The 39 Steps Reviews - Criterion Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Criterion Theatre

Criterion Theatre
Piccadilly Circus

Seating Plan


The theatre can be seen on Piccadilly Circus next to the Eros statue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 1 hour 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Children under the age of 5 will not be admitted.
Important Info: Seats in the rear stalls priced at £25 face value and classed as 'restricted view' have a slim pillar in the sightline. You will have a clear view by leaning slightly to the left or right. Strobe Lighting and Gunshots are used in this production.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 54 review(s)


Latest Review: "This is by far the best show I have seen! All done by just 4 actors the pace never lets up! The t..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 26th Mar 2014 by ms

wasn't to keen to go but glad i did it was fantastic the acting was magnificent for four actors to play so many different parts and to remember all the line was just amazing loved it

    Friday, 3rd Jan 2014 by Natalie Black

Fast, Funny, Frantic, Fabulous.

    Wednesday, 18th Dec 2013 by lily

This is proper theatre. The acting is superb. There a only a few props but you don't notice unless you think about it. The way they are used supports the story and acting fantastically. I wondered how the story could be condensed into 100 minutes when the films are longer but it done really professionally and if you hadn't seen the film or read the book the script is easy to follow. Very funny delivery of the lines with a natural touch. This is not a paint by numbers play as the actors don't hesitate to improvise when necessary. There were a lot of young people in the audience, and its an ideal way to introduce theatre to a generation who might not think to go. Very highly recommended.

    Thursday, 28th Nov 2013 by Daniela

FANTASTIC! Very funny, I really enjoyed every single minute. The best play I have ever seen. The actors are brilliant, I have laughed so much. Very entertaining. I am definitely going to see it again. Highly recommended. Congratulations!

    Monday, 11th Nov 2013 by Joan O'Connell

Brillant. Has to be one play with best acting I have ever seen. How they changed parts so quickly was really amazing. Everyone should go to see it.

I just loved that they created all the props from so little and goes to show you don't need all that stage props to do a great show. Congrats to all the actors they were fantastic.

    Wednesday, 6th Nov 2013 by caroline

Absolutely hilarious! i thoroughly enjoyed, was amazed by the talent of seeing actors playing more than one character so brilliantly.

    Saturday, 5th Oct 2013 by Izzy

I went to see the performance as part of my AS coursework, and I am so glad that we did! The acting was fantastic- I was amazed by how few people could change into so many different characters during the performance. The script was hilarious, and the actors made the audience feel part of the show.

My favourite scene must be when there are the shadow puppets of Hanny running from the police, and Hitchcock appeared on the screen...

Overall, one of the funniest performances I've seen!

    Sunday, 29th Sep 2013 by Megan Hozier

Having not seen the original play or film, I was pleasantly surprised to be entertained to a comedy of the highest standard. The acting was superb, especially the roles played by the understudy Mark Huckett, who played so many parts flawlessly.

    Wednesday, 25th Sep 2013 by Amber

The 39 Steps was incredible I'm 15 years old and I went on a drama trip for my controlled assessment. Let me just say that this was the best play that my teachers could have picked! Every joke was on point, and make everyone in the audience laugh and have a great time. The actors were incredible and played their roles superbly! Im going to see it again next week and I cannot wait!

    Wednesday, 28th Aug 2013 by MaggieD

FABULOUSLY FUNNY! Wonderfully acted by these four actors, I was surrounded by lots of very young schoolchildren who I was praying would not interfere with my afternoon - however they were as enthrallled as I was. I would implore anyone who enjoys a good plot together with a superbly written subscript to go and see this. The subtle referrals to Hitchcock were superb. Well done everyone connected with it this fabulous production.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 8)