The Woman in Black Reviews - Fortune Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Fortune Theatre

Fortune Theatre
Russell Street
London
London
WC2B 5HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres go left on Russell Street, from where the theatre logo can be seen.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 6th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 23rd September 2017
Running Time: 2 hours
Age Restriction: The Woman in Black is on the National Curriculum for English and Drama, so some performances (especially matinees and on weekdays) are likely to have school groups in attendance.
Important Info: This play is not suitable for those with a nervous disposition or who cannot handle sudden shocks. Please be advised that there is a large possibility of school groups being present at The Woman In Black, especially for Monday to Thursday performances.
Show Schedule
Mon: 8pm
Tue: 3pm and 8pm
Wed: 8pm
Thu: 8pm
Fri: 8pm
Sat: 4pm and 8pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 53 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Very very low tech but brilliant theatre & acting...."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 19th Jan 2013 by Alicat

If you want entertainment, see the film. If you want culture, read the book, if you want a kip, watch the play. My family and I have never been so bored at the theatre and didn't jump once. These people who thought it was fantastic really need to get out more.

    Friday, 4th Jan 2013 by Brittany

I loved this play I would see it as many times as I could. I recommend everyone to see it it's just amazing.

    Saturday, 29th Dec 2012 by Mat

This play was amazing, and was done with the use of great acting, and the grand use of imagination. I highly recommend this play to anyone!

    Monday, 17th Dec 2012 by Liam Harvey

just amazing........

    Sunday, 2nd Dec 2012 by Liam Anderson

Came with very high hopes as I've been told by many that this is one of the best performances on the West End at the present time. I was massively disappointed by the utterly appalling acting of the two cast members. The script is tight and would allow for a lot of tension and thrills if performed correctly. Many of the audience sniggered at some of the lines that were delivered as the actors seemed as if they simply couldn't be bothered to put in any effort into their respective performances. Save your 40 quid and GIVE IT A MISS! Trust me.

    Friday, 23rd Nov 2012 by David

The atmosphere was completely ruined by being surrounded by a huge party of teenagers 14-16 that occupied 90% of the upper circle. I wish I had been warned by Fortune Theatre about this before I booked my tickets. With the irritatingly fidgety kids OTT screaming on cue the play felt more like a corny panto.

Also I have not received a response email from Fortune Theatre concerning the issue.

http://www.fortunetheatrelondon.net/contact-us.html

All in all a disappointing experience.

    Sunday, 18th Nov 2012 by catherine

it was a phenomenal performance which had me gripping my chair throughout the whole performance even when something as simple as a door shutting had me screaming my head of! I had high expectations to begin with but the play exceeded even those!

    Wednesday, 7th Nov 2012 by georgia

This play is absolutely amazing it will have you jumping out your seats.

it is a must.

    Thursday, 18th Oct 2012 by Ben Lawrence

Amazing use of contrasts in all areas. Dramatic pauses make the most of the excelent jump scares..all the actors are of a tremendous standard and there are some absolutly brilliantly bone chilling , hair raising moments that make you want to see it again and again. Recemended to everyone. Horror fans or not. The small theatre is the most haunted in the world and its old style and exposed seating means your vonrable and never feel safe. A beautiful blend of stanislavski and Brechtian tequniches and even though set in a theatre with an actor it really makes you jump. This is my favourite play I've ever seen and being a drama student I've seen loads.

    Sunday, 7th Oct 2012 by mp

Second time of seeing the Woman in Black, enjoyed it even more than the first time, excellent acting, bringing a chill to my spine and making me (once again) jump out of my skin.

Loved it all brilliant evening out.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 5)