The Phantom Of The Opera - Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place

Seating Plan


The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 19th September 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th October 2012
Matinees: Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for ages 10 and over. Under 5s will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 36 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went to see the show on 15 October 2012, it was fantastic. Earl Carpenter is the best Phantom I h..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 22nd Oct 2012 by jim

Went to see the show on 15 October 2012, it was fantastic. Earl Carpenter is the best Phantom I have ever seen. Anyone who states they were disappointed clearly knows as much about music as the Scottish Football Manager knows about getting to the World Cup. Best value for £50 I have ever received.

Well done Edinburgh for putting on this fantastic show

    Sunday, 21st Oct 2012 by Deborah

saw the matinee performance on thursday 18th oct and i have to say i was utterly enthralled from start to finish! totally disagree with the person who criticised the stage and special effects, i thought they were a very clever use of a very small space and totally had me lost in the story. luuuuuuurved it! my only teenyweeny wee issue was with raoul who was a bit on the small side for me and constantly reminded me of david jason as del boy when he was wearing his big long coat....but that is me being REALLY pernickity. thank you to all involved with the show for giving me the most memorable live performance of my life, i shall cherish the memory always :-)

    Sunday, 21st Oct 2012 by Chris Currie

This was my eighth experience of The Phantom, I totally agree with Richard Gallacher and Alex that this new production is not a patch on the original version. The revolving rig was just awful. Previous shows have always had the audience in total wonderment at the stage effects, the depth of the stage with the sloping ramps down to the labyrinth, the rooftop scene used to be magical, the graveyard confrontation had the audience on the edge of their seats and the final scene was always undoubtedly the highlight of the show. Our experience yesterday left us feeling cheated, albeit wonderful music and singing, The Phantom lacked the passion of previous Phantoms, it seemed like an amateur production done on a budget! Will the new audience of the future be rushing to see it over and over again? I think not Andrew :(

    Sunday, 21st Oct 2012 by J Edgar


I bought these tickets the day they went on sale, sat front row of the circle so had thee best seats. I was utterly blown away, engrossed, impressed. I loved this show and thought the cast tonight were phenomenal. If it wasn't the last night I would go back. Only thing I will say is that I preferred the ending in the older one. That said, tonight was still indescribably amazing.

    Friday, 19th Oct 2012 by Andy

Phantom has finally come to Edinburgh and I bought my tickets the first day of the sale, front centre balcony seats; best seats in the house for a great show. Waited many months for the night of the performance; went into the playhouse with great enthusiasm and left disappointed.

An enchanting start to the show with an Overture that gave Goosebumps and beautiful scenery that truly captures the elegance of the show. But not long after this phantastic start to the show it slowly started to go downhill quickly.

The scenery magically changes before our eyes with a rotating wall which on the outside takes the form of the backstage of the opera house; opening up to the manager's office and even revealing hidden stairs leading to the phantoms lairs. A very clever rig indeed but it took up much of the stage space leaving little room for the cast members and after a while became a bit of an eye sore. Would have been better if they stuck to traditional scenery to give the actors more room and the iconic boat scene not just be a quick enter stage right and exit stage left 10 seconds later. Relying on this took away a lot of the magic away from the shows performance; heavily relying on the razzle dazzle aspects.

Either it was the singing or technical difficulties, a lot of the time the actors; be it them singing or speaking would be very quite at times and hard to hear and at other times when singing over each other sounded nothing like harmony but a collection of noise. The music although not grand still retains its original charm and still very enjoyable.

As for the actors and their singing; most of them lived up to expectation apart from one; the phantom. A lot of the times it was hard to hear him sing; especially during 'music of the night' and other times he sounded out of key and flat. His acting although good lacks the appeal and quality's the phantom posses such as his mysterious charm and a tormented side to him as a man; he came across more aggressive and vicious. For a man tormented, shunned by everyone and very loathsome and disgusted by his deformity; he didn't seem that bothered when Christine removed his mask for the first time either. He didn't shun himself away or even try to hide his face despite wearing a mask all his life; he seemed mildly annoyed at best. As for being the main character too, he didn't really seem to stand out much either. He just seemed to just appear and leave without making his mark or leaving any defining moments during the show.

Over all a good show own its own but nothing compared to others I have seen in the past. An enjoyable evening but unfortunately an easily forgettable one too due to lack of charisma and passion.

    Thursday, 18th Oct 2012 by Richard Gallacher

A good enough show but I missed the highlights of previous Phantom shows I've seen:

The chandelier starting from wrecked on the stage with the rest of the opera house, and all being restored magically.

The chandelier crashing to the stage.

The candelabra rising from the mist.

More of the boat and a better phantom's lair.

The phantom hiding behind the statue that is lowered from the top of the stage.

The trapdoor disappearances.

A few others that I can't think of just now.

I don't know if its health and safety, saving money, change for the sake of it, or a bit of all of those but it wasn't as good as the old show.

If you've never seen it before you'll think its great, and it is. It was just better before.

    Thursday, 18th Oct 2012 by Sue

I went to see Phantom last night with my dad and my friend and it was absolutely fantastic, if I could I would go and see it again tonight! Christine was great, with a fantastic voice and the Phantom was just suberb! The music makes me tingle, it is so beautiful! My friend and I were hoarse at the end shouting our appreciation! A first class production. I have seen Phantom a few times in the past, each version being slightly different, but this was one of my favourites!

    Thursday, 18th Oct 2012 by Cathy Bell

What a triumph. Everything from the magnificent staging, the orchestra and of course the superlative singing. A complete stunner of a show. Beg steal or borrow a ticket . This is a MUST SEE.

    Tuesday, 16th Oct 2012 by Steven J Caldwell

My review on this production is a short one. STUNNING! The cast were just magnificent. All I want to say is I bought the tickets for my wife for our 3rd wedding anniversary. It has more been more or less been a life long dream of hers to see Phantom on the big stage and I wanted to make that dream a reality. Taking her to the show alone would simply not be enough so therefor I would like to say thank you so much to the cast for making a dream become a reality for the woman I love the most. I am forever in your debt. Thank you.

    Saturday, 13th Oct 2012 by Belle 1

I have lost count of the number of times I've been to see Phantom of the Opera. I've even been blessed to see the production in Seoul, South Korean! Last night's production was up there with the best of them. The audience displayed wild adulation at the conclusion of the performance for all the excellent cast members but particularly for the outstanding 'Phantom', who quite rightly milked the moment for all it was worth! Fabulous show!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 6)