The Phantom Of The Opera - Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place

Seating Plan


The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 19th September 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th October 2012
Matinees: Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for ages 10 and over. Under 5s will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 36 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went to see the show on 15 October 2012, it was fantastic. Earl Carpenter is the best Phantom I h..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 13th Oct 2012 by carole


    Saturday, 13th Oct 2012 by Russell Laing

Superb show from start to finish,the singing,acting,music,sets everything was fantastic,Katie Hall in my opinion stole the show.Would not hesitate in saying was best show I have seen,*****

    Friday, 12th Oct 2012 by Alex

The performance on 11/10/12 at 2.30pm in Edinburgh, was a poor imitation of the real show, the lead male's voice was poor & he put no effort in to his performance, consequently at the end of the show the audience didn't show much appreciation when applauding. Andrew Lloyd Webber should pull this production team before he dies of embarrassment.

Having seen the show 6 times in various cities this was the worst of all.

    Friday, 12th Oct 2012 by liz murray

I would give it a 5 + went to see Phantom on Sept 22 and I am still thrilled at the thought of it ,outstanding performance by cast ,musc superb simply wonderful production.If I could afford it I would go back to see it in a heartbeat,Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!! xxx

    Wednesday, 10th Oct 2012 by Linsay

I have seen the phantom 3 times now and this performance was absolutely breathtaking!

If you have wanted to go and see this show but have never been 100% sure, I implore you to book! You will not be disappointed!

    Sunday, 7th Oct 2012 by Mandy

I have never really fancied going to see Phantom. I recently read the book and loved it, and just after finishing the book, the musical was advertised as coming to Edinburgh. I went last night (6th October) and absolutely loved it, the performance from Christine was great and what a voice! and the role of the Phantom was outstanding totally superb, and the final scene so powerful and emotional, i had tears welling in my eyes, a very convincing performance, best musical i have ever went to and don't think anything will ever be so good. Fantastic acting and orchestra-awesome.

    Sunday, 7th Oct 2012 by Elizabeth

Went on October 6th ..Absolutely fantastic i've seen Phantom 8 times mainly in London and I've seen it before in Glasgow before mainly London and Phantom John Owen-Jones was the best ever...what great acting...and Christine was excellent very powerful voice. Great show...missed the Pantom coming down the stairs tho.

    Sunday, 7th Oct 2012 by Megan Paterson

I was absolutely blown away by the performance tonight. The music was tremendous, their voices were beautiful and the acting was excellent. Brilliant!

    Saturday, 6th Oct 2012 by Alison

I have seen Phantom twice before but have to say this was by far the best. The Phantom and Christine were both utterly fantastic and i loved the slight makeover to the second half. The amazing and emotional performance put in by Phantom was breathtaking and brought tears to my eyes. I also found he came across as a much more damaged and psychotic man than in the past but still managed to show his vulnerability, especially towards the end. My only negative was Raoul's performance was not as strong as previous actors in the role. I also have to add a special mention for Monsieur Firmin and Monsieur Andre for giving us all a good giggle and also to Madame Giry for never breaking from her character even when all eyes were on other more prominent parts of the scene. Overall a fantastic show!

    Wednesday, 3rd Oct 2012 by Alasdair McFarlane

Having seen Phantom @ the Playhouse Dec 1995, this performance with its revised second half is absolutely FANTASTIC with casting near perfection. Also,words cannot describe the musicianship of conductor and orchestra. It's only a shame that on Tuesday 2 October, stalls were three quarters full. Those who failed to atternd don't know what they were missing. A REALLY memorable performance.

Well done everybody !!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 3)