The Phantom Of The Opera - Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 19th September 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th October 2012
Matinees: Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for ages 10 and over. Under 5s will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 36 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Went to see the show on 15 October 2012, it was fantastic. Earl Carpenter is the best Phantom I h..."

ReviewsSort by
    Friday, 21st Sep 2012 by Robert Byng

Phantom of the Opera at the Edinburgh playhouse was beyond fantastic!

Having wished to see Phantom of the Opera for several years and having watched the 25 Aniversary edition DVD I was slightly dissapointed that the set and line up would not be that of the show however on the night I was blown away by the amazing design of the stage and how flawless and smooth the scene to scene transition was.

The performances were amazing; and with such a small cast compared to other productions, and a smaller orchestra, it is truly something special that all the glamour and elegance of the Phantom was brought to Scotland! The humour of the show mixed with the intense performances between the primary cast is something which gripped me and the audience on opening night and, if it were not for the simply astounding musical scores, you would be able to hear a pin fall from the level of immersion there was from everyone in the playhouse!

The only reason this is getting 5 stars is because the rating system is not higher!

    Saturday, 22nd Sep 2012 by Yania McLean

Absolutely Stunning!!! There aren't enough words to describe it. The cast, the vocals, the production, the orchestra, all beyond wonderful! The lead vocalists left me breathless. Just have to see it again. Just like Mr Robert Byng said there aren't enough stars to rate this.

    Saturday, 22nd Sep 2012 by Pauline333

I was taken by my daughter to see phantom on Fri night...and it was truly amazing..the 'Phantom' and 'Christine' were ammmmaaaazzzzing!!!! great chemistry!!!the orchestra was fabulous, as were the costumes and sets...my only one gripe..was 'Raul'...he was not very good..he was like a 'caricature' of the character..and well very wusy and rather 'camp'...and he made lots 'jerky' movements!!!

    Monday, 24th Sep 2012 by Kayleigh E.

Amazing. Best night of my life by far. Got to see my theatre hero John Owen Jones along with the rest of the amazing cast. I would recommend it to anyone.

Simply Phantastic.

    Wednesday, 26th Sep 2012 by Joyce

This is the third production of Phantom that I have seen, including the original with Michael Crawford, and I have to say that John Owen-Jones performance was just mesmerising. He brought such pathos to the role, it broke my heart. I wanted Christine to choose him at the end and not Raoul! The cast is superb, as are the stage sets...and of course the music, that wonderful music.

I do have a 2 small criticisms though....the chandalier does'nt crash, and the masquerade act has no staircase. Not keen on these changes, but I would urge people to go and see this production, you will have an unforgettable night at the theatre.

    Wednesday, 26th Sep 2012 by Elizabeth Reid

What a fantastic show. superb music, lyrics costumes and sets.Breathtaking. Truly gave me goosebumps .

    Thursday, 27th Sep 2012 by Steve Pascoe

Simply stunning. The sets, design, music and performers were just amazing. I have been lucky enough to see musicals in both the West End, and on Broadway, but this has triumphed over all of them, and the audience reaction and standing ovation at the end, just goes to show how good this production was. One minor complaint..why can't I give it 6 stars, as it truly deserved it!!

    Saturday, 29th Sep 2012 by Jacqueline

Absolutely fantastic!!!! Brought tears to my eyes and shivers all over. Amazing performance by all cast and phantom amazing. You would be daft not to go and see a first class performance . I seen this years ago with Michael Crawford and didn't think it could get better but it was!!!!!! DONT MISS IT

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by margaret johnston sat mat 29/09/12

I saw Phantom 5 times when it was last at the Playhouse and loved it so was very excited to see it again . What a disappointment !We had very good seats but there were times we couldnt hear the quieter parts of Phantoms songs , and ive seen John Owen-Jones before and know how fantastic he is , Christine ruined my favourite songs and Prima Donna was weak . They should have left what worked well alone ! And why do people feel the need to bring crisps etc to munch on !!! RUDE !!

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by The Macs

We went to the Edinburgh show.Absolutely stunning performance.The talent on show is breathtaking.Just great to see.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 9)