An American in Paris Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road
London
London
W1T 7AQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 5th January 2018
Booking Until: Saturday, 6th January 2018
Age Restriction: Children under 5 will not be admitted.
Important Info: Please note that Stalls Row C & D offer a great, clear view but due to the proximity of the stage they may miss some of the footwork.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 24 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I've never wished for an interval to come so quickly before, not because I needed the toilet but ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 31st Dec 2017 by kali

I've never wished for an interval to come so quickly before, not because I needed the toilet but because I wanted to leave. Scenery continuously moving, but the dancing, or should I say, ballet went on and on and on and there was so little actual dialogue (and even then it wasn't very clear).

    Wednesday, 27th Dec 2017 by Rosa Mari

This is by far the most boring,slow dragging musical I have ever see!! Not the expected Broadway happy music / dance type but a part from a couple of sons the rest is the very slow /sad songs that drag like forever !! Nothing that makes you want to jump from your seat and dance but send you to sleep instead!! Also is not a musical but a night of ballet performance!! What a waste of money!!

    Friday, 24th Nov 2017 by Max Waller

What a wonderful show, it just got better.

Acting and scenery for me was spectacular.

    Sunday, 19th Nov 2017 by Trevor G

My wife and I absolutely loved the show. Our thanks to all who created this wonderful production which clearly gave a lot of pleasure to us and to those who were there watching with us. The visual effects enhanced what was happening on the stage and the choreography was outstanding, as were the dancers. This is a must-see for those who love musical theatre.

    Friday, 3rd Nov 2017 by Dr Charles

We've heard mixed reviews of this show but I can summarise our opinion by saying that it was a great opportunity for an afternoon snooze!

    Monday, 30th Oct 2017 by Bernie

I took my sister for her birthday on Saturday to the matinee. It was fabulous, we could not find fault with anything. The dancing, music, clothes, scenery all fabulous. We never spoke once until the interval we loved it so much (no mean feat keeping us quiet:).

praise for the theatre and staff must also be mentioned - both were exquisite. You really must go.

    Thursday, 12th Oct 2017 by Jim

The dynamics of dance and scenery made for a very interesting performance, dance and choreography was particularly good. During a couple of scenes when two or three male singers were working together their absence of physical performance and closeness of voice made it impossible to be sure who was singing from row 10 in circle. Hope this helps.

    Wednesday, 6th Sep 2017 by Debbie Medway-Welch

I had not visited England for 40 yrs and it is was my Aunt Shelia's 80th birthday - what way to be in England and celebrate a wonderful birthday. American in Paris will always be a memory in my heart and mind. My son Nick builds the sets for Theatre and to see a stage production is always a set to see. Amazing. Simply amazing.

    Friday, 11th Aug 2017 by Clair.stokes@hotmail.com

A little slow in the beginning to start, wonderful dancing maybe more ballet, than a musical but wonderful singing and music.enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Tuesday, 18th Jul 2017 by phil hayward

Scenery shifting continuous and irritating, dialogue excessive and inaudible, dancing OK at best, music often screeching occasionally charming, singing - decline to report. Left at interval to save some of the evening.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 8)  


This site uses cookies. For more information please see our cookies policy. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Got It!