Thriller Live Reviews - Lyric Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
29 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 7ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 25th May 2017
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st April 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8 and over.
Important Info: Contains constant use of flashing LED screen and some strobe lighting.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Sun: 3.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 110 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Disappointing. Not Broadway quality at all. Dancers were not in sync with each other, poor quali..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 9th Sep 2015 by Charlotte

I am astonished at the good reviews. This was awful. A second rate tribute band. This isn't theatre; it's a sort of show which doesn't have an ambition or a storyline or anything to explain why you just get a series of Jackson hits, but not very well done. A few of the dancers were fantastic. Most of the many MJ singers (why so many? Why a female?) cannot dance. None of the good dancers can sing.far worse, the cast tried to milk the audience by cajoling them into whoops and a pathetic dance move. Excruciatingly embarrassing. We left in the interval. Went to a great cocktail bar and had a brilliant second half of the evening.

    Sunday, 23rd Aug 2015 by John

I went with my wife and 2 adult children last night to see this absolutely astonishing and awesome show.all of us (kids included being 34 and 31) thought it 11/10 - the singers all brilliant especially the female. the dancing and music just awesome - we wanted it to carry on - where the cast get their energy from beggars belief - this show is must - I have seen it x2 my wife x 3 and daughter x 2 - we will be going again!!

    Monday, 10th Aug 2015 by thrilled-to-bits

On Saturday 8th August went to see the show. BRILLIANT, FANTASTIC, FABULOUS, STUPENDOUS, Thriller Show, could go on for ever, still buzzing. It was so good I felt really emotional, all the singers ,dancers, musicians, and everyone concerned gave it there all. Second row back in the stalls ,felt part of the show. Sore throat from singing and shouting, sore hands from clapping. Happy Days

    Saturday, 1st Aug 2015 by Tracey White

well what can I say fantastic cast and great choreography sang all the way through if you are an MJ fan definitely worth seeing xx

    Monday, 20th Jul 2015 by Deb

I was lucky enough to see MJ at Wembley in his heyday and was an avid 80s fan, maybe my expectations were a little high, he was a master, his music and dance moves iconic, is there really going to be a small theatre dance troup who can replicate that? No is the simple answer!

From the very first off key note to the embarrassing shouty female singer.. Female singer???? Why ? I asked myself several times and can only sumise that as an ex artist, she is the only celebrity they could afford.

This is an overpriced poor in places tribute act. A self congratulating,poor mans interpretation.. In a word.. Sad!

And if you are in the balcony, although you have an amazing view of the entire cast and set, when they get everyone standing, you can only see the ceiling and if the cast use the elevated bridge, you can only see feet.. It didn't detract from a mediocre show.

    Wednesday, 15th Jul 2015 by Fran James

I would watch this every night of the week. I have rarely witnessed a show that had me on my feet for the whole performance. No show is perfect. What makes it so memorable is that any flaw adds to the experience. The effort put into "Thriller Live" wipes away these so called flaws and I was standing to give an ovation after 20 minutes and I'm 58. (And a bloke). If I didn't live 150 miles from London I would be buying tickets 'till the bailiffs turned up. Absolutely fantastic. Lyric Theatre 1 July 2015

    Thursday, 9th Jul 2015 by joan

I went to see this show Evening Show Fri 7th Nov 2014, was the best show ive seen in West End and seen a lot of them was brilliant, from young MIchael to Old Michael all the Dancers gave 110%

Would advise you to go and have enjoyable night im Mature Lady if i enjoyed it anybody would but I was Michael Jackson Fan Loved his Music

    Sunday, 24th May 2015 by J & R Rochester

Saw the show on Friday 22nd May 2015 , fantastic show , all the cast were great . Cleopatra awesome !!!

    Monday, 18th May 2015 by LesleyA

Absolutely brilliant. Loved it all. Only downside was it finished too soon. Dancing was outstandingly good. Michael was represented by fabulous singers - it was a sheer delight. My face is still aching from smiling nearly all the way through it. Wow! Saw the matinee 16 May.

    Sunday, 3rd May 2015 by Chris

Saw this matinee show today and was very disappointed. The female singer was the only bright spot in an otherwise poor parody of MJ. The dancers didn't appear to want to be there and the singers were sadly lacking.

I can now understand why they're peddling these tickets along with a meal at planet Hollywood for £40. It's the only way to fill the place.

Don't look for a storyline, there isn't one. Dont look for a good male singer there isn't one. Don't expect tight and invigorating dance routines, they aren't.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 6)