The End Of Longing Reviews - Playhouse Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Playhouse Theatre

Playhouse Theatre
Northumberland Avenue

Seating Plan


(2mins) Follow Embankment Place right under the bridge; turn right onto Northumberland Avenue and you’ll see the theatre.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 13th May 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 14th May 2016
Age Restriction: Please note the play contains strong language and adult content that may not be suitable for younger audiences. Recommended age 15+ 
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 15 review(s)


Latest Review: "Love it - found it very compelling and entertaining - ignore the critics - defiantly a five star ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 21st Apr 2016 by Leanne

Love it - found it very compelling and entertaining - ignore the critics - defiantly a five star from me

    Saturday, 26th Mar 2016 by Anon

Great play -so entertaining while managing very skillfully to remain true to life - the good, the bad and the ugly bits. Matthew Perry has done a terrific job in writing an engaging, funny and poignant play about alcoholism. The night we went the whole theatre was buzzing with great energy from all the laughing and he himself received a spontaneous round of applause towards the end for a solo scene. Ignore the critics and dont miss out - all 4 actors deliver wonderfully!

    Friday, 18th Mar 2016 by Vicky Collins-Nattrass

very watchable all four brilliant in their parts ,I went as a Lloyd Owen fan and was not disappointed ,but I liked Matthew too x

    Sunday, 13th Mar 2016 by Tartan Terror

My Wife has been a Friends Fan since the beginning, So when I saw this play advertised, I had to buy tickets.Lots of bad reviews,but in my opinion Matthew Perry along with a superb cast made this play really work.Sadly if you never watched Friends, you won't get the humour.Although lots of use of the F Work, Perry has written a masterpiece. It's almost autobiographical and to put those experiences that happened in Perry's life, is very brave. Afterwards he came out to the waiting crowd to sign autobiographes on programmes and tickets. Go see it in London Baby.

    Saturday, 12th Mar 2016 by Anita

Indisputably funny and engaging throughout if you're prepared to accept that there are times when illustrations necessarily need to be larger than life.

The sheer generosity and integrity of the performance was touching, never afraid to confront the harsher side of reality whilst conveying a self-belief that things can change if we want them to.

I have a feeling MP has more to give, and just hope the journey continues.

    Saturday, 5th Mar 2016 by abe

The critic reviews annoyed me. Clearly not for them as its not your typical play. The script is funny, so many times I've seen shows that are 'hilariously funny' and the humour is predictable. This does feel more like a US sitcom, but it made us laugh quite a lot. Matt Perry does a good job but it feels like he is speaking too loudly, perhaps the difference between a TV/ Play actor, but in the second half it improved. The fact that he is sharing his personal struggle with alcohol, makes it all the more compelling, and especially the second half the dark comedy becomes darker. But we both enjoyed it so if you like Matt Perry, then you'll enjoy this.

    Friday, 4th Mar 2016 by David Butcher

Excellent play.Chandler Bing is alive and well. Different to anything I had seen before and I can relate to Matty Perry's character. Overall, a very enjoyable two hours on a Saturday afternoon in jolly London

    Friday, 26th Feb 2016 by Angela Lau

Matthew Perry was very clear on the Graham Norton Show that this play is targeted to the Friends generation. I.e. 35-45 year old age group. I might add, it applies even more to singledons in the same age group. This was fairly obvious during the play in that the older generation tut-tutted and argued during the first half about whether to stay or not (they stayed), while the rest of us really enjoyed it, laughing along at all the right times. Personally for me, there were a lot of Chandler-esque moments, laughs and tears. It was involving, emotional and very confessional while being infused with lots of profanity. Ultimately it was about life, friends and the search of happiness. I enjoyed it and thought it was relevant. The mid-priced seats I paid i thought was worth it. Looking at other reviews I never pay £120 for anything… I don’t care who it is.

    Wednesday, 17th Feb 2016 by Stella

Don't believe the critics who pan this play. The script was excellent and brilliantly showed how four very different people interacted with each other. The story line was good and not clichéd as one person said as if they have an objection to any kind of happyish part of a storyline.. We had a fantastic evening and would throughly recommended this play to anyone who wants to see top quality theatre and acting. Bravo Matthew Perry.

    Friday, 12th Feb 2016 by Karen Taylor

I really enjoyed the play and wondered just what the critics expected when they panned it today. The play was never going to be a Eugene O'Neill ... Thank God. I saw a production of his work the Hairy Ape at the Old Vic towards the end of last year. It was a play that had the critics hopping up and down with excitement. I just wanted to hop it; it was such hard work.

The End of Longing is far from that. It is an entertaining look at the darker and deeper side of life and relationships. And it's funny. It's not going to win awards for raw, emotive acting. It doesn't rip into each character, spewing blood and guts onto the stage. But it does more than scratch the surface. We get to know four people, each with their individual flaws, and we watch them interact and complement each other. It tells us no-one’s perfect – but there could be “someone there for you”.

A lot of comparisons have been made with Matthew Perry's hugely successful sitcom Friends. And, inevitably, his own struggles with addiction. Of course there are influences -- but isn't this the case with all works of literature -- particularly debuts? Several reviewers went as far as to liken Joseph to Joey and Monica to Stevie. Glib, lazy, wrong and predictable.

Joey was a confident ladies' man, unlike bumbling Joseph. And Stevie had none of Monica's fire and humour. Someone even tried to compare Stephanie with Phoebe -- a materialist and sensible prostitute with a dippy, creative hippy.

There is unlikely to be a Friends reunion, where we see them struggle with the angst of middle age. Instead we have a Friends Happy Ever After and After, as the series continues on a loop and attracts new young audiences (and it was a delight to see younger people at the theatre).

Perry’s play shines some light on the darker side of getting older. And, yes, he still believes in the redemptive quality of friendship. Which is a good thing. He has surely had to work with some powerful demons to bring his ideas to the stage. His closing speech, which was extremely moving, suggested this and revealed what a brave and honest performer and writer he is.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 4)