Wicked Reviews - Apollo Victoria Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Apollo Victoria Theatre

Apollo Victoria Theatre
17 Wilton Road

Seating Plan


The theatre can be seen opposite the station.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 26th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 4th November 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 45 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for ages 7+, children under 4 will not be admitted. Children under 16 years of age must be accompanied by adult during the performance. 
Important Info: The producers cannot guarantee the appearance of any particular artist, which is always subject to illness and holidays. Circle row A Restricted View warning - Balcony wall (row A). It is recommended that these seats are for customers who are 5’8” (173cm) or taller but are suitable for most adults.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 119 review(s)


Latest Review: "You won't be disappointed...this is a wonderful..great show, showing you what happened before th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 18th Sep 2011 by Craig

Went to see this on 5th Septmber 2011. I knew it was going to be good from reviews that i had read prior to going, however nothing could have prepared me for the "SPECTACULAR" that is WICKED! Loved it so much that I am planning to go back again. AMAZING!!!!

    Sunday, 18th Sep 2011 by ivan bridgwood

Absolutly fantastic, I really was not looking forward to seeing the show, but was blown away by the cast, the sets, the songs highly recommended.

    Saturday, 3rd Sep 2011 by michael pratt

What a show! totally blown away by the amazing cast and score, thank you.

    Saturday, 6th Aug 2011 by Miss D

Was worried that this show wouldn't live up to the hype. Couldn't have been more wrong. Was absolutely blown away by the sheer volume of the production which managed to be spectacular without taking away from the huge talent of the actors and actresses. If you do anything in your life head to the Victoria Apollo and see the best musical of the century!

    Saturday, 6th Aug 2011 by Peter

I have seen many musicals but nothing has moved and excited me as much as 'Wicked'. I have seen it twice and cannot wait to see it again!

    Friday, 22nd Jul 2011 by Nina

Outstanding! It was my first time ever seeing a musical and I can't get over Elphaba's voice! She was absolutely breathtaking! All I want to do now is go back and see it another 1000000 times! Its definitely a MUST SEE! Elphaba and Glinda we're incredible! Rachel(Elphaba) is my idol!

    Friday, 4th Mar 2011 by Boxoffice Review

Have you ever wondered how the Wicked Witch of the West got her name and what was going on in the “Merry Old Land of Oz” before Dorothy and her little dog showed up? Wicked the Musical is a show which flips L.Frank Baum’s classic story on its head. This fairytale with real moral issues has broken box office records around the world.

Hailed as the prequel to The Wizard of Oz and based on Gregory Maguire’s novel “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West” the show has been adapted for the stage by Winnie Holzman, her book having both wit and warmth, with songs by Stephen Schwartz.

Wicked-The Musical tells the story of an unlikely friendship between two sorcery students at Shiz University. Glinda is blond and beautiful, spoilt and shallow and as a result is the most popular girl in school. Elphaba is the friendless daughter of the Governor of Munchkin land and is immediately judged and outcast for being different; she has green skin. As initial loathing shifts to a deep bond the girls journey to Oz to meet the infamous Wizard but the truths that they discover force them to make choices the results of which will forge their futures. Throw in opposing personalities and view points and a love interest rivalry in the form of the dashing Fiyero and you have a situation that will test even the strongest friendship.  Told from the perspective of the witches, the show depicts the story of how one came to be known as good and the other as “Wicked”.

Wicked has many of the elements of magical musical theatre; an astounding set by Eugene Lee, superb imaginative costumes by Susan Hilferty and an extremely talented cast.  Universal  are among the vast list of producers credited so there is little wonder that it is a musical extravaganza with slick ensemble dance routines, stunning production values and spectacular visual affects which at times “defy gravity”. There are some truly dazzling vocal performances from the two leads and the ensemble singing is at times so powerful it comes at you like a wall of sound.

There is a lot of schmaltz and it doesn’t offer a vast amount in the way of thought provoking revelations but it is an imaginative concept which fizzes with pizzazz. Packed with spectacle and memorable characters Wicked is good old fashioned entertainment which continues to cast a spell over its audiences.

Bruce Gutherie

    Sunday, 10th Oct 2010 by Holly

Fantastic, best musical I have EVER seen. Would recommend it for all ages hilarious touching and generally magnificent!!!!

    Sunday, 19th Sep 2010 by Madison

The music was fantastic. I could not wait to buy the soundtrack on CD. I am booking to see it again. Even my dad who hates musicals wants to go again! If you have not seen it go before it finishes.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 6)