Thriller Live Reviews - Lyric Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
29 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 7ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 27th September 2016
Booking Until: Sunday, 23rd April 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8 and over.
Important Info: Contains constant use of flashing LED screen and some strobe lighting.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Sun: 3.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 103 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "The show was fantastic , my girls aged 8 & 9 loved it , we went on the hottest day of the year , ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 24th May 2015 by J & R Rochester

Saw the show on Friday 22nd May 2015 , fantastic show , all the cast were great . Cleopatra awesome !!!

    Monday, 18th May 2015 by LesleyA

Absolutely brilliant. Loved it all. Only downside was it finished too soon. Dancing was outstandingly good. Michael was represented by fabulous singers - it was a sheer delight. My face is still aching from smiling nearly all the way through it. Wow! Saw the matinee 16 May.

    Sunday, 3rd May 2015 by Chris

Saw this matinee show today and was very disappointed. The female singer was the only bright spot in an otherwise poor parody of MJ. The dancers didn't appear to want to be there and the singers were sadly lacking.

I can now understand why they're peddling these tickets along with a meal at planet Hollywood for £40. It's the only way to fill the place.

Don't look for a storyline, there isn't one. Dont look for a good male singer there isn't one. Don't expect tight and invigorating dance routines, they aren't.

    Thursday, 23rd Apr 2015 by Marty

Very good show this is the only place you will see billie Jean performed with all those special dance moves . I give it the wow factor .

    Sunday, 1st Mar 2015 by Elaine

Don't understand the bad reviews. Went to see the show in London 28th February 2015. Was a wow, Singers were fantastic, The dancers brilliant . Very energetic!!!! Afternoon soon flew by. Well worth seeing if you are a Michael Jackson fan, good for all ages. Still buzzing the next day....Magical.

    Friday, 9th Jan 2015 by Mr Mrs D Phillips

Brilliant show well worth seeing. Everything about it was spot on, marvellous tribute to an amazing artist.

    Friday, 14th Nov 2014 by Welly

Slow start but great finish. Amazing energy throughout. Fantastic band who were hidden away for most of the show which was a shame. Major crit was sound balance , couldn't here singers or the words to the songs. Worth it if you are a M J fan.

    Monday, 10th Nov 2014 by juju12345

WOW!!! What a fabulous show! The MJ's were brilliant singers, so full of energy and enthusiasm and the main MJ himself, what a mover!!! Excellent!! Not forgetting the backing dancers ... out of this world!!! Well done to all of you, we had an absolutely wonderful time and participating at the end made it even better! Great fun all round .... thank you so much, we want to watch again!!!! :) :) :) (Don't take any notice of the negative reviews, this IS THE BEST SHOW i've ever been to 10/10 in our opinion!)

    Saturday, 1st Nov 2014 by GreyMusicLover

I am baffled by the mostly glowing reviews with this show. I wasn't expecting a 'plot', but I was expecting high quality renditions of the music and dance of Michael Jackson, and with a couple of exceptions it fell woefully short.

It starts with some early Jackson 5: ABC, I Want You Back, and I'll Be There. Unfortunately the kid playing MJ can't sing or dance. Surely there must be more talented performers available.

There follows a series of versions of J5, and then MJ songs performed by a variety of artists, including a female singer and a white guy with long hair who looks like he has wandered in from a Bon Jovi tribute. It is like 'Michael Jackson Night on X Factor' and about the same standard.

There are soon good points: the live band (invisible behind a screen for the most part' is excellent, and the guy in the White suit can certainly do the MJ signature moves, though he only mines the songs.

And the version of 'Thriller', saved until almost last is superb. Had the whole show been to that standard, I would have had no complaints.

The rest of the audience did, inexplicably, seem to be enjoying it, and I wanted to like the show too, but was bored and disappointed for at least 80% of it.

    Wednesday, 29th Oct 2014 by kahboy

No idea why there are bad reviews about this show.

We just saw it in Edinburgh and it was tremendous. So many brilliant songs , dancing was wonderful and the night flew by.

The different singers were all very talented and the dancers were full of enthusiasm and skill.

My fav's were "they dont care about us" & "thriller"

Would recommend to anybody who loves MJ or a wee boogie or both!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 5)