The Play That Goes Wrong Reviews - Duchess Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Duchess Theatre

Duchess Theatre
3-5 Catherine Street
London
London
WC2B 5LA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres turn left (Russell Street) then immediately right onto Catherine Street, where the theatre is located 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 18th January 2017
Booking Until: Sunday, 10th September 2017
Running Time: 2 Hours 5 Minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 8+  
Show Schedule
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Sun: 3.00pm and 7.00pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 83 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Have not laughed so much in the space of 2 hours for a long time. Still laughing now. Seats had p..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 16th May 2015 by Mike Hopkins

Absolutely hilarious we did not stop laughing from beginning to end. Having suffered a lengthy problem with my back it was just the tonic we needed. The timing was superb and although everything goes wrong it is comic timing at its best.

The whole audience thoroughly enjoyed the evening. It is difficult to explain as on their own the gags and accidents may not seem funny but as a whole it is exceptional

Well done to everyone involved

    Sunday, 10th May 2015 by Pskt

I saw this play in Cardiff when it was on tour. It is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. Have recently seen their new play 'Peter Pan goes wrong.' Just as funny.

    Monday, 27th Apr 2015 by Marcus Armytage

Laughed until I cried. Funniest thing I've seen for years

    Monday, 20th Apr 2015 by Theatre goer

I agree with the lady who gave this one star. It was awful. Thought about leaving at the interval, but stayed hoping it would improve.....it didn't. I shouldn't have gone as dislike slapstick. It was really tedious and predictable.

    Sunday, 8th Mar 2015 by John

An absolute delight. A gag that makes a good sketch shouldn't work for two hours, but this does. Wonderful moments of anticipation - oh, no, they're not going to slam the door open into her - oh, yes, they have... Brilliant combinations - two actresses playing the same part simultaneously; the play stuck in a horrible loop as the actors try to find their way back into the script (been there); scenery that collapses. Brilliant. Best entertainment since 39 Steps.

    Sunday, 8th Mar 2015 by dotty.

march 7th 2.30 showt time what a fantastic play on words so very clever could not stop laughing, please go and see this great show.

    Thursday, 26th Feb 2015 by Ailsa McDill

We went to spend the weekend in London. After having seen a show on the Sat (sunny afternoon) I was compelled to see another show on the Sunday. I can honestly say this was the best choice I made that day! "The play that goes wrong" is the funniest Sunday afternoon I have ever spent. Laughed so hard I was crying. David Hearne's facial expressions were priceless and he didn't have to say anything. What a talented bunch of actors, can't recommend it enough...but I am!!

    Tuesday, 24th Feb 2015 by Cheryl

Saw this in January with the whole family. We all thought it was FANTASTIC! We laughed til we cried! Highly recommend this for any age

    Friday, 6th Feb 2015 by Pat Higgins

I am known for having a good sense of humour and can always enjoy a laugh at most things, but this play was the worst I have ever seen on the London or Birmingham stage of any theatre. It was so slapstick, it would have been more suitable for a class of 5-6 year olds, the actors often spoke over noise so you didn't hear clearly what they were saying, and it looked so amateurish. I have seen better plays at my local dramatic society. Neither my husband or I even raised a smile throughout the first half and we were so disgusted at the waste of £40 we had spent, and as pensioners that was a lot to throw away, so at the interval we saw the manager and asked for our money back. She refused and said most people were enjoying it, so we sat out the second half hoping it would improve, but alas, it did not. What a waste of money and a good evening in London. No wonder tickets are being reduced, they should pay people to go in and see it. It was an insult to people's intelligence.

    Sunday, 1st Feb 2015 by Val

I laughed until I cried. This show is brilliant. The timing is superb, and one of the best shows I've seen for ages. Excellent.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 3)