Viva Forever! Reviews - Piccadilly Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Piccadilly Theatre

Piccadilly Theatre
16 Denman Street

Seating Plan


(2mins) Pass the famous illuminated signs on your right to take Glasshouse Street/Sherwood Street where the theatre can be seen.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 27th November 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th June 2013
Matinees: Friday 5pm and Saturday 3pm
Evenings: Monday to Thursday and Saturday 7:30pm, Friday 8:30pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.9 out of 5 stars based on 67 review(s)


Latest Review: "This was really cheesy and unrealistic. I am 13 years old and I normally enjoy watching shows and..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 24th Mar 2013 by GrannyJac

Arrived at the theatre with mixed feelings after reading the previous reviews but I needn't have worried because the show was really good. Plenty of laughs, good singing and a very energetic cast. Yes the script is very cheesy and there were some obvious delays between the dialogue and the music starting for another "spontaneous " song but overall the show was good. The person who slated the show in an earlier review must not have been following the plot because it was very clearly stated why Viva went to Spain. She went to Simone's house for mentor coaching. Keep up! I would recommend this show for any age.

    Sunday, 24th Mar 2013 by deb

very poor story line paid top price for tickets very dissapointed.

    Saturday, 9th Mar 2013 by Kerry Dee

The cast can sing and dance far better than any of the Spice Girls but quite frankly the story line was as boring as boring can be ! Rather surprising as Jennifer Saunders wrote it. None of her fantasic humour ..... Sadly extremely bland. The cast did their best with what they had to work with but I wished I stayed at home ( several people left during the interval and I overheard several people stating their disappointment at the end . Lots more songs could have been used too . Doubt it will very well long term . Very disappointing

    Monday, 4th Mar 2013 by djfunnyboi79

Huge let down.

I had a couple of drinks before the show and that saves it from me giving it a score of 1. The singing was OK, nothing special. Ironically the singing was on a level of some of the wannabes on X Factor, though I'm sure they didn't intend to give that impression. The 2 become 1 parody was good - why couldn't there have been more gags like that? The first half I agree was extremely dull. And then we fast forward and Viva is living in Spain? Did I miss something there? Huge gaps in the storyline the whole way through - it's hard to warm to any of the characters and even I didn't recognise some of the album tracks (I would consider myself a big Spice Girls fan). I've seen Mamma Mia and would say it's possibly the best musical I've ever seen. This sadly is the worst. I hope the Spice Girls get together for one last reunion tour - that would be mega. I'd advise people to wait for that before paying money to see this drivel.

    Monday, 4th Mar 2013 by Julie Ruggieri

After reading several negative reviews went along with my husband and daughter on Friday 1st march and was pleasantly surprised.we saw the spice girls live in December 1999 when Fran was aged seven so were all familiar with the songs! Just have some fun and a singalong and don't take it too seriouslyit's not Shakespeare! Some of the actors had great comedy timing and we had a great night!

    Sunday, 24th Feb 2013 by Kay

This is a fantastic feel good show! The acting is superb and carried the audience along to the end of the high energy finale. It is a modern tale of the importance of friends and family and the insincerity of instant stardom, via a well known Saturday night talent show and media manipulation. Maybe that is why it didn't get such rave reviews?

I loved it and so did my 79 year old mother neither of us Spice Girls fans, but definitely would recommend for excellent entertainment.

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by Lynn

If you go thinking this is the Spice Girl's story you will be disappointed - it's about a girl's struggle to make it in the music industry. Some really funny one-liners, and of course the Spice Girls' songs. If you liked Mama Mia you will like this too. Ignore the negative reviews, go with an open mind and enjoy a show that will make you laugh and cry. My husband wasn't the greatest fan of the group, but he went with me and came out saying that he thoroughly enjoyed it and can't believe all the negative comments.

    Sunday, 10th Feb 2013 by Josieb

Saw the show yesterday all I can say it was brilliant the cast works so hard,it made me cry, laugh and i left the theatre really uplifted and wondering why it had poor review.

    Sunday, 3rd Feb 2013 by SUE

Saw the show on saturday - FAB ! really enjoyed it, everyone works so hard, go and judge for yourself.

    Tuesday, 15th Jan 2013 by Jen

My daughter and I together with a friend and her daughter went to see this show just before Christmas and it was amazing. You could not fault the singing or the acting and with all the funny bits in between made this a memorable afternoon. We even got to meet some of the actors after who were wonderful. I would recommend going to see this show whether you are a Spice Girl or Jennifer Saunders fan or not.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 8)