Barking In Essex Reviews - Wyndham's Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Wyndham's Theatre

Wyndham's Theatre
32-36 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0DA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen opposite the station.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 2nd January 2014
Booking Until: Friday, 3rd January 2014
Age Restriction: Suitable for over 16s only.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.3 out of 5 stars based on 72 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "My husband and I, with two friends bought tickets to see Barking in Essex last December, and were..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 9th Dec 2013 by KateB

My husband took me to see this for my birthday on Saturday 7th December. What a waste of money. It is the worst thing (can't call it a comedy) we have ever seen. I can't believe that the cast accepted to be in it - they didn't look comfortable on stage and it left me cold hearing Sheila Hancock using the C word. The swearing brought nothing to the show and just made for uncomfortable viewing. Would not recommend to anyone and would give it 0 stars if I could.

    Sunday, 8th Dec 2013 by Mr A

It's like watching paint dry, little glimmers of light then you wish you had not spent the money to see the damm thing.

Would have walked out after second act but gave it a chance wish I had not wast of £70 wanted to get my money back.

please do not see this play save your money and see something else. If you like c word and f word a lot then this is for you.

As for the cast great cast but lee Evans want to stick to your stand up comedy m8

    Sunday, 8th Dec 2013 by Mick

Having read the comments here, went, very apprehensively, to see this today. Yes the swearing was strong and a bit over used. Yes some of the jokes were predictable. Yes the plot and the end were a bit weak, but both my wife and I never felt like walking out and have had a good afternoons entertainment. I wouldn't recommend it as a must see and I certainly warn anyone about the language. So with all the other negative views on here, I suppose its a good job we're not all the same.

    Sunday, 8th Dec 2013 by mo

saturday, 7th dec

FANTASTIC, loved it. just a bit of fun. going to see it again on sunday 15 dec, well done guys you were all great.

    Sunday, 8th Dec 2013 by Giuseppe

Where has people's sense of humour gone! This play is a riot. Yes, the language is strong but hey, that's how most people in the country talk you know! If you've had a sheltered upbringing then maybe you should go elsewhere. Otherwise see this while you can. Lee Evans is hysterical. I'd pay to go again.

    Friday, 6th Dec 2013 by Bella G

Over the top swearing, not very good story line, but Ms Hawes' acting convinced me to stay for duration; very disappointed though - will NOT be recommending it!

    Sunday, 1st Dec 2013 by ronnstel

Save your money for something worthwhile - I wish we had. Weak storyline, gratuitous swearing (indicating a lack of vocabulary on behalf of the playwright). Sheila Hancock must be hard up if this is the best script she can get. Lee Evans upstaged the other actors at every opportunity. Absolute rubbish, don't go.

    Sunday, 24th Nov 2013 by Mrs Penns

Shame the lowest star rating is one - as it deserves a zero. It was that bad!

Unless you enjoy laughing at the "c" and "f" words (repeatedly used to try and get cheap laughs) you should avoid at all cost.

Shelia Handcock - you should be ashamed of yourself for being in this, I always thought of you as a respectable actress - I was wrong!

    Friday, 22nd Nov 2013 by Hilary

I wish I had read the reviews before going to see this. I agree with all of the other reviews slating this play, too much bad language, poor plot and not funny. It was a last minute decision and got tickets for a box which was also a bad decision at the seats are so uncomfortable. Can't see this play lasting long.

    Thursday, 21st Nov 2013 by Brian

Very disappointing .........Great Cast ......too much swearing ......saw the jokes coming .....did not laugh once ....waste of £100 .......and time .....don't go!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 8)