The Play That Goes Wrong Reviews - Duchess Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Venue Information
Duchess Theatre

Duchess Theatre
3-5 Catherine Street

Seating Plan


(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres turn left (Russell Street) then immediately right onto Catherine Street, where the theatre is located 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 25th October 2016
Booking Until: Sunday, 10th September 2017
Running Time: 2 Hours 5 Minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8+  
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 3.00pm and 7.00pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 80 review(s)


Latest Review: "My best friend of 50-plus years and I recently saw The Play That Goes Wrong during our two-weeks'..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 13th Oct 2016 by duay o'neil

My best friend of 50-plus years and I recently saw The Play That Goes Wrong during our two-weeks' holiday in England and Wales in celebration of our 65th birthdays. We laughed so hard we gasped for breath. The play is brilliant...a play within a play...performed by a cast of highly intelligent, talented young people. For many years, I was the drama coach at our local high school and know all too well the many things that can and do go wrong during a production. This play takes everything, mixes it up, and delivers a brilliant piece of work! We loved it!

    Sunday, 9th Oct 2016 by Pauline

Had a great time as I haven't laughed so much for ages. All the actors are brilliant and the timing impeccable. Highly recommended, GO GO GO !

    Thursday, 6th Oct 2016 by Frank Gibson

Saw this Play on Tour at the Marlowe Theatre Canterbury


I have ever seen. So delighted that it is continuing its run at the Duchess Theatre London A MUST SEE!

    Monday, 26th Sep 2016 by Louise Faulkner

My husband and I came to see the play for my 50th birthday , I am disabled and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and we laughed so much during the was wonderful! Unfortunately my husband passed away a week later, and I wondered if I could pay for a poster of the play, as it was our last special time together. Please can you help me? Regards Louise Faulkner

    Sunday, 11th Sep 2016 by Jez and Lynda Cash

We were told by friends to get in our seats early so that is what we did. It started from there really with some of the cast out in the audience looking for a dog ( which was part of the play ) and asking if anyone could get their dog there as a stand in.

One lady was even auditioned in her seat to play the part herself as her dog was in Australia.

From then on it got funnier and funnier.Our sides were hurting from the constant laughing. This is a must see play. All the cast were amazing.


    Sunday, 28th Aug 2016 by Mikayla Ballard-Kearns

EVERY person NEEDS to see this REMARKABLE piece of FABULOUS theatre!

What a magnificently dynamic cast, working with a magnificent script!

What a BRILLIANTLY CRAFTED piece of direction THROUGHOUT! The BEST direction I have EVER seen!

A script to die for!

A fantastic set to compliment the many demands and clever requirements of the show!

For BRILLIANT actors to make something look bad is a challenge but they did it in such a way, it look brilliant!

I could go on & on & you can probably tell!

Conclusion: BUY A TICKET NOW! (but go with a catheter bag, an iron lung, an inhaler & a physiotherapist to help with the jaw pain from laughter) :-)

    Friday, 8th Jul 2016 by Pauline

Amazing afternoon, I've never laughed so much and for so long in ages. A real Feel Good and Uplifting experience. if anyone is feeling a little down then go and see this, it's fabulous. I'm going to seei it again with my sister and a friend.

    Friday, 1st Jul 2016 by Richard

I've been there yesterday. Could not finish whole play, left at first interval. Humour is very cheap and repetetive. Whole play is mostly about how they hit a wall with their head, or how one actor fails to remember his line.

Worst play I've seen so far.

    Friday, 10th Jun 2016 by Andrew & Margaret Roberts

Won't give anything away except book seats in the Stalls preferably row D to (H) H12 H13 loads of leg room very

comfortable with no one behind and an unrestricted view of the stage.

Its 24 hours later and we're still laughing also last night we had an unexpected marriage proposal on stage curtesy of ITVs Take Me Out.

    Monday, 6th Jun 2016 by John and Pauline Pearson

We were delighted to get last minute tickets. It was excellent from start to finish. Athough you knew anything might go wrong/not work and so on, each new mishap was unexpected, clever and a a joy to behold. Well deserves the West End and all its awards!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 9)