The Lion King Reviews - Lyceum Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyceum Theatre

Lyceum Theatre
21 Wellington Street

Seating Plan


(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street/Wellington Street and follow the road 200 metres. The theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 21st October 2016
Booking Until: Sunday, 2nd April 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted into the theatre. All persons aged 16 or under must be accompanied by an adult and may not sit on their own within the auditorium. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket.
Important Info: PLEASE NOTE: strobe lighting is used several times during the performance. Children under the age of 3 will not be admitted. Children over 3 will be admitted, but they must be able to sit in their own seat quietly throughout the performance. If they become restless, they may be asked to leave the auditorium.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 2.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 99 review(s)


Latest Review: "Splendid display..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 28th Jan 2013 by jeniren

This was a suprise birthday treat and the spectacle of colour, dancing, music, extraordinary scene changes and the appearance of the spirit of the watchful father of Simba was amazing. The ushers were running around telling those with mobile phone cameras who were trying to capture the scene to switch off. As for the singing of little Simba, well now and again he was singing a little bit under the note but so what? This talented youngster is just starting out, giving it his all. His stage presence was incredible, he absolutely owned the place and took everyone along for a joyous ride. Well done to him and all the cast for a superb afternoon's entertainment.

    Sunday, 27th Jan 2013 by Anne

Absolutely stunning..the sets are amazing,how the stage moves is fantastic . The puppets and the cast are superb..the vocals and the whole 'africaness' of it all made for such an experience I would love to repeat :-) loved the film and this production takes it to another level!

    Wednesday, 23rd Jan 2013 by Leila Jenkins

Overall it was brilliant, but the best scenes were those without much relation to the story line, where the backing dancers and singers could really go to town. The extras really made the show here, they are brilliant. The costume and stage design was fantastic here, with beautiful costumes, i was mesmerised by it all. The women playing Rafiki was AMAZING. Her singing voice was stunning, pitch perfect.

HOWEVER, weren't we all glad when Simba swung in at the 2nd half, as a grown up!! It was like a sigh of relief going around the audience, and you could feel the spirit just rise again. I give credit to the child actor of Simba... for his acting skills. however his singing was apalling. I felt like i was watching a school play with flat singing and children who cant hold notes. for a west end show, this really lets you down, there are plenty of children out there with singing voices.. this boy should be in an acting role and not singing.

so overall, go and watch it, its brilliant, but not for the singing talent, the costumes and staging of it are what you're there for.

    Saturday, 12th Jan 2013 by KEN CLARKE


    Thursday, 10th Jan 2013 by J Morris

We saw the matinee over the weekend - the childern were mesmerised. We had a wonderful time - thank you for making our trip to London something to remember.

    Monday, 7th Jan 2013 by Ash

I saw the Lion King at Lyceum Theatre on Saturday 29 December 2012 to help bring in the New Year. I had never before seen the show but had heard that it was well worth seeing. I bought tickets for more than £100 and so excited to see the show.

The staging was fantastic and I thought that the show was great. That was until Simba in the first act sang. Timings were out and he was not on pitch. I am not very musical and could tell that something was off. I thought that things would get better but they didn't. At first I thought that it may be a mic issue but as the show progress the issue was not address. How glad I was at the end of the first half when Simba was grown up and someone that could sing took over the role.

The second half started well much like the first. Although by the end Pumba look half dead and like he didn't want to be on stage and looked more like he wanted to be at home watching TV with a beer in his hand.

In all the staging was great but the singing and the performances were a let down. After being asked if I enjoyed the Lion Kind by Friends. I have had to tell them that they should spend their money elsewhere. I understand that the show if played twice a day and almost everyday but for a Saturday night showing after Christmas and before the New Year. I would expect all cast members to give their all and not just a factory produced, off the line repeated performance that they have done a hundred times.

In all very disappoint. I wish I could say otherwise.

    Friday, 16th Nov 2012 by Maureen

Best show I've seen. I could watch it over and over. I would definitely recommend it.

    Thursday, 15th Nov 2012 by Petros

The show on the 14th was wonderful, first time to this show will want to return.Many thanks to all very memorable.

    Wednesday, 31st Oct 2012 by cjkfish

Amazing .......... One of the best shows I have ever seen.

I was a little unsure at first thinking I was going to see a childrens show, but it captivated me from the opening scene.

Stunning colours, familiar music, wonderful performers and outstanding props. Definately a must see!

    Friday, 26th Oct 2012 by Holly

I am 11 and I went. I thought I wouldn't like it if I'm honest but it was a truley magical performance worth all the money. Loved every bit! The costumes were just too great.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 5)