Blithe Spirit Reviews - Gielgud Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Gielgud Theatre

Gielgud Theatre
35-37 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 2nd June 2014
Booking Until: Thursday, 5th June 2014
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 5 out of 5 stars based on 7 review(s)


Latest Review: "What a fantastic afternoon in the theatre watching blythe spirit. angela lansbury was amazing in ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 31st May 2014 by cax1

What a fantastic afternoon in the theatre watching blythe spirit. angela lansbury was amazing in the roll, so funny.

    Monday, 14th Apr 2014 by David

Absolutely fantastic matinee show on 12 April. Theatre packed and at times in hysterics laughter at a hugely funny script, that adhered in most part to the original and also the wonderful antics of AL who at 88 gave an amazing performance, respected not only with a huge round of applause when she appeared for her first scene but with a near 100% standing ovation at the end of the play. She is truly a national treasure/ An absolute must for theatre goers (if you can get a ticket!)

    Friday, 4th Apr 2014 by Mrs Goldfish

Totally brilliant. All members if the cast were fantastic and AL was wonderful. An excellent evenings entertainment. Good old Noël Coward, fantastic writing as usual.

    Thursday, 3rd Apr 2014 by ApostleTarranceAustinSr(Terry)

Excellent ! ! ! !

    Sunday, 30th Mar 2014 by Mrs Frances Stewart

Thoroughly enjoyed the show. Angela Lansbury was marvelous and great fun and I enjoyed seeing her live. The whole show would be worth watching again as I enjoyed it so much.

    Monday, 24th Mar 2014 by Jo

What a thoroughly delightful experience!

I didn't know the story of Blithe Spirit, but I had a notion that a play written by the incredible Noel Coward and starring

Dame Angela Lansbury would be the right choice for an evening to remember.

From the very first moment she stepped onto the stage, it felt like the theatre truly came alive! I don't know if that was anticipation mixed with the obvious love that the audience held for her, but I do know it was contagious and I found myself smiling at her every word and movement. She has genius comic timing and her expressions are brilliant.

I enjoyed the performances by the rest of the cast too, but I especially warmed to Ruth and the maid.

How lovely to be able to sit back, relax and be entertained without the need for looking any deeper. Bravo Blithe Spirit!

    Friday, 14th Mar 2014 by Paula

I came to see Angela in all honesty mpre than the play although I am too a fan of Noel Coward from now on because of this play which was my first

I chose not to have learned about the plot at all which made it more

interesting as I wondered what was to come .All actors were great but Angela showed that she has and had a great potential as an actress and Hollywood miss her out big time unfortunately for all of us

This was my first time ever in a theatre and I was left wanting more

So many plays and musical Iam sure to go and see.

A lovely day out and seeing Angela live was a trill after many years

of her on telly its like meeting a much loved family member who after all was in our living room often .

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 4)