - the childern were mesmerised. We had a wonderful time - thank you for making our trip to London something to remember.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 3)