War Horse Reviews - New London Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
New London Theatre

New London Theatre
166 Drury Lane
London
London
WC2B 5PW

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn left at Drury Lane and you’ll see the theatre 100 metres away on a corner.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 12th March 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th March 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 10 and over. Parental guidance advised.
Important Info: Latecomers will not be admitted until 20 minutes into the first act.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 70 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Sooo good, you almost forget the horses aren't real. Brilliantly choreographed puppetry and well ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 11th Jan 2015 by Carly

Whilst the puppetry will invoke interest and amaze, the rest of the production becomes a little thin and predictive. The script lacks conviction as do some of the memorable acts for the wrong reasons. Shouting and screaming to add drama falls to irritation with the most tedious a prolonged monolog of Friedrich Muller, that starts to weigh on the eyelids and question the inclusion.

The over amplification of music is unnecessary for such a small theatre and far too loud. Some of the ending scenes in the trenches are wasted as they can not be seen by the audience as they take place below the stage front.

A further irritation is a lady that insists on adding monolog with a song that interrupts throughout to the point of ridicule and distraction. There was also perceived an overuse of smoke generation, to overcome the sparse scenery, that eventually creeps up and tires the eyes and throat to discomfort almost pleading for the end to be neigh! It eventually arrives, at much relief!

It is worth a visit, take refreshment with you as prices may cause common sense to prevent indulgence. Good use of minimalistic props. It would be very tempting to give 2 stars but overall it was ok at it's very best 3.

    Sunday, 9th Nov 2014 by Annabel steward

I saw the production in July and thought it was brilliant. Credits to all the actors and the use of light and sound was great. Also the play was well delivered and the backgrounds to each scene were unique and were well set out. I admire the use of handspring puppets as they were well built and use exceptionally well and the horses were very realistic. Well done to everyone a stunning production!

    Sunday, 2nd Nov 2014 by Nicci

Fantastic performances by everyone but the show is stolen by the horses. Totally realistic movements by the puppeteers, this show is a joy to watch and is particularly poignant now during this centenary remembrance period. We took 3 children, aged 9 and 10, who were mesmerised by the show. Thoroughly recommend.

    Friday, 5th Sep 2014 by Jane and Jill

Excellent performance much more than we expected. A huge thanks to Hannah who helped me to and from my seat following my replacement hip operation.

    Wednesday, 3rd Sep 2014 by Jill Irving

My husband and I went to the show on June 23 this year. Our seats in F 47 / 48 were £37 .00 each. Because of some problem in the theatre which we were not told about by management, we had to queue and mill around outside for at least 15 minutes. The actors Devon accents without amplification!! were extremely difficult to pick up and my hearing is normal. When their backs were to us it was even worse. The audience in the centre laughed at humour but we didn't - couldn't hear. Speech was even less audible when the horse(s) were moving. They were exquisite to watch. At half time I looked for someone to share our concerns but was fobbed off by an attendant. A very disappointing piece of theatre - poorly performed. We felt cheated.

    Friday, 13th Jun 2014 by Louise

My friend and I went to the matinee 12th June as a celebration of our 60th birthdays. The only negative point to the show was some of the script was hard to hear as the voices did not carry well and as I don't speak German or French has to guess at what was being said.

How ever the first act was ruined for us by the constant munching of crisps, sweet wrapper's and bottle of drink being opened and closed by the school girls beside us. Whilst I appreciate children must be able to come and enjoy the theatre , why do you allow them to bring in what can only be seen as a 'picnic' to be consumed during the show. Surely this should be made clear on booking school party's that this should not be allowed. We did not get concessions and had to pay full price for what can be deemed as an expensive treat, do we not have the right to get value for money by not having the event spoilt by these selfish people . We eventually decided to move and was place to the side back of the theatre in order to try and enjoy the rest of the show which did not go down well considering we had paid for better positioned seats ,this has put us of going to any matinee shows that might be of interest to school party's. I am sure we are not alone with this complaint regarding the consumption of food during a performance, why is this allowed !!

    Thursday, 12th Jun 2014 by Lidia

It's briliant play!

    Thursday, 1st May 2014 by Ruth Hunt

All hail to the 'horse-men'. How they made me love their animal(s) right from the very begining I'll never understand.

A wonderful job done by all - and a wonderful show

    Friday, 18th Apr 2014 by Lily

This was brilliant and you should give you're self a hand for what a amazing job you have done. I want to see it again! Made me cry and I normally don't cry at any sad film but this one made me shread a tear.

    Friday, 18th Apr 2014 by derek hunnisett

We took our wheelchair bound granddaughter to see War Horse.

The theatre provided us with exceptional disabled support which really enhanced our enjoyment of the show and made for an ''easy'' day.

Well done New London Theatre.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 4)