The War Of The Worlds Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road

Seating Plan


The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 28th April 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 30th April 2016
Age Restriction: Recommended age of 8 years or older
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 22 review(s)


Latest Review: "Jeff Wayne and the orchestra were brilliant if a little too loud, but very disappointed with the ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 25th Apr 2016 by Lorraine

Jeff Wayne and the orchestra were brilliant if a little too loud, but very disappointed with the rest of the show. Was so excited when I got tickets especially as my hero Jimmy nail was in it, but the signing quality was very poor and did no justice to his wonderful voice. The story line was non existent and just a repeat of people walking on and off the stage. As for the choriography it just consisted of rolling about on the stage. It is such a pity because a bit more thought this could have been o wonderful show

    Saturday, 23rd Apr 2016 by Sharon H

I loved the show .Great music . Great cast . Orchestra amazing .special effects very good . Great enthusiasm evident .

Every minute of it was superb ! Loved the metal alien spacecraft !

And David Essex waved to me ! -what more could I ask for?!!

    Friday, 1st Apr 2016 by Jo

brilliant show, loved every minute. if you love the music you will love the show. great light show too.

    Wednesday, 30th Mar 2016 by Phil Knight

First saw this show in February and the sound mix was aurfull I contacted the show to tell them my thoughts and was told it was still in preview in February, even though was not told this when booked. To be fair to them they sent us three free tickets to see it again when it opened fully (March). We have just returned and the show is so much better. As well as sorting out the sound mix they have changed many parts of the show adding new parts. If you saw this show in February it is worth seeing it now it is fully open.

    Sunday, 6th Mar 2016 by Phil

Ignore the bad reviews. If you loved the album, you will love this. Jeff Wayne still full of energy and enthusiasm. The music was great, choreography and direction was very impressive. I saw a Saturday matinee it was brilliant

    Wednesday, 2nd Mar 2016 by Andrew

Jeff Wayne wrote a great score and one good song (Forever Autumn) and to live on that for 20 years is a good job. But it then makes the show rather limited. You never connect with the characters as they are never really on stage long enough or have emotional songs. The soundtrack is good, but the live stage does not add much.


    Tuesday, 1st Mar 2016 by Dawn

Ignore the bad reviews. If you loved the album, you will love this. Jeff Wayne still full of energy and enthusiasm. The whole stage set, choreography and direction was very impressive. Odd cheesy moment that we will let go. I saw a Saturday matinee and myself and the audience gave it a standing O. If that's not proof of a good show, nothing is!

    Thursday, 25th Feb 2016 by Michael

Am a huge fan of Jeff Wayne's musical version of WOTW. But .... went last night and was massively disappointed, in fact nearly walked out. Set is brilliant, orchestra extremely good. But, sound over amplified to the point it really hurt the ears. Consequently could hardly hear the dialogue and vocals also inaudible on occasions. What a pity. Could have been great. Don't know how long this will last. Tragic really.

    Wednesday, 17th Feb 2016 by Emma Kay

The War of the Worlds was an epic delight. Being a fan of the novel and film, I was so excited to see this musical at the Dominion Theatre. It was a superb treat to see a live orchestra on stage and the cast gliding around them. The War of the Worlds was certainly alive on stage - it was a fabulous production for a sci-fi fan. With fire, the Martian and a real walking Fighting Machine, it was a brilliant watch. Loved the red weed dance, it was a great calm me down until the next blast of action. It's great to see The War of the Worlds in a brand new era and it's very haunting as some of the subject matters still ring true today!

    Monday, 15th Feb 2016 by Meanie

Saw WOTW for the first time at the matinee performance 11th Feb.I knew the music and it was great to hear it live. Have read the other reviews and yes, the actors were drowned out a little by the music but nothing spoiled the performance for me and I could have sat through it all again if I'd been able to. Bonus to think Jeff Wayne was the conductor. Giggled at the Martian war machine; it was so sweet. For me it was a brilliant birthday present.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 6)