Barking In Essex Reviews - Wyndham's Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Wyndham's Theatre

Wyndham's Theatre
32-36 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0DA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen opposite the station.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 2nd January 2014
Booking Until: Friday, 3rd January 2014
Age Restriction: Suitable for over 16s only.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.3 out of 5 stars based on 72 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "My husband and I, with two friends bought tickets to see Barking in Essex last December, and were..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 17th Sep 2013 by MOLLY

The cast are all excellent. Sheila Hancock, Lee Evans and

Karl Johnson. I do hope Keeley Hawes gets recognition for her role. She is totally ruthless - Lady Macbeth of Essex! (with a tan). If you are offended by bad language - don't go. If you want to see something different - and see what happens when four talented actors are put together - go along to this beautiful theatre.

    Tuesday, 17th Sep 2013 by Pete Smith

Only two words needed to describe fridays performance

" F***in Hilarious " well done all the cast my wife and i

havn't stpped laughing all weekend.

    Tuesday, 17th Sep 2013 by Poppy grant

You are all so prudish! Hilarious fun. Blue as hell but worth every penny. Keeley Hawes a total genius, as is Sheila Hancock. GO!

    Monday, 16th Sep 2013 by Stef

I thoroughly enjoyed the show. I admit the swearing does get a bit tedious after a while, and the play could probably reduce this considerably without diminishing the plot in any way. Overall however, I thought the three main actors were excellent and the script very funny. I would certainly recommend it to my friends and family.

    Sunday, 15th Sep 2013 by andy

we watched this last night 14/9/70

we love lee evans the whole cast was funny my wife and i thought it was very funny and would recommend it to friends

    Sunday, 15th Sep 2013 by Dave

We went to see this play and have had tickets booked for months as the pre-amble in the run up to its release looked good and with Lee Evans in it I thought it would be funny and good.

I was very wrong Lee should stick to what he is good at as taking roles like this in a very weakly written play is not worthy of his talents.

The level of gratuitous swearing is disgusting and I have no idea why they thought it was required.

The plot was more than weak and I will not be running back to see another play its a shame but this experience has really been bad.

I am sure there is a lot better on offer.

    Sunday, 15th Sep 2013 by simon

as i expected, the amatuer critcs are out in force pretending their oh so discerning palate has been damaged by this production, if you didnt like the swearing you should have took notice of the warning notices in the lobby and asked for your money back. get a life people,great entertainment by a great cast not taking themselves too seriously,a lesson for us all

    Sunday, 15th Sep 2013 by steve w

I think i must of being seeing a different show to everyone else,because i thought it was excellent. Funny lol moments,and good fun.

    Sunday, 15th Sep 2013 by dj

Awful. It couldnt be any worse. Even if you have tickets, you should not go. It's the worst thing ever. Ever.

    Saturday, 14th Sep 2013 by Alcymalcy

Don't like bad language, never use it but for some strange reason it works in this play. My sister and I absolutely loved it. Allthe cast were very strong and we loved Sheila Hancock . Would easily sit through this again.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)