Barking In Essex Reviews - Wyndham's Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Wyndham's Theatre

Wyndham's Theatre
32-36 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0DA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen opposite the station.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 2nd January 2014
Booking Until: Friday, 3rd January 2014
Age Restriction: Suitable for over 16s only.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.3 out of 5 stars based on 72 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "My husband and I, with two friends bought tickets to see Barking in Essex last December, and were..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 27th Feb 2014 by Kay

My husband and I, with two friends bought tickets to see Barking in Essex last December, and were pleased when we went to London last week that the play is no longer showing. It was the most disgusting play we had ever seen, and the language was atrocious. The first word was c--- and from them on it went from bad to worse. We could not believe that Shelia Hancock would demean herself to act in such a production.

    Friday, 17th Jan 2014 by jim min

One would have thought that once a show had reached the prestigious London West End that quality was assured, how wrong that assumption was.

Understandably taste varies but I struggle to see how anybody could find this presentation tasteful

Very little positive to say

    Saturday, 11th Jan 2014 by Calamity

Absolutely disgusted that someone of Sheila Hancock's status should sink so low to appear in this foul mouth show deemed as a comedy. Cannot comprehend British audiences humour has sunk to gutter level. As for Lee Evans it goes with saying that he would sell his soul to the devil to get a laugh. Got up and walked out. Will pass on my comments to friends and family.

    Monday, 6th Jan 2014 by merritt

we were over from cyprus on a budget holiday and are sick to think we used our well earned money and wasted both time and money to see this terrible play. Would not recommend it to my worse enemy !

    Sunday, 5th Jan 2014 by Keith E

I understand how some members of society may find the language offensive. However I did'nt and thought it was a Great Play with a Great Cast, all of which should be proud of their performance and their association with the play. I loved it from beginning to end. Cant wait to see it again. Recommended to all my friends

    Friday, 3rd Jan 2014 by Drewtoria

Awful - we left after the first half, the seats were so uncomfortable and the production was awful. Real shame as this was booked for my birthday and was very expensive

    Tuesday, 31st Dec 2013 by GB

I agree, shame there is not a zero rating - This was absolutely the worst production I have ever seen. It was boring and puerile, I stayed to the end in the hopes it could only get better - believe me, it didn't! I feel disappointed in the ethics of the Theatre Management puttiing on such production but am totally appalled that someone of Sheila Hancocks calibre could stoop so low. Keeley Hawes, well done to disassociate yourself with this rubbish.

    Sunday, 29th Dec 2013 by Mrs Jones

The Worst play I have ever seen the language and the acting where terrible I stayed to the end to see if it would improve no such luck the money it cost me for tickets and fares was like throwing moneyi down a drain cant beleive they would put such tripe on a stage.

    Sunday, 22nd Dec 2013 by Sandy

Dreadful tedious show - no wonder Keeley Hawes 'left' absolute waste of money and not clever or funny - the use of swear words brings nothing to the delivery and is in fact totally unnecessary ! Poor Sheila Hancock 'acting' in this ! Lee Evans was the only saving grace in this pathetic and predictable farce !

    Thursday, 12th Dec 2013 by Elaine

Well What can I say, I've just checked to see if there is a 18yr rating!! NOT! there should be - I found it very offensive with the use of the 'C' word, once was enough but all the way through!!!. If I wasn't with 3 mates that didn't mind it so much but with my Mother or kids I would have walked out in protest!!. Some funny parts down to Lee but that was about it. Wish I spent our hard earned cash on The Full Monty instead. Shame as I love Lee Evens stand up shows.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 2)