War Horse Reviews - New London Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
New London Theatre

New London Theatre
166 Drury Lane
London
London
WC2B 5PW

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn left at Drury Lane and you’ll see the theatre 100 metres away on a corner.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 12th March 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th March 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 10 and over. Parental guidance advised.
Important Info: Latecomers will not be admitted until 20 minutes into the first act.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 70 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Sooo good, you almost forget the horses aren't real. Brilliantly choreographed puppetry and well ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 10th Mar 2014 by Holly

the most fantastic show i have ever seen, its a must see, book now!!

    Sunday, 9th Mar 2014 by Gil

Absolutely brilliant, very moving - standing ovation well deserved at the Mayflower on the 6th March. Would recommend to everyone.

    Sunday, 9th Mar 2014 by billy morrow

I SAW THE BROADCAST ON 27 FEB.MAGNIFICENT IN EVERY

WAY. WILL BE GOING TO DUBLIN FOR THE SAME IN APRIL.

BEN MURRAY HAS A WONDERFUL VOICE,WISH HE WOULD

RECORD SOME OF THE SONGS

    Monday, 3rd Mar 2014 by margaret

saw this on saturday 1st march , absolutely brilliant. 5 star from start to finish the way the horses were played was amazing and well thought out, the acting was superb..

    Friday, 28th Feb 2014 by JENNIFER ROBERTS

My husband and I went to see the show on Thursday 19th Feb - matinee' performance. It was superb. The actor who plays "Joey's" head is the horse. Watching him made your little hairs stand up ! The neighing and whinnying, snorting from his nose - pricking up his ears, shaking his mane, his eye movements....incredible. Our daughter bought us the tickets as a gift but unfortunately the theatre sold her a real pup. Her dad has walking difficulties so she asked for aisle seats and was sold Row I seats 1 and 2 in the stalls. What she wasn't told was, apart from the fact that seat 1 stuck out at the head of the steps and was on the wall of the wings you can actually hear the horses being made ready for the stage - there is less than a half view of the stage from either seat so we missed half of the on stage action. Fortunately we were able to move for the second half so felt we had seen the show in it's proper glory. Brilliant, brilliant show, see the film, then read the book - it's a Children's Book if you didn't know. Shame on you New London Theatre for taking money under false pretences - theatre tickets are expensive enough without selling totally resticted view tickets the other side of the wings !!!!

    Friday, 28th Feb 2014 by Caster

A good story with interesting characters (including the horses) but didn't really transfer well to the stage for me. Am I the only one who thinks seeing 3 people operating a puppet horse and a guy pushing a model goose with a pole is rather strange!?

If given the choice, I'd certainly see the film version again as to me, it conveyed far more of the story's emotion and obviously gave a much better grasp of the scenery. Plus, it didn't use puppets!

    Tuesday, 11th Feb 2014 by jane howard

Went thursday night also got a meal at the strand place hotel included in price sorry to say enjoyed the meal more than the show gutted really as was really looking forward to this for weeks

    Friday, 31st Jan 2014 by Alexia Warren

Seen it twice now and somehow it got better! Absolutely amazing, the cast was spectacular and the puppet work was just mesmerizing. Fantastic show!

    Wednesday, 29th Jan 2014 by Lenka

Just brilliant. The horse and bird movements are so real and natural...absolutely spectacular!

    Friday, 24th Jan 2014 by Esmeralda

Brilliant! I loved it!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 1)