The 39 Steps Reviews - Criterion Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Criterion Theatre

Criterion Theatre
Piccadilly Circus

Seating Plan


The theatre can be seen on Piccadilly Circus next to the Eros statue.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 1 hour 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Children under the age of 5 will not be admitted.
Important Info: Seats in the rear stalls priced at £25 face value and classed as 'restricted view' have a slim pillar in the sightline. You will have a clear view by leaning slightly to the left or right. Strobe Lighting and Gunshots are used in this production.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 54 review(s)


Latest Review: "This is by far the best show I have seen! All done by just 4 actors the pace never lets up! The t..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 18th Mar 2013 by Josh

Amazing actors great use of props and costumes.

    Sunday, 17th Mar 2013 by Totsie

Brilliant show so pleased I booked to take Hubby, he really enjoyed it. I thought the main actor was a bit like Basil out of faulty towers. Worth every penny.

    Thursday, 24th Jan 2013 by Vikktoria

A delightful surprise, the sets were imaginative (how do they get an A4 Pacific and the Forth Bridge on stage?) the pace was comic, fast but the diction perfect. We both laughed out loud a lot. Highly recommended.

    Monday, 14th Jan 2013 by Judy

Went not expecting it to be ordinary - it was instead great fun, very well acted and well staged.

It was a joy to watch with hilarious moments, comic timing brilliantly performed- an outstanding cast- go see it!

    Tuesday, 11th Dec 2012 by AlastairG

Having gone to London for a pre-Christmas trip the first week in December, the decision to go to the 39 Steps really was a last minute decision with the tickets being bought less than an hour before curtain up. It was without doubt one of the best evening's entertainment I have ever had in London. I thought that I was past the laugh-out-loud stage but the show literally had tears rolling down my cheeks. Check out Paul Bigley's address to the Liberal Party - one of the highlights of a spectacularly good production. Clearly the second paragraph of the description of the show has to be firmly tongue in cheek and poor lulu, perhaps the comedy was too subtle in places - it really helped if you could see the various references e.g. to the shower scene in Psycho. Someone described the comedy as slapstick but personally I find slapstick humour a bit naive: this show had you thinking what was going to happen next with very little in the way of predictability. Were Edinburgh nearer London, I would happily have a return visit to the Criterion.

    Thursday, 1st Nov 2012 by Ken Warrington

Sat 27/10/12 Criterion Theatre,39 Steps,London,Just seen the best show ever, In a very good Unassuming little theatre with excellent staff and yes i have seen a lot of theatres and shows.

    Sunday, 7th Oct 2012 by Barry Graham

Totally absolutely brilliant. I am 50 and I am fairly sure that this was the most entertaining 2 hours I have had in my 50 years without publishable exception. The acting was superb. The props masterfully employed and the script excellent. We laughed and laughed some more. If you want to go out n London. Get the Wheelers meal deal with this show and you will have a great meal and a simply superb show with change of £90.

    Tuesday, 21st Aug 2012 by russell

Very funny and entertaining. Now going back for a second time tonight with a party of 9. Excellent value for money and brilliantly executed by the actors. No hesitation in recommending. Cleverly produced with simple props but it all works. A treat.

    Sunday, 15th Jul 2012 by John Riches

You need to watch the original 1935 film before you see this stage production as all the scenes in the play are derived from the film and not the original book. It was so good that I been twice. This is a masterful production of an exciting thriller set in 1915. Go and see it but 1st buy the dvd of The 39 Steps with Robert Donat.

    Sunday, 1st Jul 2012 by steve morrin

How a cast of only 4 could produce such an incredibly entertaining show with so many characters is beyond me. We have never seen a serious storyline superbly re-produced as a comedy as this one was. An absolute joy for 2 hours.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 3)