Thriller Live Reviews - Lyric Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
29 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 7ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 10th January 2017
Booking Until: Sunday, 1st October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8 and over.
Important Info: Contains constant use of flashing LED screen and some strobe lighting.
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Sun: 3.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 106 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Being a massive MJ fan, this show was an Absolute waste of money and a complete insult to the leg..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 10th Nov 2014 by juju12345

WOW!!! What a fabulous show! The MJ's were brilliant singers, so full of energy and enthusiasm and the main MJ himself, what a mover!!! Excellent!! Not forgetting the backing dancers ... out of this world!!! Well done to all of you, we had an absolutely wonderful time and participating at the end made it even better! Great fun all round .... thank you so much, we want to watch again!!!! :) :) :) (Don't take any notice of the negative reviews, this IS THE BEST SHOW i've ever been to 10/10 in our opinion!)

    Saturday, 1st Nov 2014 by GreyMusicLover

I am baffled by the mostly glowing reviews with this show. I wasn't expecting a 'plot', but I was expecting high quality renditions of the music and dance of Michael Jackson, and with a couple of exceptions it fell woefully short.

It starts with some early Jackson 5: ABC, I Want You Back, and I'll Be There. Unfortunately the kid playing MJ can't sing or dance. Surely there must be more talented performers available.

There follows a series of versions of J5, and then MJ songs performed by a variety of artists, including a female singer and a white guy with long hair who looks like he has wandered in from a Bon Jovi tribute. It is like 'Michael Jackson Night on X Factor' and about the same standard.

There are soon good points: the live band (invisible behind a screen for the most part' is excellent, and the guy in the White suit can certainly do the MJ signature moves, though he only mines the songs.

And the version of 'Thriller', saved until almost last is superb. Had the whole show been to that standard, I would have had no complaints.

The rest of the audience did, inexplicably, seem to be enjoying it, and I wanted to like the show too, but was bored and disappointed for at least 80% of it.

    Wednesday, 29th Oct 2014 by kahboy

No idea why there are bad reviews about this show.

We just saw it in Edinburgh and it was tremendous. So many brilliant songs , dancing was wonderful and the night flew by.

The different singers were all very talented and the dancers were full of enthusiasm and skill.

My fav's were "they dont care about us" & "thriller"

Would recommend to anybody who loves MJ or a wee boogie or both!!

    Monday, 20th Oct 2014 by Claremont

I'm a lifelong Michael fan ,was born the same year ax him .ive seen thriller Sunday 19th October 2014 loved every moment of th e show .i have seen loads of shows on west end this show should be on a bigger stage it's fantastic .wonderful dance routines ,Amazing singers. A show for all ages new and lifelong fans will love this show .50 of us in my party everyone loved it

    Sunday, 12th Oct 2014 by Xavier

Saw the show last night. Absolutely amazing! I didn't know what to expect but the whole thing just blew my mind. Fantastic vocals and I mean incredible! And fabulous dancers. It is a must- see show. If you don't feel sky high after this show there is something wrong with you! Lol btw you don't have to be a hardcore MJ fan at all to see this show!

    Thursday, 25th Sep 2014 by D Hammond

We are both in our 60's & whether you are an ardent fan of Jackson's music or not this show just pulsates from start to finish.The dancing was superb, the singing excellent particularly the lead lady & the band magnificent. A wonderful epitaph to the wonderful genius "MJ" The cast worked so hard & deserve so much credit for what can only be described as a truly magical performance. Thank you

    Tuesday, 23rd Sep 2014 by Debbie Bryan

Loved every second of this vibrant and brilliant show. The dancers were incredible with such enduring energy and enthusiasm. The singers were amazing and the Michael Jackson look-a-likes were like watching the real thing. I was transported back to the wonderful world of the Jackson 5 and reminded of the utter genius of the man himself. Go see it and have a ball!!

    Tuesday, 26th Aug 2014 by Alison

Saw the 4pm show on Saturday 23rd August. Had read a mixture of good and not so good reviews so didn't know what to expect. Thought it was very good: the singers and dancers were all great and put on a real 'hi energy' show. We enjoyed the show a lot.

    Sunday, 24th Aug 2014 by DGH

I'm a 63 yr old man, went to see Thriller Live with my Wife and 2 Grandsons....it was GREAT and we will go again.......

    Sunday, 10th Aug 2014 by Lynne Berridge

I saw this show last year week before Christmas with my son when I visited him. Excellent show & could not stop jigging around in my seat. Only wished they sang BEN..

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 6)