Top Hat Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych

Seating Plan


(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 19th April 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 26th October 2013
Matinees: Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Saturday 7.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 50 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over. Under 4s will not be admitted.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 46 review(s)


Latest Review: "Best show I have seen in years. Have seen it twice, booked for friends coming over from America, ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 26th Apr 2012 by maddy jay

As a tap dancer and a fan of Fred Astaire, I couldn't wait to see this new musical with tap dancing in it and booked for the very first matinee. I am sure it deserves 5 stars because there was a standing ovation at the end. However not only are the seats uncomfortable in this beautiful old theatre but the rows are neither staggered or very steeply raked in the stalls. Consequently, although quite tall and in the centre of row P, I had a very broad woman in front of me who leant to one side blocking my view because of a tall woman in front of her and hearing quiet complaints about being unable to see from people behind, I sat still and saw nothing apart from the shadow dancer in the apartment and one male chorus dancer far stage right in the Top Hat number first act finale. It is very frustrating to pay a lot of money for tickets these days and see nothing. Fortunately my friend agreed to swop seats for the second half and I then had some idea how good the show must be. Sadly, virtually no tap in the second act, but the costumes and Summer Strallen's dancing was lovely.

Now I have the dilemma of whether I should spend nearly all a week's pension on a train fare and ticket to see the first half, when ones view could be blocked again?

    Tuesday, 24th Apr 2012 by Marilyn Fox

Well, Tom Chambers, you amazed me! You are an actor - not a trained dancer and yet you absolutely 'nailed it' tonight!! What a brilliant performance. In fact the whole cast were pretty awesome. Bet it was fun rehearsing - I can imagine the tangles that ensued. Well done all of you, and thank you for a wonderful evening's entertainment!

    Saturday, 21st Apr 2012 by Teresa Ahern

What a funny well acted and danced event. Tom Chambers was wonderful as was the rest of the cast and Bates certainly needs a mention.

I am disabled and i found the seats very uncomfortable But the show lifted my spirits and stopped me walking out early

    Thursday, 12th Apr 2012 by Hilary Payton

This is a fabulous, sumptuous, glorious show. We left the theatre at Norwich feeling happy and uplifted because of the great music and fantastic dancing. Yes, even my husband, who is no lover of musicals, enjoyed it.

    Wednesday, 11th Apr 2012 by Gail

The best show i have seen. The cast, Costumes, Scenery and Music all fantastic. didn't expect it to be so funny. I saw it at Bristol on 31st March.

    Friday, 25th Nov 2011 by ron brown

Absolutely Brilliant!

Recently viewed at the Edinburgh Playhouse - a polished performance from the whole cast, superb scenery, slick scene changes. It was a delight from start to finish.

The music is classic, & the cast injected so much humour into the dialogue.

I travelled to Scotland for this 'theatre break' & would recommend the show to everyone.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 6)