The Phantom Of The Opera - Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 19th September 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 20th October 2012
Matinees: Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for ages 10 and over. Under 5s will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 36 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Went to see the show on 15 October 2012, it was fantastic. Earl Carpenter is the best Phantom I h..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 1st Oct 2012 by Anon

This is one of my favourites. However I was a bit disappointed with the new production for example the masquerade scene without the stairs and many elaborate costumes including the monkey from the music box (or maybe I imagined that bit). Anyway despite this the music was still amazing Christine and the Phantom were top class. Raoul was a bit weak and did not draw me in with his performance. I went with someone who had never seen this show before and they were very impressed, maybe I am just being too picky!

    Monday, 1st Oct 2012 by marysia doyle

I have always wanted to watch Phantom of the Opera and booked my tickets as soon as they came out. It was like a dream. I wanted Christine to choose the PHANTOM at the end. Fell in love with all of their performances especially the Phantom. The Music, production, John Owen Jones made it and I could have stayed there all night watching it over and over again. I had tears streaming down my face and my husband who hates musicals was even converted. Thank you for an amazing night will never forget one moment of it.

    Monday, 1st Oct 2012 by Lo

Fantastic! A wonderful re imagining of a classic show, with cracking new sets, costumes and staging. Cast were phenomenal :)

    Monday, 1st Oct 2012 by Jane Thompson

I went to the matinee performance 29th Sept. First time I've seen Phantom & I have to say I was disappointed! I had heard rave reviews about it previously & unfortunately it didn't live up to them. During the quieter parts of the performance it was quite difficult to hear the phantom sing, although John Owen-Jones was amazing at other times! I was disappointed with Prima Donna, I have heard better performances on CD. The orchestration was superb throughout. However if the standing ovation at the end is anything to go by it would seem that I am in the minority!

    Monday, 1st Oct 2012 by Patricia Logue

Saw the matinee show on Saturday absolutely fabulous. Enjoyed every minute. John Owen Jones is truly the best phantom ever.

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by Fan Tom

I was so looking forward to seeing this in Edinburgh after seeing it so often in London, however it just did not live up to my (admittedly high) expectations.

In my opinion, the three theatrical highlights of the show are missing, namely the chandelier crashing, the staircase during Masquerade and the Phantom's disappering act at the end of that sequence.

If, however, you can get over that then everything else was amazing. John Owen-Jones was billiant and probably turned in my favourite ever Phantom performance, and Katie Hall's Christine was great too.

If you've seen other, larger Phantom productions then you maybe need to scale down your expectations a little bit and just enjoy this smaller performance.

If you've never seen this live before, you're in for a great night!

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by The Macs

We went to the Edinburgh show.Absolutely stunning performance.The talent on show is breathtaking.Just great to see.

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by margaret johnston sat mat 29/09/12

I saw Phantom 5 times when it was last at the Playhouse and loved it so was very excited to see it again . What a disappointment !We had very good seats but there were times we couldnt hear the quieter parts of Phantoms songs , and ive seen John Owen-Jones before and know how fantastic he is , Christine ruined my favourite songs and Prima Donna was weak . They should have left what worked well alone ! And why do people feel the need to bring crisps etc to munch on !!! RUDE !!

    Saturday, 29th Sep 2012 by Jacqueline

Absolutely fantastic!!!! Brought tears to my eyes and shivers all over. Amazing performance by all cast and phantom amazing. You would be daft not to go and see a first class performance . I seen this years ago with Michael Crawford and didn't think it could get better but it was!!!!!! DONT MISS IT

    Thursday, 27th Sep 2012 by Steve Pascoe

Simply stunning. The sets, design, music and performers were just amazing. I have been lucky enough to see musicals in both the West End, and on Broadway, but this has triumphed over all of them, and the audience reaction and standing ovation at the end, just goes to show how good this production was. One minor complaint..why can't I give it 6 stars, as it truly deserved it!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 6)