Old Times Reviews - Harold Pinter Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Harold Pinter Theatre

Harold Pinter Theatre
6 Panton Street

Seating Plan


(3mins) Take Coventry Street up to Oxendon Road; the theatre is 100 metres along on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 12th January 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 6th April 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.3 out of 5 stars based on 32 review(s)


Latest Review: "The sign of a good play is that you are still discussing it well after it has finished. 24 hours ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 7th Mar 2013 by audrey

Rufus Sewell carried the play with energy and wit, living the part every moment. He is handsome and talented and generous. Any aspiring actor please see this show. The women were sometimes saying lines. Best to read the play before seeing it.

    Wednesday, 6th Mar 2013 by Kathleen King

I agree with the review - why did such quality actors agree to take these roles - it was pretentious rubbish - glad we only paid £10 for our seats in the back row stalls - we could see and hear everything. It ended so abruptly and left you wondering what was that all about.

    Friday, 1st Mar 2013 by Sue

A typically obscure play about u reliable memories and power games between men and women. We were gripped but many coughers and paper rustlers clearly weren't. I love Rickson's work but found this just a little too slow and mannered, despite the starry cast.

    Thursday, 21st Feb 2013 by Helen Cox

What a privilege to see three consumate actors doing what they do best, acting their sock off! All three gave of their best (in my eyes at least) and held the audience in the palms of their hands - not easy with a straight 80 minute performance, no interval. I arrived already in awe of the (let's be totally honest) absolutely divine Rufus Sewell, and a huge admirer of Kristin Scott Thomas. The audience were well rewarded for their ticket prices. Lia Williams was a delight and all three actors well matched. The adorable Mr Sewell even came out to sign autographs in the FREEEEZING wind, with a wonderful smile and charm to spare. Cannot recommend this play highly enough - an absolute treat

    Monday, 18th Feb 2013 by Frank Shaw

A well written plot poorly presented.

    Saturday, 16th Feb 2013 by Bishbosh

Absolutely loved it. I thought Rufus Sewell and C.S.Thomas were superb and will definitely try and see it again. Tell your friends, go and see it.

    Tuesday, 5th Feb 2013 by DT

A somewhat impenetrable but strangely brilliant play superbly acted and staged. K S-T mesmeric as the old friend and Lia William's end scene utterly compelling. Occasionally indistinct diction the only flaw. Don't miss

    Friday, 1st Feb 2013 by Kiwi

I love this production. The Actors really engage with the material and the shifts in atmosphere with certain lines are chilling, enthralling and captivating.

You can't see Pinter and come away from it immediately with a reflective response. You have to mull over the little information Pinter has purposefully delivered. If you are watching a play for the actor or actress in them, you're doing theatre wrong.

Come see this because it gets your brain cells clicking, it makes you feel uncomfortable but in a completely powerful way. I don't go to theatre to just laugh, sometimes I want to be scratching my head and to feel new things.

    Tuesday, 29th Jan 2013 by Moore Armstrong

Theatre at its very best. The concept is the work of a genius. We will go again to see the role reversals,

Worth every penny.

    Monday, 28th Jan 2013 by Destiny Jones

Fascinating -- so much so, that we may well go again, to see the women playing their alternative parts (and to delve a little deeper...).

Ah yes, I remember it well -- if you know that song, you'll get an inkling of where Pinter was coming from...

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 4)