Horrible Histories: Barmy Britain Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road

Seating Plan


(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 27th October 2012
Booking Until: Sunday, 6th January 2013
Matinees: Wednesday to Friday 1pm, Saturday 10.30am and 12pm, Sunday 2pm and 4pm
Running Time: 1 hour
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 19 review(s)


Latest Review: "The main positive for me in agreement with many is that the two person cast did very well with th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 29th Oct 2013 by Tony

The main positive for me in agreement with many is that the two person cast did very well with the script and set limitations all too evident. The TV version is a hard act to follow but this could have been so much better with a few more cast members for variation and at least some investment in props apart from the HH logo!! We paid almost £100 including booking fee to entertain (ish!) an 11 and 6 year old for an hour and came away feeling totally underwhelmed and wondering where the revenue went - presumably not much of it to the pair on stage!

    Friday, 27th Sep 2013 by Pauline

This show is absolutely brilliant! What fantastic actors! Well written and hilarious. To the people who said it's not like the tv show and the songs are different... Yes they are...! But if you wanted to see them, stay at home and watch it on iplayer!!!

It's different, but fabulous in it's very own way...!

    Wednesday, 18th Sep 2013 by Brian

Unfunny....poorly acted...would not recommend to anyone. Are some of the 5 star reviews on this site for real ????. Surely not !!

    Monday, 2nd Sep 2013 by Kate

We went with excitement to see Horrible Histories. What we saw were two actors and all props all on stage that looked very poor. The only thing that related to HH was the sign on the stage.

This show is nothing like the Horrible Histories you see on TV there are no original songs like “stupid death” and “king Henry VIII”.

Although the actors tried really hard it was very badly written. I wouldn't waste your money. Don't bother

    Monday, 26th Aug 2013 by Nicki Foster

Just fabulous! There were just two actors on stage who worked their socks off to bring history alive for a brilliant hour! We forget that there were just two of them as they were so good an depicted so many different characters. It was informative, colourful, and very funny. We all loved it, children and adults alike. Well done, will certainly be back for Part 2!

    Sunday, 25th Aug 2013 by John

Too many saying the kids loved it. Yes they would, a laugh a minute & in a way it was The two on stage were good & worked hard but who made all the profit??? No backing, no band/orchestra, no half way break as only one hour long!!! To be honest, the last pantomime we went to lasted twice as long, the kids loved every minute & didn't stop talking about it for hours after. That had Vanilla Ice, a big star in his day & loads of other cast members, some also reasonably well known locally. This played on the brilliant TV series which I wished had been around in my day!!! Then, over (well a long time ago) I couldn't care less about history as boring beyond belief. The TV show I watched as forced to lounging bored in hospital, got my attention, wanting to see the next programme. Not so good I'm afraid but two hard working & brilliant actors, I hope they shared the high profit made by ????

    Monday, 19th Aug 2013 by warlock

Good points: the cast worked hard, and the kids in the audience (including ours) liked the show (and that's the most important thing, right?. That's your two review points. Downsides for accompanying adults were many and I haven't listed them all. We weren't expecting the TV cast but the problems lay elsewhere - the generally limp writing, uncreative approach, poor choice of featured material, far too-long individual sketches in a very short show, and huge restrictions as to what dynamic you can generate on stage with only two actors (I will not go into detail of this as I do not want to be too negative when peoiple are only trying to do their best). We kept expecting more cast members to appear, and got very depressed when we realised this was IT. It is very unfortunate for accompanying adults that the TV production has set the bar so incredibly high - worthy winners of BAFTAs for best sketch show in ANY category &c. Really, I came away thinking that this was an amateur rip-off of the HH franchise. We know there are lijmitions as to what you can do "in front of the curtain" in a West End theatre before the main show needs to be getting ready, but casting this as a two-hander was just awful. Note I am not saying the cast were of themselves awful, far from it - but there is only so much you can do with poor (in professional WE theatre terms) material. And to those who reply that so long as the kids love it, what does it matter? - look around you. These days, grown-ups can be hugely entertained as well as the kids. After a show like this I find myself asking "where was the quality control?" So, back the the outrageously good TV show for me.

    Friday, 24th Aug 2012 by Shelley

A brilliant show. Kids were entertained throughout..a fun way to be taught of our history...should be taught like this in our schools!!!

    Monday, 23rd Jul 2012 by Nikki

A truly wonderful performance.... Yes it isn't the cast from the tv show but it is thoroughly enjoyable and just the right length.... Our 12 year old son loved it as did myself and husband....

    Sunday, 1st Jul 2012 by Ellie

Absolutely fabulous loved every minute of it and we go each year great for kids.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 6)