The Woman in Black Reviews - Fortune Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Fortune Theatre

Fortune Theatre
Russell Street
London
London
WC2B 5HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres go left on Russell Street, from where the theatre logo can be seen.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 24th September 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 23rd September 2017
Running Time: 2 hours
Age Restriction: The Woman in Black is on the National Curriculum for English and Drama, so some performances (especially matinees and on weekdays) are likely to have school groups in attendance.
Important Info: This play is not suitable for those with a nervous disposition or who cannot handle sudden shocks. Please be advised that there is a large possibility of school groups being present at The Woman In Black, especially for Monday to Thursday performances.
Show Schedule
Mon: 8pm
Tue: 3pm and 8pm
Wed: 8pm
Thu: 8pm
Fri: 8pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 52 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Attended on Friday 1st July. The venue was small and intimate. Perfect for an atmospheric produc..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 2nd Jul 2016 by Jan &Andy from Doncaster

Attended on Friday 1st July. The venue was small and intimate. Perfect for an atmospheric production. It was a fantastic evening at the theatre and thoroughly spooky. The acting was tremendous. Had the creeps all the way home. Understand why the ghost couldn't take a bow and glad she didn't. She scared the he'll out of me. Bravo cast.

    Thursday, 7th Apr 2016 by Lisa T

Absolutely brilliant, the actors were superb. My 13 year old son and I were enthralled from start to finish. We can thoroughly recommend. Best money I've spent on entertainment in a very, very long time. Very small, quaint, old theatre so all seats had a good view, not much leg room though!

    Saturday, 13th Feb 2016 by Paul

A complete bore from beginning to end.

    Monday, 25th Jan 2016 by Dee Rees

Have read the book(Several times) even have a audio copy on my phone, love it that much. Saw the film RUBBISH nothing to do with book, cant believe they had audacity to call it by the same name. Have seen play which I enjoyed despite noisy school trip. Have booked to see it again..

    Sunday, 2nd Aug 2015 by Sergio

I shouldn't have listen to HER! She said "it's gonna be good cos it is a west end production". Next time, baby, it has got to be THRILLER! What was more disappointing though was the chair that did not allow me to sleep more the half an hour.... The ice cream was very good.

    Sunday, 19th Jul 2015 by kash

I WANT A REFUND. it was like a bad school play.. they tried to make it funny??? Where were the beautiful sets? Omg it was awful. The w in b was doing lunges.. and running in and out of the room. TO THE DIRECTOR: THIS IS NOT WORKING. GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL APPROACH.

The actors were over acting. Stamping and screaming..pitchy...like school cchildren act when they play the part of an angry adult. Omg awful.

    Sunday, 19th Jul 2015 by akasha

Just came back. OMG.???? Just asked a friend who had seen an earlier production and they have clearly changed it. THIS NEW APPROACH TO THE STORY IS NOT WORKING. We were laughing. Some bits were intentionally humorous. How would that set the miid? The woman in black was short. When she sat on the rocking chair she looked like a child. Some bits were startling. Not scary or spooky but like a loud bang would do to ur reflexes. Endless narration... ITS NOT WORKING.The people sitting around me felt the same.

    Wednesday, 20th May 2015 by Geraldine Armstrong

Outstanding performance. Both actors held the stage and had the audience in suspence right through to the twist at the end. How they learned all those lines is indeed an art. Friendly, helpful staff and such a lovely old theatre which added to the ambience of the play. Well done.

    Monday, 18th May 2015 by mick randall

very,very clever, brilliant acting, and I can say with honesty she scared me s**tless

    Saturday, 11th Apr 2015 by Miguel

The film is much better than this. I have no idea what people are talking about when they say it was "scary" or "chilling"? Have they ever seen a horror movie before in their lives?... Most of the play is just the two actors talking and talking and talking to each other, the stage set is very outdated and static and while the actors are good their performances were nothing to write home about either.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 4)