War Horse Reviews - New London Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
New London Theatre

New London Theatre
166 Drury Lane
London
London
WC2B 5PW

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn left at Drury Lane and you’ll see the theatre 100 metres away on a corner.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 12th March 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th March 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 40 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 10 and over. Parental guidance advised.
Important Info: Latecomers will not be admitted until 20 minutes into the first act.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 70 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Sooo good, you almost forget the horses aren't real. Brilliantly choreographed puppetry and well ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 8th Dec 2012 by Valerie

Although the show was amazing the theatre seats were the most uncomfortable I've ever known!! We were in Circle row B and there was no leg room. My knees were jammed into the seat in front and I spent a lot of time shifting about which obviously spoilt the whole experience. A lot of people were complaining behind us as well.

    Thursday, 25th Oct 2012 by Keith Fowler

Absolute fantastic production,was amazed by the workload of all cocerned in the making of this breath taking show,As many people have said before me, the reactions, realities and movements of the horse you forget the skills of the puppetears creating these effects.

I would also like you to mention to James who assisted myself and my wheelchair bound wife,our utmost gratitude for his care in making our evening most memorable on the evening perfomance 24/10/2012, a really pleasant and helpfull young man ,thanks again Keith and Ann Fowler

    Sunday, 23rd Sep 2012 by Sue Saunders

This is the best production that i have ever seen def worth seeing very clever !!

    Tuesday, 4th Sep 2012 by Carol

An amazing production that the horses are puppets is soon forgotten as you are drawn into action. That a few tears were shed in the audience shows the true artistry of the puppeteers in making the horses real

    Saturday, 4th Aug 2012 by Tony

Have just returned from an afternoon showing, and l have to say it a fantastic show! The effort the cast, and in particular, the puppeteers put in, is simply amazing! They most go home exhausted every night. Before going l was sceptical how a big production like this could be put on by so few in such a small environment. However, the cast really work their socks off to make it happen. Cannot fault anything about the show. Go see it, it will not disappoint!

    Monday, 7th May 2012 by Louise

Went with my sister it was absolutely amazing, would defo go again.

    Thursday, 3rd May 2012 by Robert

Dreadful, dreadful. Someone must say so. Sentimental confused rubbish from start to finish.

    Thursday, 23rd Feb 2012 by Jan

A must for all theatre goers. It stirs the soul. Definitley worth a second (or third) visit. Take a tissue or two.

    Sunday, 30th Oct 2011 by Peter Hellyer

As a puppeteer I was filled with admiration for those who imparted realistic life to the horses and birds. The play balanced the horrors of war with the humour and compassion that some people are capable of showing in the most extreme of circumstances. Visually the monochromatic presentation meant it was like watching First World War lithographs coming to life. The staging, acting and puppetry was outstanding - in a word - breathtaking. 

    Sunday, 30th Oct 2011 by Carole

This show was absolutely stunning - the singing, the lighting, the staging, the puppeteering, the acting, the storyline, the humour, the pathos and it really brought home the losses of war.  We were speechless with admiration, but the whole audience applause said it all.  Thank you for a wonderful afternoon to all concerned.  I hope to get tickets for my family of five when i have saved up!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 6)