Top Hat Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych
London
London
WC2B 4DF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 19th April 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 26th October 2013
Matinees: Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 50 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over. Under 4s will not be admitted.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 46 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Best show I have seen in years. Have seen it twice, booked for friends coming over from America, ..."

ReviewsSort by
    Tuesday, 19th Nov 2013 by Sheila Rutherford

Best show I have seen in years. Have seen it twice, booked for friends coming over from America, they were spellbound. Booked for my sons and their wives. Will be booking more tickets for my sister.

    Monday, 21st Oct 2013 by ebamford

We saw it early this year and it was magic,danced all the way to the Savoy.That is why we wish to see it again.

    Saturday, 12th Oct 2013 by Romeo

Since my seat was A20 Premium Dress Circle, I had good view of the spectacle. I thoroughly enjoyed myself - live Irving Berlin music (the conductor was having a good time - it was fun watching him during the overture), singing and the dancing, of course! The sets were awesome, but the skuffed floor needed a good coat of paint or something. And, unfortunately, one of the chorus boys (he was the Italian tenor in the second act) broke the fourth wall many times in the 2nd act. He kept on looking up to check who might have been his friend(s) in box stage right. Too bad, since he spoiled it slightly for me. He should know better! Being involved in theatre myself, I know how important it is not to break the fourth wall. It keeps the audience in a state of disbelief and what he did was unforgiveable! Anyhoo, I found him to be a good dancer, so I forgave him for what he did. The man-servant and the Italian coutourier were a HOOT!

    Friday, 11th Oct 2013 by Di Williamson

What a fabulous show and a wonderful evening. My husband and I were visiting from Australia and only had time to see one show whilst in London and chose this one - and what an inspired choice it was. The dancing was superb, the costumes gorgeous, the sets excellent and the whole evening was a delight which we wanted to go on and on. Fred and Ginger would be smiling and thinking their film was in good hands (feet) I think!

    Wednesday, 9th Oct 2013 by Sue Crisp

Wonderful feel good show. Superb dancing, singing and acting.

What a bunch of talented people. Only one downside and that is regarding the theatre - the stalls did not have very good tiered seating I and sat behind a tall lady who oblitered my view of the centre of the stage.

    Wednesday, 18th Sep 2013 by Annette

A friend and I went to see the show on Tues 17th September and loved every second of it. The whole cast were wonderful but Gavin Lee was absolutely sensational, I could not take my eyes off him. His fabulous voice and he made the dancing look so easy, perfect for the role. If you want a brilliant nights entertainment, this is a must see.

    Monday, 16th Sep 2013 by Joyce

Saw this on 14th September 2013 as a treat for my retirement. It may have been pouring with rain outside but the atmosphere inside was full sun. Great sets, great costumes and amazing dancing. What a feel good show this is. I would highly recommend it as a show not to be missed. Exceeded all expectations. Could have sat through it time and time again. Well done!!!

    Friday, 26th Jul 2013 by Klara

Great show. I saw 3 shows last week (Rock of Ages, Jersey boys and Top Hat). This show had by far the best performance. I saw the matinee show on the 18th of July. From the moment the curtain went up on the first song, I loved it. Great actors, beautiful songs/dances, dresses and sets and it was also funny. I left the theatre smiling. Also the theatre has air conditioning and I got an upgrade.

    Tuesday, 25th Jun 2013 by kate

This is a simply stunning show! So energetic and exciting! the cast the singing, dancing, sets humour and of course the music were just absolutely fantastic! We didn't want it to end!

Your MAD if you don't catch this!

    Sunday, 16th Jun 2013 by Yvonne

Went to the matinee performance, just terrific from start to finish, superb dancing and singing with a little comedy added. If you felt low going in you certainly would be feeling very uplifted coming out. Would recommend this to all the family, great, great great !!!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 1)