Top Hat Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych

Seating Plan


(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 19th April 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 26th October 2013
Matinees: Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 50 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over. Under 4s will not be admitted.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 46 review(s)


Latest Review: "Best show I have seen in years. Have seen it twice, booked for friends coming over from America, ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 31st Jan 2013 by sharon

Went for my birthday just before Christmas and what a show. Brilliant Tom Chambers was born for the part. Congratulations to all involved in the production.

    Saturday, 19th Jan 2013 by maureen

An Absolutely fantastic show. Everything first class Thank you so much for a truly wonderful evening.

    Friday, 18th Jan 2013 by Wendy Gower

Top Hat is a fantastic show The dance routines are superbly Choreographed.I had a smile on my face throughout the show and did not want it to end.I will be going again.A real feelgood experience

    Saturday, 12th Jan 2013 by george mcallister

A wonderful evening .So enjoyable to see, and hear top class dancing, singing and to come away feeling amazed at the performances by all the cast. We then travelled home to Scotland, with all the memories of a great evening,and a spring in our steps,having put "all our eggs into one basket".

    Saturday, 15th Dec 2012 by Harriet Crawford

Simply wonderful. The best show on in London at the moment. Tom Chambers not only pays a beautiful homage to Astaire he also brings his own magic to the part.

    Sunday, 4th Nov 2012 by Alison Jones

Saw it last night, got £25 tickets and got moved to £45 at no extra cost! Likewise with previous feedback it was good but NOT that good. Sorry Tom this is not for you, singing at times out of tune and not the best dancer for a lead role. Summer Strallen we could not fault, beautiful, graceful dancer and lovely singing voice. I would say go, but I would not pay the full price, last minute is best. The rest of the audience enjoyed it (mainly silver surfers- no offence!). Also great coffee shop on left of theatre(when facing it). Have fun!

    Friday, 5th Oct 2012 by Colleen Mellors

We were lucky to get seats in the middle third row and catch the facial expressions on the hugely talented actors.

The beautifully ingenious sets, gorgeous costumes, sublime music and practically Shakespearean plot transported me back to the 30's. 'Top Hat' is a fantastic introduction of a selection of Irving Berlin's wonderful songs to a new generation of audiences and a superb reunion for long term admirers. I love the energy and pure magic of live theatre, so much better than film, in my humble opinion.

I highly recommend 'Top Hat' to any one who likes music and dancing. I'm plotting to go again. Can't wait.

    Sunday, 2nd Sep 2012 by Melissa

Not sure what all the fuss is about, only 1decent tap dance routine in whole show, which was in the first half. I expected there to be a lot more tap dancing , and perhaps a grand finale' at the end. Lots of very cheesy humour, with stereotypical roles being played, for example , the 'hot tempered' Latino and the 'mincing queen' stagehand. Seen far better.

    Tuesday, 10th Jul 2012 by Mrs D Harding

Absolutely Brilliant. Could have asked for better. came all the way down from scotland and worth the journey DH

    Friday, 6th Jul 2012 by owinn2

The show was charming, exciting, energetic and and as delightfully contrived as only a 40's story can be. Absolutely delightful. Clever sets and nice little updates to the story add and do not detract.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 7)