Top Hat Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych

Seating Plan


(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 19th April 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 26th October 2013
Matinees: Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 50 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over. Under 4s will not be admitted.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 46 review(s)


Latest Review: "Best show I have seen in years. Have seen it twice, booked for friends coming over from America, ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 19th Jun 2012 by David Riddell

I cannot understand the comments of another reviewer about Stephen Bowell (Bates - the butler). He gives a magnificent performance. Indeed, the whole cast is terrific - including Martin Ball who is exceptionally good. The music is fabulous, the costumes terrific, and the story is funny (again, can't undertsand the one bad review). This is a simply marvellous show and every time I have been (7 times) it has got a standing ovation.

    Saturday, 9th Jun 2012 by RogerL

Let me make it clear at the outset that we both enjoyed Top Hat, and were both laughing and clapping throughout.

However, although it was good it was not THAT good. Fred and Ginger, they're not. The story line is terrible, the acting is wooden at times, and the fixed smiles are too big for the stage at the Aldwych.

The first half -which is when most, if not all, of the tap dancing took place- was definitely better than the second.

The jokes were somewhat corny, but some of them were new (at least, to me) and genuinely funny. But the Charles Hawtree lookalike butler was embarrassingly terrible: I felt sorry for the actor who had to play the role.

Actually, an enjoyable evening; but I wouldn't go again -and I wouldn't have paid £80 per seat had I known.

    Wednesday, 9th May 2012 by Diane Turner

Saw Top Hat for the first time last night (I'm sure it won't be the last). It was WONDERFUL!!! It had a real feel-good factor, everyone was on their feet, the cast are also wonderful, there are beautiful songs, great dancing, lots of fun and laughter, it stayed true to the original story and best of all the performers are all absolutely top-class. A special mention must go to Ricardo Afonso who, as usual, put in a truly great performance. Well done to everyone - I LOVED IT!!!!!

    Sunday, 6th May 2012 by Jodo

This show is wonderful, the music dancing and dresses, I could watch it over and over again.

    Saturday, 5th May 2012 by Sarah

I saw the show on Thursday 26th April and absolutely loved it!! so much so I saw it again Thursday 4th May when in London with my husband. Loved it even more the second time and can't wait to see it again sometime. One of the best ever shows with such a feel good factor. I am constantlly humming all the tunes. Well done to all the cast -they're all superb.

    Friday, 4th May 2012 by Susan

We bought our tickets online in Texas based on the reviews we've read. Knowing we love the old Fred Astaire movies and all of the musical numbers I was hoping for a great evening of musical theatre tonight at The Aldwych. We were not disappointed! What a treat! Beautiful costuming, choreography, music, and dancing. The actors were right on! I wish all of you great success and hope to see it again in the states on tour!

    Friday, 4th May 2012 by Marlene Davie

I went to one of the previews The Show was fabulouse The scenery, cast & dancing was all first class , & Summer Stallen 's high kicks were amazing Tom Chambers gave a very good performance his tap dancing superb ,If he could just improve his posture, he would be perfect . The comic scenes were very good with great timing .

It is a shame that the Seat are so uncomfortable & that the raking of the Stalls is so bad . This Show deserves a better theatre I was recently at the Novello Theatre in the Stalls which were much better Seats

    Friday, 4th May 2012 by Tessa Spencer

Fabulous show - we were fans of Tom Chambers when he did strictly but he has completely amazed us with how he has improved his dance capabilities. A great show, with great dance scenes, great fun and all round good entertainment. One of the best shows we have seen in London. Go see it.

    Sunday, 29th Apr 2012 by caroline chadwick

Saturday 28 April, 2012 at The Aldwych

I went with my daughter for her birthday treat, and we both absolutely loved the show. The first half was brilliant with all the tap dancing routines and the second half was pure comedy. Thought the scenery, scene changes, songs, cast all brilliant. The only minus was that I had a neck ache from leaning over as the man in front of me blocked my view, what a shame, maybe I should have booked dress circle seats as I thought £55 per seat plus booking charges would have meant that I could have seen the whole show.

    Saturday, 28th Apr 2012 by PJ

Great dance routines, fabulous performances by Tom Chambers and Summer Strallen. A great night out!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 4)