Horrible Histories: Barmy Britain Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 27th October 2012
Booking Until: Sunday, 6th January 2013
Matinees: Wednesday to Friday 1pm, Saturday 10.30am and 12pm, Sunday 2pm and 4pm
Running Time: 1 hour
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 19 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "The main positive for me in agreement with many is that the two person cast did very well with th..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 7th Jun 2012 by Annette

Brilliant! Enjoyed by all the family. Non stop fun and laughter and 2 fantastic actors. Those complaining need something else to moan about. The Henry the V111 song was the original on the CD's if not from the TV prgramme and if they had done their homework they would have known that the TV actors were not there!! At the end of the day it is aimed at children and all those in the theatre when we were there loved it.

    Tuesday, 1st May 2012 by Victoria

Brilliant show will even better actors. Great entertainment. Miss Reading in particular was spot on (priceless facial expressions!) for the small price of £16 you really get your monies worth! C'mon seriously for that price people complaining on here that it wasn't the actors from tv need to grow up (it's like expecting Julie Andrews to show up for every showing of Mary poppins) The kids adored the show and that's all that matters.

    Monday, 27th Feb 2012 by Jess

FANTASTIC!!

This is a proper theatre show! Both actors are incredible storytellers and had the kids in the palm of their hands. Displaying the "Horrible" side of history in the most fun way! Sure the TV cast weren't there but then we weren't expecting them. To give the show 1 star is ridiculous and shows that particular audience member doesnt really understand a true theatre show!

 

    Monday, 27th Feb 2012 by Yasmin

I second all the other reviewers in expecting to see the Horrible History TV cast. Although the show was good, it was quite short and we were expecting there to be a cast of more than 2.  The 2 actors did well but would have enjoyed seeing more cast to add to the experience.

    Sunday, 26th Feb 2012 by Sally

Great stuff, fast paced romp through history. Imaginative use of props and scene changes, my kids loved it. Yes they also enjoy the TV show, but got something different from this live take. If you just want TV celebrities then you should probably stay in front of the telly! 

    Saturday, 25th Feb 2012 by lola

Amazing!!! recommended.

    Sunday, 19th Feb 2012 by gm

If youre expecting a runthrough of the tv prog. you will be disappointed it's certaintly not that!But still good fun but only a hour long!

    Thursday, 16th Feb 2012 by J Hugh

We were a little disappointed that it was not the real TV show actors involved, but soon got over this when it all got going. Great work by the small cast!

    Tuesday, 14th Feb 2012 by Anna

I took my son to this show today having been very excited to get tickets.  I and he were extremely disapppointed to see that this was not in any shape or form like the TV series.  Two un-known actors taking us through history, they did well but when you`re expecting HH it just wasn`t.  

Also HH is meant to be educational but the actors don`t even know that people are hanged and animals hung.  I found it very difficult not to shout out `HANGED`.

They then sang the Henry V111 wives song.  Was it the right one - no, it was another version so dis-appointing.

I will be even more annoyed if any of the TV actors are at Fairfield Halls Croydon as this is 10 mins away from me but I made the effort to come to London thinking this would be a better show.

In short if you`re hoping for the TV show don`t waste your money by going the the Garrick.

The write up should also make it clear that the show does not include any of the known TV actors.

SO DISAPPOINTING!!!!

 

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 4)