The Woman in Black Reviews - Fortune Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Fortune Theatre

Fortune Theatre
Russell Street
London
London
WC2B 5HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres go left on Russell Street, from where the theatre logo can be seen.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 8th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 23rd September 2017
Running Time: 2 hours
Age Restriction: The Woman in Black is on the National Curriculum for English and Drama, so some performances (especially matinees and on weekdays) are likely to have school groups in attendance.
Important Info: This play is not suitable for those with a nervous disposition or who cannot handle sudden shocks. Please be advised that there is a large possibility of school groups being present at The Woman In Black, especially for Monday to Thursday performances.
Show Schedule
Mon: 8pm
Tue: 3pm and 8pm
Wed: 8pm
Thu: 8pm
Fri: 8pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 53 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Very very low tech but brilliant theatre & acting...."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 2nd Nov 2013 by Chris

Very boring. If you can get through the first act the noise of the second will keep you awake. I have never wanted to walk out of a play so much, but was stuck in by the wall so had to sleep instead

    Thursday, 3rd Oct 2013 by Maturity

AMAZING, MUST SEE, Incredible, fantastic, beautiful, stunning.. etc

    Tuesday, 1st Oct 2013 by jacqueline

I was given tickets to this play several years ago, by a friend who strongly recommended it. I went along with another friend, both quite blasé, thinking "how can a ghost story be scary on stage?" By half way through we were hanging on to each other saying "can you see her" each thinking it was imagination or real but not part of the play. For a two-hander with only a very few props it is tremendous acting and production. Can't recommend it highly enough.

    Thursday, 18th Jul 2013 by Matthew

Spooky evening indeed. Not for the fainted hearted.

    Saturday, 13th Jul 2013 by Bored

I won't sleep tonight and it's not because I scared but because I was robbed of £35x 3 taking my husband and mother to this torturous play. We had to try very very hard not to slit our wrists through the play. It was that bad.

Not scary at all it was a school play that parents would tolerate because their child had a part in it bu to pay for this is just crazy. Worth £8 a ticket tops.

Literally after five mins I knew it was a huge mistake and I should've listened to the bad (read honest) reviews but l had also many friends recommend this to me also who I shall never speak to again. Like a previous reviewer says, they need to get out more as they're the types who love laughing stupidly loud at the cinema at not funny lines.

I can't being myself to detail why the play is so crap but basically no props, Boring story line that just would drag on and on at any chance and the price all brings one to have a miserable night of feeling robbed of money and life.

There are some great shows out there although performances on the west end I have found to be shocking compared to broadway and other country productions.

You have been warned. Don't make te same mistake I did and still go.

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by CHRISTINE BELL

Wonderful evening spent watching this amazing preformance. Described to me as a ghost story, I went along with very little trepidation and low expectation, I never thought it would be possible to create a convincingly scarey stage show. I was so wrong. Fear, suspence and intrigue were wonderfully created by just 3 actors who used their skill, their creativity and perfect timing to delve in to the depths of the minds of the audience allowing them to experince an amazing perfomance which exercised their imaginations to the full. I was totally absorbed from the begining, like reading a good book and it being brought to life before you.

A wonderful preformance by all the cast. It was in my view, theatre in its purest form. Thanks to Crawford,Tim and the Woman in Black .

    Sunday, 5th May 2013 by thomas f

It's an awful thing when your expectations are raised high, to see them spat on by a production like this. And realising this within the first five minutes just makes it harder to endure the next ninety...un-engaging, lazy and puerile. I wish I could say something nice but I can't.

    Wednesday, 24th Apr 2013 by Steve W

Dreadful beyond belief. Not scary (I expected that), not convincing and utterly tedious. Poorly acted (I'm sorry, I know how hard they work) and probably the worst play I've ever seen outside a school hall.

But a REAL word of warning here: if you want to go, when you book you should ask whether there are schoolchildren in the audience because this is a HOT TOPIC on the syllabus at the moment, and compulsory viewing for the poor little blighters (is this how their interest in acting is being encouraged ?) The problem was, the theatre was 90% full of 15-16 year old kids, talking, muttering, shifting in their squeaky seats, and of course the boys flicking pellets at the girls. The teachers did well to keep the level of control that they did, but the atmosphere was a buzz of low-key hormonal boredom, fidgeting and rustling of note pads. They ruined our experience, but I felt sorry for them, too. All I'd say to them is, study this for your exams, but before you write off drama/theatre as boring, there's a whole lot of really good stuff out there. It's a shame that this wasn't it.

    Saturday, 16th Mar 2013 by Maggie

Really enjoyed ths play. Not sure how it would have come over in a bigger theatre, but the 'fortune theatre was exactly the right size for this play. It was very well acted, I could not think how a stage play would come across as scary,but it worked.

Thank you for a really enjoyable evening

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by Rodders

This is probably the most boring play we've ever seen. We were waiting for the scary bit, we waited... and waited...and the play ended.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 8)