The Wizard Of Oz Reviews - London Palladium

Post Review
Venue Information
London Palladium

London Palladium
8 Argyll Street

Seating Plan


(2mins) Exit 8 from the tube goes out onto Argyll Street (opposite the large Topshop). The theatre is 100 metres down the road.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 7th February 2011
Booking Until: Sunday, 2nd September 2012
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday at 2:30pm, Sunday at 3pm
Evenings: Tuesday at 7pm, Wednesday to Saturday 7:30pm. From the 21st February Tuesday performances start at 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 45 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over. Contains occasional distressing scenes for very young children.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 36 review(s)


Latest Review: "Spectacular special effects, especially when the Tornado hit. Well done to the production team an..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 11th Jul 2011 by Trish

All my family came to London at Easter to see the show, it was absolutely amazing, I have never seen anything as brilliant before. Well Done Danielle you are doing an amazing job x.


    Thursday, 7th Jul 2011 by Stephanie Wendy Lee

I went to see this show as a birthday treat to myself on Thursday 16th June.

I have been a huge fan of the Wizard Of Oz since the first time I saw the film as a child and it has been my life since, my home is full of every kind of collectables including original autographs so the show had a lot to live up to.

I had a seat right at the front and went dressed fully as Dorothy, including Toto in his basket and seven inch heeled Ruby Red Slippers, (much to the amazement of onlookers as I walked to the show). I took my seat and waited in anticipation.

From the onset the show looked and sounded amazing and it just got better as things went on. The sets are incredible, moving houses, roads, etc but the Wizard's castle and the Wicked Witches castle are awesome. The songs are first class and the new ones are excellent. The cast are incredible, Danielle is a perfect Dorothy and Michael Crawford is a wondeful Wizard. I loved the cowardly lion but the best by far is the Wicked Witch who totaly hams it up and in my opinion steals the show.

There were many unforgettable moments in the show like the twister and the Wicked Witch floating above the audience but the whole package is faultless.

I was lucky enough to meet Danielle Hope and Michael Crawford after the show for photos and autographs and went home on cloud nine.

A huge thank you to everyone involved with this production from Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber, the cast, musicians etc right down to all the staff who were super polite and friendly.

I will remember this night forever.

Miss this show at your peril.

    Sunday, 26th Jun 2011 by Lynda Dean

I took my son for his 9th birthday he was so excited, we travelled up from Liverpool by coach.. The show was amazing Danielle’s voice was unbelievable and it was so funny and magical.. My sons still dancing round singing the songs yet he was a bit disappointed as id paid for tickets in upper circle rows c1 c2 c3 and it didn’t note on the tickets there was a restricted view and you couldn’t see the end of the stage! Yet it was still enjoyable would recommend it to any age!

    Thursday, 23rd Jun 2011 by Vicky Johnson

Absolutely fantastic!!! I watched the show with my 4yr old daughter and she was enthralled from beginning to end! She thought the Wicked witch was after her as she was dressed up as Dorothy!! I thought Danielle Hope was great as Dorothy,Michael Crawford was a very powerful wizard and the rest of the cast fullfilled their roles with expertise. A fantastic show,thank you!

    Monday, 25th Apr 2011 by sally chitolie

Went to see the wizard of oz on Easter Sunday it was a brilliant performance. The scenery and costumes were fantastic. The scarecrow was very funny, toto the dog was really cute, the witch was very good. everybody was really good cant wait to go again highly recommend.

    Tuesday, 15th Mar 2011 by Boxoffice Review

London’s Palladium is filled with Technicolor as we join Dorothy, her little dog Toto and new friends The Scarecrow, Lion and Tin Man as they “ follow the yellow brick road” to obtain their hearts desires.  Developed from the MGM screenplay the much loved tale of Dorothy’s adventure in Oz is brought to life once more in Andrew Lloyd Webber’s new production. London’s latest treat for all the family is an efficient production, if it only had a heart.

L Frank Baum’s classic story of the Land of Oz tells the story of bored Kansas girl Dorothy who longs for a land “Somewhere over the Rainbow”. Her dreams of adventure come true when she and her dog Toto are literally carried away, house and all, by a tornado. Upon landing Dorothy finds herself in a strange and wonderful place, Munchkinland, and with the falling house having killed the ruler of the Munchkins, the Wicked Witch of the East, Dorothy is proclaimed a hero.

Here she also meets Glinda (Emily Tierney), the good witch, who explains that in order to get home she much travel to The Emerald City where she will find The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. And so her journey along the yellow brick road begins. She is helped along the way by three new friends; the brainless Scarecrow (Paul Keating), the cowardly Lion (David Ganly) and a Tin Man with no heart (Edward Baker-Duly). Their journey is not a smooth one as they face an ongoing struggle with the Wicked Witch of The West and her flying monkeys who will stop at nothing to hinder their quest for the wizard.

Few could have missed Andrew Lloyd Webber’s televised audition process to find a Dorothy. Made famous by Judy Garland who played the Kansas girl in the 1939 MGM movie, reprising the role was never going to be an easy task. Danielle Hope brings an unaffected quality to the part, indeed her rendition of Somewhere over the Rainbow is delightfully simple and show’s maturity beyond her years and her performance can only develop as her experience grows. Michael Crawford is an all round crowd pleaser as both the Wizard and Professor Marvel and I defy anyone not to love Toto, the adorable white Westie.  For me however, it is Hannah Waddingham’s green faced Wicked Witch, complete with flame throwing broom stick who steals the show.  Her rendition of Red Shoes Blues, one of Webber’s added numbers, is a highlight and features an enthralling dance routine by her “Winkies”, with choreography by Arlene Philips.

Praise must be given to Robert Jones’s impressive sets. The opening bleak landscape of a Kansas farm in sepia contrasts well with the brash colours of Oz and an Emerald City with some serious bling. The new songs by Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice do pad out Arlen’s score and the 20 piece live band bring them to life expertly.

The Wizard of Oz is visually impressive and there is enough going on onstage to distract from the flaws in the narrative. There are also moments of real spectacle which go some way to disguising the fact that beneath all the sparkle and shine it’s ever so slightly soulless. Despite this, a whole new generation of young one’s will love this enchanting story and the whole family will leave the theatre clicking their heals together and humming the familiar tunes of the Wonderful Land of Oz.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 9)