The Audience Reviews - Apollo Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Apollo Theatre

Apollo Theatre
31 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


The Apollo Theatre is situated on Shaftesbury Avenue in the West End of London, close to Piccadilly Circus tube station.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 24th July 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 25th July 2015
Important Info: Please note Kristin Scott Thomas will NOT perform on 23 May matinee and 27 June matinee. The role of Queen Elizabeth II will be played by her understudy during those performances. 
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 11 review(s)


Latest Review: "Saw this play in London last week - brilliant dialogue and great acting by all members of the Cas..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 23rd Jul 2015 by Denise

Saw this play in London last week - brilliant dialogue and great acting by all members of the Cast - cleverly executed costume changes and Kristin Scott Thomas portrayal of Queen Elizabeth I was brilliant. A very interesting play and well worth the effort to negotiate the underground crowds from Hammersmith.

    Monday, 1st Jun 2015 by Eileen

A stunning performance from Kristen Scott Thomas. Supporting cast excellent, too. Scenery also worth going to see.

    Friday, 1st May 2015 by Sandra

Went to see 30/4/15 thought Dame Kirstin Scott Thomas portrayed HM very well, a worthy successor to Dame Helen Mirren.

Very enjoyable play humour and pathos in equal measure. I know it's only a play but did feel David Cameron taking a photo of the Qeeen asleep was disrespectful. The irony of HM conversations with Tony Blair then Anthony Eden regarding war in the Middle East, classic.

    Friday, 30th Aug 2013 by Robert Johnstone

We caught a performance in late May at the Gielgud Theatre the night before we flew home from London. It was FABULOUS! Back in Mississauga, we saw it again on the screen of a Cineplex Theatre---and LOVED it again. The move version had the advantage of close-ups. The stage version had the advantage of exposing the whole stage because very cleverly, Helen Mirren changes costumes and wigs to depict the queen in different phases of her life, right on the stage! I'm waiting to buy the DVD.

    Friday, 14th Jun 2013 by Maria Astley

This is the first time my husband and I have gone to National Theatre Live and as a novice, did not know whether it had been filmed Live then broadcast at a given date or as it was Live.

We were both taken aback by the concept, the sound fed into the cinema of the theatre goers taking up their seats, the writing both historical and fiction, perfomance of all the actors, the humour, the sensitivity, wizardry in the costume changes before our very eyes. The Audience had everything, we were blown away. Congratulations to all, Dame Helen is fabulous!

    Wednesday, 6th Mar 2013 by Elaine

Really enjoyed the play, Helen Mirren absolutely superb - and totally believable in all ages of the Queen. Cannot give a score of 5 because the sound let a lot of the show down - was very difficult to hear it all. Loved Richard McCabe as Harold Wilson.

    Wednesday, 27th Feb 2013 by Tracey Patterson

What an absolutely brilliant performance from every single member of this superb Cast & Crew!

Although we noticed one small 'hiccup' of HM's lines' it was superb, really enjoyable and we have already recommended 'The Audience' to our Chums!

Long may this production Reign !! T & P

    Friday, 22nd Feb 2013 by Maureen

Stood in the queue for return tickets last week and successfully secured one in row H in the Stalls. Well worth the wait! Dame Helen and the entire cast were extraordinary. It is surprisingly very moving in addition to being light and informative. You don't have to be a Brit to get the humor! Gives you another layer of respect for Her Majesty and the dedication she has offered The Commonwealth.

    Tuesday, 19th Feb 2013 by Coley

Helen Mirren is excellent, the rest of the cast so-so. The story is all hers, the others are bit players really and this is a bit unbalanced. Also, very difficult to hear some PMs at the performance I saw, particularly Mrs Thatcher. Also felt this PM was played very close to parody and given what they could have talked about, an article in the Sunday Times was a bit of a poor choice in terms of drama.

    Tuesday, 19th Feb 2013 by Andrew

The concept is brilliant. Helen Miirren owns the role. There is no real story as such, more the reflection of the history of the Queen with her meetings with various PMs. It is an enjoyable play, and the audience really got it. I would say though, it lacks a heart. And like candyfloss, its nice at the time, but leaves no real memory. But one of the better plays in London.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 4)