The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time Reviews - Gielgud Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Gielgud Theatre

Gielgud Theatre
35-37 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along the side where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 25th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 22nd April 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 45 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended Age: 11+
Important Info: Captioned performance 9 April 2016 matinee (Captions will cause minimal distraction to your customers in the Dress Circle and Grand Circle) Audio Described performance 16 April 2016 matinee (This will not affect anyone) Signed performance 7 May 2016 matinee (The signer will be visible from the Stalls and front Dress Circle only)
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 22 review(s)


Latest Review: "I had read that this was a mystery. There was hardly any mystery in it, the plot is really about..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 26th Nov 2014 by Joanne D

Read the book and was curious to how it would convert into a play but the way it was put together was excellent.The cast were brilliant, if you don't want to and see a musical i recommend this play brilliant...x

    Wednesday, 5th Nov 2014 by Darryl Crusoe

Such an amazing show I could see how devoted the cast was and how hard they had to work to pull off such an inspiring show. Watching the show has given me the motivation I need to try and get into the west end myself, I would love to thank all of the cast and crew for putting on the show.

    Sunday, 19th Oct 2014 by Scattybat

I was really impressed by the way the set worked. I'd been intrigued how the book would be adapted for the stage but the simple graphic cube works really well. Especially liked the secret panels that were opened and the "tube" scene was very effective. Excellent performances. Rat and "Sandy " the dog included.

    Friday, 17th Oct 2014 by Bub harper

we saw this play last night,it was a packed house and the cast was brilliant...Graham Butler was a tour de force...Bravo.!!...

    Thursday, 28th Aug 2014 by David Lazarus

Acting mesmerizing !

Simple story beautifully acted. This is a show one has to see. This really boosted my interest in theatre. Thanks for giving a great theatre experience.

    Tuesday, 12th Aug 2014 by Isobel Taylor

I came out of the show in absolute awe, it was the best show I have seen in a long while. the acting was exceptional, I work with adolescents with Aspergic Spectrum and it was a brilliant and true representation of how they deal with daily life. To add to this the sound and lighting were incredible and complimented the storyline. I cried and laughed all the way through and can definitly appreciate how much time and thought has gone into this production.

    Saturday, 9th Aug 2014 by Anne Roberts

Might have enjoyed it had you kept to your rule to keep children under 13 out. It really is a play for adults.

    Thursday, 31st Jul 2014 by Rita Kibble

Well I think it was too clever for me, but having said that, I may not have appreciated how good it was. I thought it was extremely well portrayed, I have not read the book, so that may have had an influence on my opinion. I so wish I could have appreciated it more

    Friday, 30th Aug 2013 by Elliot

This is an amazing play of a 15 year old boy with autism (Asperger's Syndrome), who solves some mysteries and in the end finds himself at a higher level psychologically. The acting is superb.The adaptation of the book to the show is ingenious. All said, this is a riveting performance not to be missed. A+ Would see it again!

    Friday, 23rd Aug 2013 by Anon

I am 15 years and 4 months and 5 days and for me it was the best play I've ever seen. I loved the book because the writing was simple and honest with no pretence and the play was the same. You could really see Christopher right there in front of you and felt as though you were experiencing what he was going through. Luke Treadaway was perfect for the part because he portrayed Christopher exactly how I imagined the character when reading the book. I personally don't think anyone else could have played the part better. The transition in the character is conveyed beautifully as by the end he is able to express himself and he really is no different to you and me.

The play was very moving and though I don't have autism it inspired me in another way as it's about difference and that extraordinary people can achieve seemingly impossible goals. That's why I think it's such a wonderful play: because it affects people from all walks of life and I would love to see it again.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)